Iluma closed for 8 months revamp

Ahtong

But I like Jack Investments got they specialised in having non crowded shopping malls for people who hates crowds like me....they also hire bitchy property management gers like this girl I saw at kallang leisure park....lol...

anyway illluma was sold to capitamalls trust....think they intend to do something to synergize it with bugis junction

He's talking about 112 Katong being near to Leisure Park, and not Illuma being near Leisure Park.

Illuma and Leisure Park are both owned by same owner..thats exactly what I meant..its a non-competition

How's the new shopping centre at Clementi? Can go?

IIRC, the old Plaza Sing was very dead. After reno, it really huat.

Old Plaza Sing don't have much stuffs that interest majority of the people.

IIRC, most of the shops then were selling musical instruments, a Popular bookstore and Mac. Nothing much already.

It looks quite dark inside too.

Location is one thing, most impt is Strong Anchor Tenant and recognisable shops....... Most of the shops in Illuma are very ulu-branded and many are unheard of....

Vivo is away from the central lights of Orchard but stil manage to draw huge crowds... maybe due to sentosa but Vivo has a nice range of shops.... below examples are two malls side by side sharing same location, but one suffers a terrible fate in terms of crowd...

Bugis Junction v Illuma

Orchard Cinelesiure v Scape

313 v Orchard Central

Vivo v Harbourfront

Marina Sq v Milliena Walk

Location is one thing, most impt is Strong Anchor Tenant and recognisable shops....... Most of the shops in Illuma are very ulu-branded and many are unheard of....

Vivo is away from the central lights of Orchard but stil manage to draw huge crowds... maybe due to sentosa but Vivo has a nice range of shops.... below examples are two malls side by side sharing same location, but one suffers a terrible fate in terms of crowd...

Bugis Junction v Illuma

Orchard Cinelesiure v Scape

313 v Orchard Central

Vivo v Harbourfront

Marina Sq v Milliena Walk

Tampines Mall Vs Century Square Vs Tampines One

People's Park Vs People's Centre Vs Pearl Centre Vs Chinatown Point

Any others ?

Illuma and Leisure Park are both owned by same owner..thats exactly what I meant..its a non-competition

Illuma sold to CapitaMalls Trust leow, just to update your info

He wasn't comparing Leisure Park and Illuma though. Just trying to clarify that.

I believe he was stating that 112 saw the need for a cinema within the area as there wasn't any. The nearest would only be at Leisure Park.

But I like Jack Investments got they specialised in having non crowded shopping malls for people who hates crowds like me....they also hire bitchy property management gers like this girl I saw at kallang leisure park....lol...

anyway illluma was sold to capitamalls trust....think they intend to do something to synergize it with bugis junction

You like them for being a failure then [laugh]

Who is the bitchy property management girl you saw at LPK?

This is what happens when you thought being beside to Bugis Junction brings you automatic HUMAN TRAFFIC of success.

But it only goes to show Bugis Junction is a Magnet that sucks all your customers away.

I was there only 1 week ago to PARK MY CAR because Bugis Junction is FULL.

The Car Park there is also quite Packed.... I guess all the drivers and family are same as me - treat it as a Car Park...

Illuma - the 1st time it opened, I predicted its death.

Its like Tampines Mall and Century Square in Tampines MRT.

One is thriving and the other is surviving.

The game is never to expect complementary success but to Carve out your Mall Identity.

Next is Katong Mall Opening....

Will it succeed ?

The original Katong Mall is dead right from the start. The original design looks horrible, with all the exhaust pipes sticking out all over the building.

It probably will be quiet a few months after it re-opens, not forgetting that Parkway Parade is just nearby and offers a much better shopping experience.

The original Katong Mall is dead right from the start. The original design looks horrible, with all the exhaust pipes sticking out all over the building.

It probably will be quiet a few months after it re-opens, not forgetting that Parkway Parade is just nearby and offers a much better shopping experience.

Katong 112 is very out of place, smack in the middle of shophouses, kopitiam and old town residence.

That area cannot have a mall if you ask me.

Just like that Lau's Arcadia with its bold facade... I think its still New clothes on old character...

You like them for being a failure then [laugh]

Who is the bitchy property management girl you saw at LPK?

you can go to the mgt office at level 3 to bio her....not really chio imho but bitchy....i think some of the tenants also dun lke her...

There are just too many shopping centres here..... honestly how much shopping can one do??

Yes too many mallz in SG. How much shopping can I do ? ALOT....

Window shopping only. [laugh]

the mall going crowd locally is not mature and diversified enough to support an indie mall concept. therefore i think it was a mall doomed from the onset. and so in this we see the irony. everytime we hear of complains saying this and that mall same same, nothing interesting bla bla but in the end got interesting mall also toh tiew cos these very people also won't support. funny right?

Malls that were deserted/not much people wan to go:

-Ten Mile Junction *Now Junction 10, last time i always go there cos of the Sheng Shiong, but apart from that, the mall is pretty ran down...

Malls that can be compared

-Nex vs Jurong Point [;)]

there are some shopping malls that do not survive even with cinema in the building

- Riverside Point in the late 90s - Studio City Cinema - Dead

- Eastpoint in the late 90s - Studio City Cinema - Dead

- Shaw Balestier - Cinema is there but mall is still dead.

If i were to go shopping at marina parade, i will choose Parkway parade first. Katong maybe when i have a selected shop/restaurant to go. For cinema?? who will want to go there all the way to watch other than the reisdents there? Its not near MRT nor a shopping district.

Edited by Babyt