Tailgating

Lsflsf

No car in front of u? which lane are u at? left or right? if right den u are road hogging. Driving at the speed limit does not grant u the right to hog the right lane.

if left den let him tail lo. nothing to lose anyway.

i've been tailgated a few times on lane 1. i hate it, coz they put my safety at risk.

i usually move to lane 2 when i realize there's a faster car coming up. but when i don't realize, i'm much happier getting a simple flick of the high beam to make me take notice, then have someone put my life at risk by tailgating me.

i understand the need for people in lane 1 to give way to faster vehicles, and i have no qualms doing that at all. but i cannot agree with tailgating being the method of informing the car in front that he is too slow. it puts EVERYONE'S life at stake.

Moved the reply down!

Edited by Steptronic

Just give way to the faster car if possible [thumbsup] . Unless u are on lane 1 and u are way faster than the lane 2 cars [whip] . However move to lane 2 when it's empty.

Rule 1: If any car is close enough to your ass, immediately try to move to next slower lane

Rule 2: After moving to slower lane, you still see someone (else) smelling your ass, go to rule 1 above.

Repeat these till you see no one near your ass. if you still see someone even at the slowest lane, leave driving and take BMW!

I cannot help you with good advice

as I have never been tailgated.

If I see a faster car behind me,

I always move left.

Before he can tailgate me

he has already overtaken me.

My suggestion to you is, please stop behaving like a selfish singaporean (If you are one). Our little country is so small, and life is so stressed already..... so just stop thinking selfishly, and SHARE the road with others.

I think you could be the BIG problem, if you experienced CONSTANT tailgating. I will advice you also to abstain from lane 1 so as to not endanger other ppl's life.

I drive fast, sometimes 120km/h. But if I sense a faster car coming, or tailgating even at that speed, I will filter off when it is safe to do so.

In spain for example, I rented a 1L car, and I have lorry and kango and old VWs overtaking me all the time even though I am way above the speedlimit, but simply because I only 1L, the car slowed down on uphill on the highway... so I have to let faster car go by siaming... I am not sure if you are driving a more earth friendly car with small CC....

Last week, I was in a big hurry, and a RED Mazda2 was hogging for VERY LONG (from PIE.... still road to whitley, with 20cars worth of no one in front)... I tailgated a bit... no reaction.... I flipped highbeam... once, twice... no reaction.... dun really like to to horn, but decided otherwise and HORNed a bit.... no reaction..... then I sian 1/2.... and allowed another car to filter in to tailgate her.... NO REACTION still .... then beh tahan that car also overtake on middle when there was an opening..... worse is.... she slowed down to 70-80km on the slightest road curve..... I fed up liao.... got a chance to overtake her on the middle lane and I went to her in front, step brake to slow down to 50km/h.... FINALLY she got the freaking idea that she is a selfish bitch that ROADHOGged on lane 1 from east to west of tiny singapore. I hope you are more refined in behavior than this clueless bafoon.

So, like other good forumers said..... be safe, get a life, and I wish to add.... stop being selfish.

Edited by Sotongcat

must see situation then tailgate..

for me if @ lane 1.. i see that there are car in front of the car in front of me normally i keep a distance like 2-3car length

however i cannot tolerate is that there is no car in front of him yet they hog de road as they like then i will start to tailgate...

anyway i don't horn or flash high beam(because i don't like people high beam or horn me, thus don't do what you don't like to others), i will just tail gate till they move out.. but most of the time i would over take from lane 2..

some idiot are driving lane 1 @ 80-90km/hr and refuse to give way.. this are the kind of idiot which i would tailgate!!!!!!

Edited by Jfkoh

Tailgaters i dun like but i understand, road hoggers i dun like and i dun understand.

seriously, our highway etiquette is worse than our malaysian counterparts. Just came back on the NSW, i dun even need to use my high beam and signal, all and i mean alllllllllll the malaysian cars gave way and of course, i have to come up behind a SG car who decided that his car belongs on the 1st lane and nothing else. Eventually, created quite a long queue behind...sigh...i feel damn pai seh at that moment.

before i kenna flame until cows come home, i was travelling at about 130, yes, above speed limit but really, where else can we travel at that speed....

