Courses for security guard

Fishy

Everyone wants to be a General. Just sit in office and give orders. But not everyone has the ability and qualifications to be one. If everyone is a General, who will be the infantry men??

Unless the school dropout or someone with N or O levels is like Steve jobs or bill gates, everyday think of inventing something, he has no future for a comfy job. Everyday just stay at home or bumping around on the streets is not going to lead to anywhere.

Yeh everyone wants a comfy job.

But with N levels, what kind of comfy jobs you can find?!

Managing expectations....

yup you are probably right in that sense but i find it difficult to tell him that. any suggestions?

simple bro. Just explain to him the standards of today's society. Maybe use yourself as an example. Nowadays alot have diploma or degrees. Yesterday ST papers said that 200,000 people are taking those private schools degrees. N levels are very rare. Even ITE has more graduates than N levels. Then explain that jobs are hard to find these days. Economy is getting bad from next year. Things are getting more ex. Companies are not hiring alot, and even they are hiring, they only want higher qualifications.

So, explain that if a company is willing to give a bond and extra $$ for staying in the bond, why not? Bond guarantees him a job until the bond finishes. So its a good thing for him. At the end, still got $$ to take. CISCO gives special training; better than a normal security guard. After CISCO, he can consider working for private companies like casinos (they need alot of security personnel for obvious reasons), hotels, etc. There is a good career path after CISCO.

While in CISCO, encourage him to study more. I'm sure CISCO provides certain security courses for upgraders. Take those and be more skillful with certification.

Simple, isn't it? I can be a career counsellor........ [laugh][laugh]

A Sinkie who appears to be posting 'on behalf of his relative' and is reaching the end of the road in his career options ( when that Sinkie got to go for jobs like security guards, taxi drivers etc) can still opt to be choosy.

The Sinkie seem to ignore the fact that his wayang Master had already created a very high cost of living in Sinkland and besides paying themselves millions ain't gonna help this Sinkie out.

Add the issues above together it does not take a moron much intell to figure out this Sinkie is in for BIG SHXT to hit in right in his face ....soon. :D

A Sinkie who appears to be posting 'on behalf of his relative' and is reaching the end of the road in his career options ( when that Sinkie got to go for jobs like security guards, taxi drivers etc) can still opt to be choosy.

The Sinkie seem to ignore the fact that his wayang Master had already created a very high cost of living in Sinkland and besides paying themselves millions ain't gonna help this Sinkie out.

Add the issues above together it does not take a moron much intell to figure out this Sinkie is in for BIG SHXT to hit in right in his face ....soon. :D

nice try but its really not me :D perhaps u need it more than him. i will pm u the course details after he goes for the course.

simple bro. Just explain to him the standards of today's society. Maybe use yourself as an example. Nowadays alot have diploma or degrees. Yesterday ST papers said that 200,000 people are taking those private schools degrees. N levels are very rare. Even ITE has more graduates than N levels. Then explain that jobs are hard to find these days. Economy is getting bad from next year. Things are getting more ex. Companies are not hiring alot, and even they are hiring, they only want higher qualifications.

So, explain that if a company is willing to give a bond and extra $$ for staying in the bond, why not? Bond guarantees him a job until the bond finishes. So its a good thing for him. At the end, still got $$ to take. CISCO gives special training; better than a normal security guard. After CISCO, he can consider working for private companies like casinos (they need alot of security personnel for obvious reasons), hotels, etc. There is a good career path after CISCO.

While in CISCO, encourage him to study more. I'm sure CISCO provides certain security courses for upgraders. Take those and be more skillful with certification.

Simple, isn't it? I can be a career counsellor........ [laugh][laugh]

yes thats a good advice. i didnt read about the newspaper report on number of graduates. didnt know there are so many grads now and i didnt know there are so many private degree grad (i hold 2) maybe they should raise the bar and allow only people with SAT/GMAT to get into uni...

i need to find a way to talk to him. i treat him like a little bro and i feel sad that hes jobless and i know he is frustrated at his attempts to secure a job.

wear cisco uniform, people scare abit

wear security firm uniform, people no hiew.... :D

Same for me...if I wanna be in the security industries...I will join CISCO as well...

To me layman....

