How much to BAO???

Sabbie

Been going to a few weddings recently and still got a few coming up....usually these are at 5 star hotels like fullerton, shang, four seasons, amara santuary resort....I bao $150 and to my shock, my colleague and my peer told me he bao $180...relationship about the same, just hi bye colleagues....am I too stingy to bao $150? but I tot a man of my low status bao $150 already not bad leow.....he told me I out of touch with the market rate nowadays...is this true???? so what is the market rate now?

if i were you, i would given them a $1000 and throw in my maserati keychain

then i am not you

i am surprise that your social life is really so packed

my goodness

where got time to work then

if i were you, i would given them a $1000 and throw in my maserati keychain

then i am not you

i am surprise that your social life is really so packed

my goodness

where got time to work then

I thought you are a wise old man, funner but now I know you are just full of s--t...

$150 is decent. dun tell me they themselves wan st regis and i have to bao $250 for hi-bye colleagues? ^_^

Hmm....if I accept the invitation to St Regis, I would think I need to bao at least $200 to $250? it depends on the venue rite?.....for me I would think the rule of thumb is to let them cover the costs plus abit to earn....

IMHO...its up to one individual to bao.

But off course there is a min rate (if you bother about the friendship)...but it does not mean that the host thow a 2K per table dinner, we must defray for host. Its up to what you can afford.

If you scare not enuff....boa your regular $150 + one Big Sweep ticket lor....hahahahaha...

But $150 is decent lah. If hi bye....I will bao $100-$150 too...depending on how much I dislike the host.... [:p]

IMHO...its up to one individual to bao.

But off course there is a min rate (if you bother about the friendship)...but it does not mean that the host thow a 2K per table dinner, we must defray for host. Its up to what you can afford.

If you scare not enuff....boa your regular $150 + one Big Sweep ticket lor....hahahahaha...

But $150 is decent lah. If hi bye....I will bao $100-$150 too...depending on how much I dislike the host.... [:p]

Heng, for a moment I tot I damn cheapo to bao $150....so it's acceptable even for 5 star hotel la...if it is those chinese restaurant type and just hi bye fren $120?

Hmm....if I accept the invitation to St Regis, I would think I need to bao at least $200 to $250? it depends on the venue rite?.....for me I would think the rule of thumb is to let them cover the costs plus abit to earn....

it depends on venue if close friends. i def wont let close frens lose money but for hi bye types, i thk $150 is decent enuff.

Can ..u bao $180 den u bring ur partner go lo.. [;)]

else use yr 150 to buy vouchers of more value?...I ever receive voucher as wedding gift.

That's still ok, I ever heard people receive two pieces of white paper before...

I thought you are a wise old man, funner but now I know you are just full of s--t...

just trying to humor you

so you can be happy

like that also kena your scolding

where got hope

like that

it depends on venue if close friends. i def wont let close frens lose money but for hi bye types, i thk $150 is decent enuff.

yeah, the other question I have is how to reject colleagues in a tactful way that you don't want to go to save $150?....bearing in mind that these colleagues may or may not become your boss in the future....

just trying to humor you

so you can be happy

like that also kena your scolding

where got hope

like that

You just seem like a lonely guy, not happy when others get invited to weddings, not happy when people drive nicer car then you, go read the other thread on not living to other people's expectation and be happy in your own shoes....life is more about money and work....

Yup. My sentiments alike.

Even for not-so-close mates, ... the sheer fact that I agreed to attend the wedding equates me gonna prepare an ang bao that "let them cover the costs plus abit to earn".

Close mates/buddies - $388 (per pax) at the very least? May escalate if at pricier venues.

I still BAO $88.

Don't worry......if the couple are pissed off.....take comfort that they will not likely to hold another wedding dinner. So you don't have to worry about missing out on future wedding celebrations where they purposely ignore and not invite you!!