How much to BAO???

Sabbie

bao with ur girl, hahhaahha

seriously one table could cost about 2k. so for 5 stars maybe 150 is appropriate but some higher 5 stars like St. Regis or Capella give more abit about 200.... But one thing I always wonder is that when ppl get married, they hope they make a tidy profit from the Hong Bao, these people are bo chup type one. want to marry also gain profit...

by the way, its a hi bye friend right??? Just say hi, give ur affordable amount of hong bao and say bye after eat all haha

my wedding is on saturday.

Cost abt 1.4k/table including gst, service charge ++

<20 tables.

Most 5-star hotels are around that range and above.

Even calling in buffet for country club or restaurants are easily 800-1000/table nowadays.

There shld be no expectations abt angbao collection amounts. Its afterall a celebration!

I guess for pple attending, sometimes it's a bit sian. So I've tried to invite only my closer friends!

in 1999, one table at crown prince orchard ballroom cost 450...now if i wanna marry my mistress, wah...boh lui man...

Wow, after reading all the posts, seem like most people do not enjoy weddings!...lol....no wonder the marriage rate in Singapore is so low!....so I think $150 is really the standard leow....anything less and cannot cover costs at hotel...s--t this means I must bao $180 at Shang....these few months damn broke! I don't have many frens and still kena!

usually I'll tell those not close ones the fortune teller advise me not to go coz it'll 'cheong'. then I'll oso add dat i dun mind coz the bad luck will fall on the other party, not me. usually I'll counter offer to buy the couple dinner. u get to save way more than dat. [:p]

i seriously hate wedding dinner. worse so if ur placed at a table facing 9 other strangers having a min 8 course dinner that will last at least 2 and half hours.

This is a good one, must learn from you the master to siam....

Whatever... Will bao how much I want regardless of market rate or hotel class. It'll be based on my relationship with couple...

Other bosses said the same thing...

Some I will just turn them down, can't make it. Imagine you hardly know the couple and they told you St. Regis la one table how much how much... Hey but you dont 叫我拿钱贴你的脸。It's you that want to held it there, not I asked you.

in 1999, one table at crown prince orchard ballroom cost 450...now if i wanna marry my mistress, wah...boh lui man...

in 2004, one table at crown prince cost $750....my wedding

Been going to a few weddings recently and still got a few coming up....usually these are at 5 star hotels like fullerton, shang, four seasons, amara santuary resort....I bao $150 and to my shock, my colleague and my peer told me he bao $180...relationship about the same, just hi bye colleagues....am I too stingy to bao $150? but I tot a man of my low status bao $150 already not bad leow.....he told me I out of touch with the market rate nowadays...is this true???? so what is the market rate now?

no leh... for me, its $100/$120.

unless close friends, then of coz higher... hi-bye colleagues, sorrie still $100...

even for st regis, i would still give the max of $120.... coz if the person decides to hold in such atas venues, he must be prepared to lose $$$...

we are there to grace his wedding, not to pay for his wedding...

Edited by Ivan_06

Think about it. What's the difference between a couple hosting a banquet in St Regis, vs a couple hosting in Fatty Weng restaurant?

Is it because the couple can afford it? Or is it because the couple's guests can afford it?

If cannot afford, don't hold in atas hotel, and later complain guests didn't give enough to cover costs!

I say give according to how close you are to the couple. If you are not close to the couple, and they are holding in atas hotel, just give a standard rate, rather than worry about whether your ang pow can cover their costs.

LIKE!

bao with ur girl, hahhaahha

seriously one table could cost about 2k. so for 5 stars maybe 150 is appropriate but some higher 5 stars like St. Regis or Capella give more abit about 200.... But one thing I always wonder is that when ppl get married, they hope they make a tidy profit from the Hong Bao, these people are bo chup type one. want to marry also gain profit...

by the way, its a hi bye friend right??? Just say hi, give ur affordable amount of hong bao and say bye after eat all haha

come on, wedding dinner is not to make money... whatever i received from the couple, i will bao back...

There are cheaper alternatives, like

Holiday Inn Orchard,

Weekend 9 course dinner only $888 nett, free flow of wine, beer and drinks...

Weekend 7 course lunch only $668 nett, free flow of wine, beer and drinks leh..

if you want atas St Regis, be prepared to lose tens of thousands..

Edited by Ivan_06

Wow, after reading all the posts, seem like most people do not enjoy weddings!...lol....no wonder the marriage rate in Singapore is so low!....so I think $150 is really the standard leow....anything less and cannot cover costs at hotel...s--t this means I must bao $180 at Shang....these few months damn broke! I don't have many frens and still kena!

Like what some bros said here, if the couple are not close frens, i will make an excuse to siam.... money is one thing, but the 2-3 hours spend (especially with strangers on the same table) can be better spent doing something else, eg surfing MCF :D