W/S Bad Exp. 6mth Suspension Changed Twice

Rogersk8ter

Abt 6mth ago, sent my 6plus yo car to a w/s in Sin Ming to check sound coming from undercarriage.

Was told need to leave car in w/s to do thru check.

Before i left, told them to let me know what need to be done and cost so i can decide as dont want to

spent much in an old car.

After 2 days, w/s told me car ok ready for collection.

Was a bit surprised and put off cos they never told me what they did before going ahead.

Got a big bill when collected car...replaced one pair front suspensions, front brake pads, amoung other

small items.

I asked why so ex and was told original parts so not cheap.

Anyway did not argue cos told myself will not come back to this place again.

What was shocking was while driving home, the exact same sound was still there!

Wonder they actually check or not?

Call them and was told to bring car back. Left it there another day.

When i collect car next day asked why they didnt check properly and what they did this time round.

Was told they replace 2 rubber bushes. They didnt charge me this time as i express disappoint after

just paid so much.

So the actual problem was the rubber bushes then why change brake pads, suspensions, linkage, etc?

On my way home again heard some noise but this time soft squicking noise coming from my left front side.

Not the same before which was 'clock clock'.

Drove back to w/s again and after checking told me its the left drive shaft problem. was told can still drive till both sides

problem then change together.

Trusted them but its my mistake. After 3 mth the squicky sound get louder and louder. Was busy so just keep driving

till abt 6mth later the sound was getting seriously loud.

Fearing that the drive shaft may cause more problems and even danger, went to a drive shaft specialist w/s to check.

Was surprised when told the drive shaft was not the cos of the noise but the left suspension!

was shown oil already leaking out from the left suspension.

Went back to the first w/s who replaced the suspensions and was told will settle it for me.

Another big disappointment when i was given a big bill for replace the suspensions again.

Expressed my disappointment and after reasoning they asked me to pay the 2 new suspensions price.

Paid and will never engage them again hoping no further problem from their shoddy works again after this.

My qns ...

1) Why consumer has to pay for wrong diagnosis?... replacement of unnecessary parts like brake pads, suspensions,

linkage, etc. Is this a way to inflate repair cost since they cannot charge much for a simple repair?

2) They said cannot claim from supplier for the faulty suspension. I can understand since its been so long. But they

were the one who make not one but two wrong diagnosis saying it was the draft shaft after all. So how can consumer bear

all the responsibility? They are the expert and I trusted them.

3) If w/s replace a part and the part breaks down almost immediately. Shd consumer blame on his bad luck and bears

all the cost for another replacement since no warranty for spare parts?

4) How will u react when w/s cannot follow simple instructions eg let you know the costs or parts required before proceeding?

Do you think they hv no intention to inform you since its not to their advantage if they do? Or is this a common practice in the car repair industries?

5) Is it right that for this case, they need to change 2 front suspensions again instead of only the left? They just said

that cos the suspension always come in a pair so got to replace both at the same time?

6) In the above instance, is it fair that i bear the part costs and workshop absorb the labour cost for the 2nd replacement of suspension?

I treat this as a lesson. But what would u do if u were me? I think i need to bear some responsiblities as well. But

anything one can do to prevent this?

If in the first place the workshop is unable to identify the problem & quote to you accordingly. Avoid them, go to other workshop. From your experience i rather go back to AD to get it done, at least they will give you some kinda warranty even if it costs more. You are too trusting. Always get a quote first.

Abt 6mth ago, sent my 6plus yo car to a w/s in Sin Ming to check sound coming from undercarriage.

Before i left, told them to let me know what need to be done and cost so i can decide as dont want to

After 2 days, w/s told me car ok ready for collection.

Was a bit surprised and put off cos they never told me what they did before going ahead.

Got a big bill when collected car...replaced one pair front suspensions, front brake pads, amoung other

small items.

I asked why so ex and was told original parts so not cheap.

Anyway did not argue cos told myself will not come back to this place again.