In Aussie, if you fail to give way to a faster vehicle behind you, the vehicle will speed up from other lanes and cut you off, winding down their windows and show you the FINGER while shout "STUPID ASIAN GET OFF THE F**ING ROAD!"

In Aussie land, they will do this to you whether you are tailgating or not. Kinda like how we like to bash the Ah tiongs here, the aussies like to bash the Chinese there....cept they really bash the Chinese there!

before i kenna flame until cows come home, i was travelling at about 130, yes, above speed limit but really, where else can we travel at that speed....

Hell, maybe?

Rule 1: If any car is close enough to your ass, immediately try to move to next slower lane

Rule 2: After moving to slower lane, you still see someone (else) smelling your ass, go to rule 1 above.

Repeat these till you see no one near your ass. if you still see someone even at the slowest lane, leave driving and take BMW!

Rule 1: If any car is close enough to your ass, check that your left lane is clear BEFORE moving to next slower lane.

FTFY.

must see situation then tailgate..

for me if @ lane 1.. i see that there are car in front of the car in front of me normally i keep a distance like 2-3car length

however i cannot tolerate is that there is no car in front of him yet they hog de road as they like then i will start to tailgate...

anyway i don't horn or flash high beam(because i don't like people high beam or horn me, thus don't do what you don't like to others), i will just tail gate till they move out.. but most of the time i would over take from lane 2..

some idiot are driving lane 1 @ 80-90km/hr and refuse to give way.. this are the kind of idiot which i would tailgate!!!!!!

If I drive 80KM/H - 90KM/H on the Expressway Lane 2 and got tailgated I will move to Lane 3,

Kena Tailgate some more, I will Jam Brake!!! [sly]

And hope the payout is enough to pay for my next 1 month U.S vacation.

Nowsaday, SIN is getting impatient. I am not sure if the society has make or change SIN to behave this.

This morning encountered an impatient old man at the Vicom inspection centre. There are 7 pax queueing for payment.

This old man got impatient and shouted loudly at the cashier for the payment. Why EQ so low for people to behave like that?

Just like driving - tailgate or horn at traffic light to move off etc. Why huh?

Encountered another typical SIN (couple middle age) at France airport being so impatient. Due to the slowness of check-in by the airport staffs, all the passengers were late to board the plane. Since we were both boarding the same SQ, this couple challenge me to join them - jump queue at the immigration section. There were over 100 passengers infront of us.

I told her is ok to be late since at the check-in counter, the staffs must have informed the boarding section on the situation. Then the couple started to speak loudly (eyeball so huge) and told me "YOU ARE WRONG! THE PLANE WILL NOT WAIT FOR YOU". As thought the whole situation is caused by me.

Can't believe I am talking to my own citizen SIN. So embarrassed.

Edited by Tcx607

Nowsaday, SIN is getting impatient. I am not sure if the society has make or change SIN to behave this.

This morning encountered an impatient old man at the Vicom inspection centre. There are 7 pax queueing for payment.

This old man got impatient and shouted loudly at the cashier for the payment. Why EQ so low for people to behave like that?

Just like driving - tailgate or horn at traffic light to move off etc. Why huh?

Encountered another typical SIN (couple middle age) at France airport being so impatient. Due to the slowness of check-in by the airport staffs, all the passengers were late to board the plane. Since we were both boarding the same SQ, this couple challenge me to join them - jump queue at the immigration section. There were over 100 passengers infront of us.

I told her is ok to be late since at the check-in counter, the staffs must have informed the boarding section on the situation. Then the couple started to speak loudly (eyeball so huge) and told me "YOU ARE WRONG! THE PLANE WILL NOT WAIT FOR YOU". As thought the whole situation is caused by me.

Can't believe I am talking to my own citizen SIN. So embarrassed.

It is a mentality that has been inculcated since young with unexpected and indirect consequences to our society.

If someone tailgates me when I am not leaving a huge gap from the car infront and not on the overtaking lane I usually just release accelerator until he keeps a safe distance or change lane. Works most of the time and most get the signal and keep a safe distance behind after that.