CISCO = Armed Security Guard aka half baked Police

Other Security Guards = JAGA.... [:p] [:p] [:p]

And the best part is if I am not wrong....other security firm will hire ex CISCO without hesitation.

Same for me...if I wanna be in the security industries...I will join CISCO as well...

To me layman....

And the best part is if I am not wrong....other security firm will hire ex CISCO without hesitation.

But the problem with CISCO is IPPT. How many old security guards still can pass IPPT??? :wacko:

To me layman....

There is another security company, the AETOS Security, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd, which is on par with Certis CISCO on security services.

The AETOS was formed in 2004 with the merges of Auxiliary Police Forces of PSA Corporation Ltd, Singapore Technologies Kinetics Ltd (ST Kinetics) and Changi International Airport Services Pte Ltd (CIAS). They have two types of security guards - Auxiliary Police Officer and Protection Officer. The Auxiliary Police Officer from AETOS, who are armed are now contracted by ICA to man TUAS and Woodland Checkpoints.

There is another security company, the AETOS Security, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Temasek Holdings Pte Ltd, which is on par with Certis CISCO on security services.

The AETOS was formed in 2004 with the merges of Auxiliary Police Forces of PSA Corporation Ltd, Singapore Technologies Kinetics Ltd (ST Kinetics) and Changi International Airport Services Pte Ltd (CIAS). They have two types of security guards - Auxiliary Police Officer and Protection Officer. The Auxiliary Police Officer from AETOS, who are armed are now contracted by ICA to man TUAS and Woodland Checkpoints.

I think the protection officer are those guys who mann the x-ray machines at the departure gates? i saw some wearing the AETOS uniform but these are unarmed. Those armed are usually escorting the money vans to the ATM.

But the problem with CISCO is IPPT. How many old security guards still can pass IPPT??? :wacko:

i didnt know its a must to pass ippt for CISCO... wao then might as well sign up SAF!

Everyone wants to be a General. Just sit in office and give orders. But not everyone has the ability and qualifications to be one. If everyone is a General, who will be the infantry men??

Unless the school dropout or someone with N or O levels is like Steve jobs or bill gates, everyday think of inventing something, he has no future for a comfy job. Everyday just stay at home or bumping around on the streets is not going to lead to anywhere.

There are many unqualified one in Singapore SAF.... but they still are there..

i didnt know its a must to pass ippt for CISCO... wao then might as well sign up SAF!

But I think the IPPT standard is not as strict as SAF. They are using SPF standard or lower I think. But still got IPPT to pass lah. Probably they wana make themselves look good to their customers.

If its those normal security guard from other agencies, then dont have lah, just relak one corner.

But I think the IPPT standard is not as strict as SAF. They are using SPF standard or lower I think. But still got IPPT to pass lah. Probably they wana make themselves look good to their customers.

If its those normal security guard from other agencies, then dont have lah, just relak one corner.

i once saw an armed security guard wearing a marksman badge, wonder if he is paid extra allowance because he can shoot his revolver well

The IPPT is not so strict as SAF one lah...... dont worry.

It's just to keep a minimum healthy status for the personnel.... they can't have fat obese security personnel walking around, right? how to convince companies to hire them??? They need to be one notch higher than those private security agencies, right?

Its also good for the personnel. It will make them to keep fit at least, and have lesser health problems.

i once saw an armed security guard wearing a marksman badge, wonder if he is paid extra allowance because he can shoot his revolver well

I saw three to five star generals too. [laugh] But I was a chao private, with a golden rope ard my shoulder. End of the rope is an oxidized whistle which I dare not even put my lips onto it!!! [laugh]

I have a lobang if your relative wants to work but not choosy... Pay not so bad but then here is the CATCH:

1) Salary : $4000 with OT

2) Working Hours: 12 hours

3) Working days : 6 days per week

4) License: Class 4

5) Environment: Dirty, Smelly, Manual work is needed, Phsyically fit.

6) Industry: Recycle and rubbish collection

My friend is an Asst Manager there and the company is one of the few big players in sg doing that kind of works.. Will not name the company.. is for u to find out...

So is your relative HUNGRY ENOUGH TO FIND $$ TO PUT FOOD ON THE TABLE OR otherwise?

PM me if u want the lobang...