Fishy 4th Gear October 18, 2011 Author Share October 18, 2011 I have a lobang if your relative wants to work but not choosy... Pay not so bad but then here is the CATCH: 1) Salary : $4000 with OT 2) Working Hours: 12 hours 3) Working days : 6 days per week 4) License: Class 4 5) Environment: Dirty, Smelly, Manual work is needed, Phsyically fit. 6) Industry: Recycle and rubbish collection My friend is an Asst Manager there and the company is one of the few big players in sg doing that kind of works.. Will not name the company.. is for u to find out... So is your relative HUNGRY ENOUGH TO FIND $$ TO PUT FOOD ON THE TABLE OR otherwise? PM me if u want the lobang... problem: he doesnt drive but thanks for the lobang ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear October 18, 2011 Share October 18, 2011 problem: he doesnt drive but thanks for the lobang hahaha... then i cannot help le... ask him go learn for class 3 after getting a job lah... at least can be taxis.... better than security guard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged October 18, 2011 Share October 18, 2011 Low level jobs or not. As long as it is a decent and honest living, there is nothing to be ashamed of. haha just like what my friend A told another friend B.... A ask him to try this and try that job.... B say paiseh leh wait ppl see (those low level job) A shouted at B... 没有钱 in pocket is true paiseh.... whats wrong with these jobs? B diam diam.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic March 15, 2014 Share March 15, 2014 http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/03/14/alternative-news-in-1-day-78-security-guards-800-basic-pay/ Alternative news in 1 day? (78) – Security guards’ $800 basic pay? March 14th, 2014 | Author: Contributions "What matters more is how our bosses and public treat us every day," said security guard Edmund Chua, 59. "What is the point of being nice to us just for one day?" I refer to the article “Industry group wants day to honour security guards” (Straits Times, Mar 10). Shortage of 10,000 guards? It states that “The move comes amid a severe manpower crunch in the security guard sector. Industry players estimate that some 50,000 guards are needed, but only about 40,000 are actively working, a shortfall of about 10,000. There are more than 66,000 unarmed security guards licensed by the police. Many of them do not take on work because of the long hours: It is the norm to work 12 hours a day, six days a week.” How many are Singaporeans? - What is the breakdown of the 40,000 guards into Singaporeans, permanent residents (PRs) and foreigners? Has the influx of non-citizens into this industry contributed to the very low basic wage and very long hours? 4 in 10 licensed guards not working? Since there are 66,000 licensed unarmed security guards, but only 40,000 are working – is it not a waste of the money and resources in training them? This may be yet another example of poor manpower planning in which we expand so much time, effort and money, which may have been put to better use elsewhere. Only $800 basic pay? According to the Ministry of Manpower’s (MOM) Benchmarking Occupational Wages tool – the monthly basic and gross median salary for security guards was $800 and $1,700, respectively. After all the rhetoric and initiatives this few years – why is the basic basic pay still so low – even below that of cleaners? The NTUC’s latest progressive wage concept to raise their basic pay to $1,000 seems to be bogged down. Reduce 72 hour work week? In my view, after speaking to several security guards and people in the industry – the obvious solution is to reduce the typical 12 hours per day, 6 days a week – because no human being can withstand such “long” working hours perpetually. Why is it that our labour movement and Manpower Ministry continue to allow such “barbaric” work hours and conditions to continue? Moreover, it is sad that it would appear that most of the Singaporean security guards are elderly Singaporeans. Leong Sze Hian Leong is the Past President of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, an alumnus of Harvard University, has authored 4 books, quoted over 1500 times in the media , has been host of a money radio show, a daily newspaper column, Wharton Fellow, SEACeM Fellow, columnist for Malaysiakini, executive producer of the movie Ilo Ilo (26 international awards). He has served as Honorary Consul of Jamaica and founding advisor to the Financial Planning Associations of Brunei and Indonesia. He has 3 Masters, 2 Bachelors and 13 professional qualifications. He blogs at www.leongszehian.com 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyg Clutched March 15, 2014 Share March 15, 2014 There are two category in Security industry. Armed and Non Armed. Only two Security company recruits armed guards that is Certis Cisco and Aetos. If I am not wrong, those armed guards must go under police trainning. Physically must be fit than they will employ u. For non armed guards u hv to go for a course organized by WSQ after you hv passed than SIRD will issue u a Security license so that u are allowed to work as Security guards. SIRD has changed its name to to PIRD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 SIRD has changed its name to to PIRD btw there are three companies that hires armed guards... Certis, Aetos and Sats they need more armed guards than unarmed ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged March 16, 2014 Share March 16, 2014 Security guards should be made to hit the gym to beef up. See those with pot belly and some look like lamp post who will be scared? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...