Met a super duper bo chi sg driver at JB custom yesterday!

Maka

It depends on individual. What I say is only my own opinion. Yes, most drivers would prefer to drive longer than 10yrs, but that really depends on the economy also. There is no perfect option for everyone.

But generally a car starts to give minor problems here and there when its old....so to change a new car after 10yrs is a good option too. And if there's a rebate to offset the new car cost, then isn't it much better. [:)]

Erhm...u just quoted, minor problems..if so what is the major problem repairing it and getting it ongoing for another 10 yrs [laugh] seems like e economic sense here doesnt make sense. I respect your opinion but just could not comprehend your economic sense.. [:/] A...u applying for citizenship here, issit?

So u wld rather pay for a piece of paper bcos of e scap value? :o[knife]:blink:

Nobody is commenting abt the Msia car system is bad. I tot we r talking abt cost of driving here.. [rifle]

Maybe you can let me know how much an Elantra in Msia cost to put it on the road. We make a comparison. Dollar for Dollar yah..

I know a few years back, I did a comparison when my friend buys a new Camry in MY. He did checked the price in SG, and it was a few thousands cheaper here, if don't consider exchange rate. Now maybe not, becos COE price had gone up so high!

What I'm saying is that the COE is a system we have here, to control car population. With it tag along a scrap value. So its not a matter of "we would rather pay COE" or not, but rather we have no choice buy to pay for it, unless you don't buy a car.

Erhm...u just quoted, minor problems..if so what is the major problem repairing it and getting it ongoing for another 10 yrs [laugh] seems like e economic sense here doesnt make sense. I respect your opinion but just could not comprehend your economic sense.. [:/] A...u applying for citizenship here, issit?

Like I said, its just my opinion. I hear it from both sides de...then I gather the fact that our system has its good points, although it isn't perfect.

To repair a >10yrs car and get it going is up to individual. Some will say good, some will disagree, and vice versa. I do respect their decision and its entirely up to them.

Y u asked if I am apply for citizenship here leh? U tot I am a FT/ah tiong??? [laugh]

I know a few years back, I did a comparison when my friend buys a new Camry in MY. He did checked the price in SG, and it was a few thousands cheaper here, if don't consider exchange rate. Now maybe not, becos COE price had gone up so high!

What I'm saying is that the COE is a system we have here, to control car population. With it tag along a scrap value. So its not a matter of "we would rather pay COE" or not, but rather we have no choice buy to pay for it, unless you don't buy a car.

Bro, we talk current not history...history for historians lah... :D Also, you did not compare the usage years... precisely no choice must pay but given a choice, you say you prefer to pay which I wonder why.... :blink:

When wan to compare must compare it on same level... mind you, cars r imported based on the international accepted currency which in most cases USD. So if you would like to hold it constant and compare it with absolute dollar, then you should know whether it is cheaper to own cars in Singapore or Msia.

I have heard this argument from Msians b4 but it is without merit I must say. Cost of living is definitely lower in Msia which is why many Singaporeans run across even though dollar to dollar comparison it may not be so (exchange rate benefits us more). Heard of Singaporeans going over to Msia to spray paint? Whu huh?

Also for petrol, why Singaporeans enjoy going over to pump and doing all those sia suay action such as shaking their car to ensure they squeeze the max amt of petrol into their tanks... :D If not cheap, then they must b [hur] to do all these...

Like I said, its just my opinion. I hear it from both sides de...then I gather the fact that our system has its good points, although it isn't perfect.

To repair a >10yrs car and get it going is up to individual. Some will say good, some will disagree, and vice versa. I do respect their decision and its entirely up to them.

Y u asked if I am apply for citizenship here leh? U tot I am a FT/ah tiong??? [laugh]

I c u very pro COE system n I wonder if u r putting in gd words for garment... :D if I hv a choice, I would buy a hse in Penang n retire there...Cost of living definitely cheaper than Singapore... Nw old age care svcs also ppl going over their bcos it is cheaper...born here, work here but die elsewhere...sad.. [:(]

Bro, we talk current not history...history for historians lah... :D Also, you did not compare the usage years... precisely no choice must pay but given a choice, you say you prefer to pay which I wonder why.... :blink:

When wan to compare must compare it on same level... mind you, cars r imported based on the international accepted currency which in most cases USD. So if you would like to hold it constant and compare it with absolute dollar, then you should know whether it is cheaper to own cars in Singapore or Msia.

I have heard this argument from Msians b4 but it is without merit I must say. Cost of living is definitely lower in Msia which is why many Singaporeans run across even though dollar to dollar comparison it may not be so (exchange rate benefits us more). Heard of Singaporeans going over to Msia to spray paint? Whu huh?

Also for petrol, why Singaporeans enjoy going over to pump and doing all those sia suay action such as shaking their car to ensure they squeeze the max amt of petrol into their tanks... :D If not cheap, then they must b [hur] to do all these...

Not that I prefer to pay for COE, but its the policy, and (in my own opinion only), its good to change car after 10yrs, depending on one's affordability. Again, this is very subjective and up to individual.

Yes, cars are imported based on USD, a world accepted currency. However when the cars are imported, the local taxes comes in and push up the selling prices. It is the taxes which will make the last difference.