What was shocking was while driving home, the exact same sound was still there!

Wonder they actually check or not?

Call them and was told to bring car back. Left it there another day.

When i collect car next day asked why they didnt check properly and what they did this time round.

Was told they replace 2 rubber bushes. They didnt charge me this time as i express disappoint after

just paid so much.

So the actual problem was the rubber bushes then why change brake pads, suspensions, linkage, etc?

On my way home again heard some noise but this time soft squicking noise coming from my left front side.

Not the same before which was 'clock clock'.

Drove back to w/s again and after checking told me its the left drive shaft problem. was told can still drive till both sides

problem then change together.

Trusted them but its my mistake. After 3 mth the squicky sound get louder and louder. Was busy so just keep driving

till abt 6mth later the sound was getting seriously loud.

Fearing that the drive shaft may cause more problems and even danger, went to a drive shaft specialist w/s to check.

Was surprised when told the drive shaft was not the cos of the noise but the left suspension!

was shown oil already leaking out from the left suspension.

Went back to the first w/s who replaced the suspensions and was told will settle it for me.

Another big disappointment when i was given a big bill for replace the suspensions again.

Expressed my disappointment and after reasoning they asked me to pay the 2 new suspensions price.

Paid and will never engage them again hoping no further problem from their shoddy works again after this.

My qns ...

1) Why consumer has to pay for wrong diagnosis?... replacement of unnecessary parts like brake pads, suspensions,

linkage, etc. Is this a way to inflate repair cost since they cannot charge much for a simple repair?

They see you as Carrot ready to be chop

2) They said cannot claim from supplier for the faulty suspension. I can understand since its been so long. But they

were the one who make not one but two wrong diagnosis saying it was the draft shaft after all. So how can consumer bear

Obviously they dun realli know much abt cars, they are more interested in their sales. dun go back to the WS.

3) If w/s replace a part and the part breaks down almost immediately. Shd consumer blame on his bad luck and bears

Of course not, there is this possibility that they instal very used parts on yr car and tell you it is new

4) How will u react when w/s cannot follow simple instructions eg let you know the costs or parts required before proceeding?

Do you think they hv no intention to inform you since its not to their advantage if they do? Or is this a common practice in the car repair industries?

I will insist that the remove the parts as I am not expected to pay.

5) Is it right that for this case, they need to change 2 front suspensions again instead of only the left? They just said

that cos the suspension always come in a pair so got to replace both at the same time?

Yes, it must be in pairs.

6) In the above instance, is it fair that i bear the part costs and workshop absorb the labour cost for the 2nd replacement of suspension?

Nope, totally not fair.

I treat this as a lesson. But what would u do if u were me? I think i need to bear some responsiblities as well. But

anything one can do to prevent this?

Only go to W/S well recommend by friends or relative.

If in the first place the workshop is unable to identify the problem & quote to you accordingly. Avoid them, go to other workshop. From your experience i rather go back to AD to get it done, at least they will give you some kinda warranty even if it costs more. You are too trusting. Always get a quote first.

agreed. don't think it is wrong to seek a diagnosis from them first just to find out what's wrong. unless they call themselves doctors and charge consultation fees.

even if you have accepted their diagnosis, i think you still can try your luck to source for quotes elsewhere or even try buying the required parts and pay them for labour cost(s). if they decline then look for another WS lor.

TS most likely is a greenhorn & the workshop ppl took advantage. If half a day they cant identify the problem, quickly drive to another workshop. Dan there's the communication. Before any green light is given by you to fix your car tell the mechanic to show you the old/worn/broken parts before you pay the bill. Even ask to see the packaging if they claim they are OEM or original parts.

All these demands are to safeguard yourself. That's why I said it's better to go back to AD in this case or if you know nuts about car repairs. Anyway if you know that the bill is going to be costly might as well let AD do it.