Price of petrol or car accessories are cheaper in MY if we use our S$ there. Last week I pump a JB petrol station at RM2.80 a litre. Does petrol in SG cost more than S$2.80 a litre? So I can understand why we SGians go JB to pump petrol, including myself! :D

Your MY friends seems to think unlike my MY friends. That's normal. Everyone has their own views. So we just let them be lah!

Edited by TVT

I c u very pro COE system n I wonder if u r putting in gd words for garment... :D if I hv a choice, I would buy a hse in Penang n retire there...Cost of living definitely cheaper than Singapore... Nw old age care svcs also ppl going over their bcos it is cheaper...born here, work here but die elsewhere...sad.. [:(]

No lah, I don't support the COE system at all. Don't get me wrong, bro! But since its the policy, we can only go along with it. We can only get rid of it if we vote OUT our the current garment!!!

No place in this world is perfect to live in. You may say living in Penang is better, but only in certain ways, but not in everything. Again, IMHO only lah. [;)]

Not that I prefer to pay for COE, but its the policy, and (in my own opinion only), its good to change car after 10yrs, depending on one's affordability. Again, this is very subjective and up to individual.

Price of petrol or car accessories are cheaper in MY if we use our S$ there. Last week I pump a JB petrol station at RM2.80 a litre. Does petrol in SG cost more than S$2.80 a litre? [knife] So I can understand why we SGians go JB to pump petrol, including myself! :D

Dunno Msia import oil or use palm oil [rifle]:D If import hor...then the price cannot compare dollar to dollar but based on their purchased price (mercy of OPEC?) and converted to their local currency rate...

RM 2.8 is still very much cheaper than SGD...Did we pay more in Singapore or Msia govt subsidise more? :blink:

But if you are a MYisan, earning RM, how to tahan @ RM2.80 per litre? :angry:

In the past, the Malaysia govt subsidise more. However lately MY govt had cut the petrol subsidy. In return they give all MY regn cars a one-off lump sum payment of a few hundred RM as compensation. Now to the MY locals, petrol isn't cheap unless they pump the lower grade. But to us SGians its still cheap cos our S$ is stronger.

But if you are a MYisan, earning RM, how to tahan @ RM2.80 per litre? :angry:

In the past, the Malaysia govt subsidise more. However lately MY govt had cut the petrol subsidy. In return they give all MY regn cars a one-off lump sum payment of a few hundred RM as compensation. Now to the MY locals, petrol isn't cheap unless they pump the lower grade. But to us SGians its still cheap cos our S$ is stronger.

Wah...u still dun get it...oil imported based on their "purchased" price n costs to put the crude into suitable conditions for usage.. If price is purchased in USD then u convert to SGD n SGD to RM. Ok lah..I do simple maths..(pls dun use this as I simplify it for ease of understanding)

Shell FuelSave 95 (95UL) $1.976 (after discount) extracted from Shell Singapore

SGD to MYR is 2.4401 (from Yahoo)

$1.976 * 2.4401 =RM 4.82 per liter woh...

So Singaporeans pay RM 2.8 will save RM 2 per liter if pump in Msia. But for a Msian, if they think SGD 1.976 is cheaper, then pls pump in Singapore... our garment will be very happy... :D

Not true that MY cars are cheaper then SG cars. If you do NOT convert the currency, you will find that if you worked/lived in MY, only the local MY made cars (eg. Proton) are cheap. But in MY, the foreign imported cars are more expensive. Same goes for other items like electronics stuff, food and toys!

I see that there's an avid discussion going on already so I don't add onto it! [:p]

the more the merrier... :D maybe im wrong lah..jus trying my best to think that it is more expensive to drive in Msia than Spore... [knife]

Sibei jialat driver.. I signal to turn right after the custom check car part and see no car so i accelerate, dunno come from where 1 stupid driver dun want give way and horn at me, nvm i let him pass. On the stupid slope out of JB i am in the lane already going up he want jiak in lane but no space for him (if he dun give me pass earlier why must i let him pass)? So i accelerate and go off. Out JB he tailgate me, overtake and than fk me in car, I chased him down to the traffic down my window fk him back and signal ask him stop car and tok but he bo chi drive away thru slip road which is for different direction. [laugh]

If dare to fk and show temper, come down and tok like a man. CCB. I will wait next time, i got memory of an elephant which can remember faces for years! You better pray hard dun meet a subaru next time! I sure make your fking elantra turn into prata!

I drive slowly la, when out of the slope i move at 60km nia cos i dunno want go up the bridge or down the traffic light. [laugh] I only 3rd gear to catch him nia... Stupid bo chi driver. Dare fk inside enclose only.

wow you are so MANLY!

moral of story - dont mess with a man with a subaru cos the subaru makes him invincible

p.s just kidding

I forgot to see you car plate. Hyundai Elantra light metallic brown yesterday 1.43pm. You dare to f--k in the car but ran away thru the slip road after i chased you. You fking cb in the wrong still dare horn and high beam me and yet scold me with your finger but bo chi come out of the car to tok. KNNBCCB! Next time you come in JB becareful abit, I may not remember your plate but i remember how you look like, fking cb si bak gao! [mad]

since he never come out, why never chase him all the way?