Another issue is about those self proclaimed specialist workshops. I avoid them unless highly recommended. Just like the case of self proclaimed TCM specialist who charge ridiculous prices.

Sad to say bro.. you made two mistakes:

1. You accept the W/S repairing without seeking your permission

2. You paid the W/S

Money no return liao.

Never leave your car with WS or mechanic you don't trust. I have never have to

leave my car with mechanic / WS unless your engine need to overhaul or accident repair.

Next time, just told them to troubleshoot on the spot, order the parts that need to be replaced.

When parts arrived, just inform you to go down to change.

small items.

You are asking for it.

No need to pay for wrong dianosis. You just need a trustworthy mechanic and some common sense.

Since you trust them, you are asking for it

The w/s ahould bear the cost

Don't pay. You have given them the consent to chop carrot when you leave your car there.

Normally change in pair

It is not fair, but you are asking for it. Must bang table and negotiate with them.

Sorry for being too blunt.

bro, i understand. when i ask them to chk and quote, they said must leave car behind first. so i specifically told them to inform me the cost as i may not want to repair and scarp it early and get another newer 2nd hand car, but they dont seems to want to take such instruction! I dont mind pay for inspection fee if i decide otherwise. but these ppl just chose to take the advantage.

will reveal in due time. Let see what the forumers here says.

Bro u very patience with the W/S hor, u still go back to same w/s for so many times for what <_<

Edited by I-LOVE-CARS

agreed. don't think it is wrong to seek a diagnosis from them first just to find out what's wrong. unless they call themselves doctors and charge consultation fees.

even if you have accepted their diagnosis, i think you still can try your luck to source for quotes elsewhere or even try buying the required parts and pay them for labour cost(s). if they decline then look for another WS lor.

bro, that was my intention initially. but they are not the only w/s that said need to leave in w/s to detail chk. some reason are...they busy now, leave car behind.....some say hard to tell just by listerning and looking w/o opening up, so leave behind for them to chk, etc...

I dont mind even if need to pay for inspection.

Edited by Rogersk8ter

TS most likely is a greenhorn & the workshop ppl took advantage. If half a day they cant identify the problem, quickly drive to another workshop. Dan there's the communication. Before any green light is given by you to fix your car tell the mechanic to show you the old/worn/broken parts before you pay the bill. Even ask to see the packaging if they claim they are OEM or original parts.

All these demands are to safeguard yourself. That's why I said it's better to go back to AD in this case or if you know nuts about car repairs. Anyway if you know that the bill is going to be costly might as well let AD do it.

Another issue is about those self proclaimed specialist workshops. I avoid them unless highly recommended. Just like the case of self proclaimed TCM specialist who charge ridiculous prices.

I did asked for the old parts before paying since the repair cost was not low. All they did was point to a carton box of some old parts and walked off as if very busy and impatient like im wasting their time.

if u are not a car person, how would u know if these parts belong to ur car?

well, u just hv to trust them somehow. Am i right?

bro, i understand. when i ask them to chk and quote, they said must leave car behind first. so i specifically told them to inform me the cost as i may not want to repair and scarp it early and get another newer 2nd hand car, but they dont seems to want to take such instruction! I dont mind pay for inspection fee if i decide otherwise. but these ppl just chose to take the advantage.

Since you already give instruction to quote before repair, you should not have pay them.

This kinda thing got nothing to do with engine hence will not take more dan a day to troubleshoot. If they are busy with other cars just go to other workshop. Ppl dun call you, you can keep calling them. There's no reason to take so long.

Sad to say bro.. you made two mistakes:

1. You accept the W/S repairing without seeking your permission

2. You paid the W/S

Money no return liao.

Bro, let say u are me....

before they let u know the cost and work needed, they told u already done. can u argue with them tthat they

didnt let u know first and so u will not pay? i just cant do that to a person la.

At that time, i just tell myself this w/s cannot use anymore and hope the repair is done well. got to move on right?

not sure u agree. or may be tell me what will u do?