2BDriver Hypersonic December 8, 2011 Share December 8, 2011 [laugh] no lah, ur mum was trying to train u...... like that u could run so fast that ur wife cant catch u when u r naked outside with another women mah... She normally don't bother to catch me, but keep counting my blue pills. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie January 1, 2012 Share January 1, 2012 anywhere in msia i can do radiator flush? cos i find some rust in the system, i tink is from the radiator.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 anywhere in msia i can do radiator flush? cos i find some rust in the system, i tink is from the radiator.. any bro interested in DIY flush? if yes, i will organize one session on sunday but prepare a big 4 or 5L coolant and a bottle of flush kit(optional for better cleaning) will be doing the diy in multistorey carpark which is free on sunday my place selling the coolant for about $18 but sunday dont open Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 (edited) any bro interested in DIY flush? if yes, i will organize one session on sunday but prepare a big 4 or 5L coolant and a bottle of flush kit(optional for better cleaning) will be doing the diy in multistorey carpark which is free on sunday my place selling the coolant for about $18 but sunday dont open I don't mind to learn! always wanted to diy but scare.. probably gonna spray my fuel door and the wipers black.. dropping paint liao.. Edited January 5, 2012 by Holysniper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 (edited) look at the old kettle at your home and see for yourself the heating coil. U only boil water few times a day at home and the kettle heating coil will have plenty of corrosion and mineral builtup if your kettle is more than 5 yrs old. For car cooling system, it works much longer time with the tap water and you may imagine what is happening inside... If you dont believe your own eye and want more proof, google and find out what others said. But I think still good enough to last at least 10 years la. My previous car 10 years on tap water only and no problems with cooling at all. Current car 5 years on tap water and still have no problems also. Singapore's water isn't as bad as overseas. Last time when I went to UK to do car detailing for some people I noticed their tap water in certain areas is very hard. Alot of minerals. When you rinse with tap water can see all the spots on the car. Need to use something to soften the water or use distilled water to was the car. Those examples you see on google probably come from these places with hard water. For them not only radiator cannot fill with tap water. Car also cannot wash with tap water. Edited January 5, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 if car radiator only got plain water, is it ok? need to add coolant? if want to add coolant, can just pour in? or must drain out and redo everything? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 5, 2012 Share January 5, 2012 But I think still good enough to last at least 10 years la. My previous car 10 years on tap water only and no problems with cooling at all. Current car 5 years on tap water and still have no problems also. Singapore's water isn't as bad as overseas. Last time when I went to UK to do car detailing for some people I noticed their tap water in certain areas is very hard. Alot of minerals. When you rinse with tap water can see all the spots on the car. Need to use something to soften the water or use distilled water to was the car. Those examples you see on google probably come from these places with hard water. For them not only radiator cannot fill with tap water. Car also cannot wash with tap water. Dont assume like that... my previous ride, a hyundai elantra is full with some kind of unknown white sendiment (mud/clay look alike but very watery)when I drain the radiator out... previous owner take care of the car very well but I think they have neglected the the radiator... last for 7 or 8 yrs (cant really remember) and I replaced it due to leak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 I don't mind to learn! always wanted to diy but scare.. probably gonna spray my fuel door and the wipers black.. dropping paint liao.. i also scare to diy at first now... i love to diy coolant flush let workshop do is a waste of money all the sludge etc is still inside, instead of calling it flush, i will call it replacement of coolant only. want to diy then drop me a pm, if possible, will gather a few bro together and guide not easy but not difficult, just have to know what to do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 if car radiator only got plain water, is it ok? need to add coolant? if want to add coolant, can just pour in? or must drain out and redo everything? if u just pour plain water, sooner or later it will have sediment inside use distill water instead do a flush and u will be surprise what is stuck inside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 6, 2012 Share January 6, 2012 Dont assume like that... my previous ride, a hyundai elantra is full with some kind of unknown white sendiment (mud/clay look alike but very watery)when I drain the radiator out... previous owner take care of the car very well but I think they have neglected the the radiator... last for 7 or 8 yrs (cant really remember) and I replaced it due to leak. Not sure. Mine seems ok when I drain the radiator. Nothing weird inside. Normally just drain the radiator then open the cap to flush the radiator using a hose. Then with the hose running just leave the engine on a few minutes then I turn off the engine and refill the radiator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear January 8, 2012 Share January 8, 2012 (edited) Not sure. Mine seems ok when I drain the radiator. Nothing weird inside. Normally just drain the radiator then open the cap to flush the radiator using a hose. Then with the hose running just leave the engine on a few minutes then I turn off the engine and refill the radiator. Instead of letting you guys argue, I am going to say this I don't know what kind of mineral content our tap water has, so all I can say is use tap water at your own risk. If there's build-up from it, then, sway lah, if there isn't then heng lor To be on the safe side as the cooling system is critical to the running of the engine, I would say just get demineralised/distilled water, its plus minus $1 for a liter, and even if you use a total of 20 liters, when combined with the new super long life coolants, you're essentially spending less than $0.50 a month more between changes... Edited January 8, 2012 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 Instead of letting you guys argue, I am going to say this I don't know what kind of mineral content our tap water has, so all I can say is use tap water at your own risk. If there's build-up from it, then, sway lah, if there isn't then heng lor To be on the safe side as the cooling system is critical to the running of the engine, I would say just get demineralised/distilled water, its plus minus $1 for a liter, and even if you use a total of 20 liters, when combined with the new super long life coolants, you're essentially spending less than $0.50 a month more between changes... i will be the middle man, flush with tap water until clear when clear, drain all the tap water, then flush with distilled water for the last flush then drain and top up with coolant good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 i will be the middle man, flush with tap water until clear when clear, drain all the tap water, then flush with distilled water for the last flush then drain and top up with coolant good? Excellent! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 if u just pour plain water, sooner or later it will have sediment inside use distill water instead do a flush and u will be surprise what is stuck inside it was done like that by workshop when they replaced water pump ... they only put plain water .. said is enough. just wondering if can just pour in coolant and let it mix by itself in the system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 Want to try this method? Disconnect return line hose to expansion tank. Expansion tank cap off. Standby water hose. Start engine. Water will be circulated and drain to waste, As it draw down coolant, top up with fresh water Continue untiil the return line shows clear water. Finally change to distilled water with coolant Stop when coolant start to appear from return line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 it was done like that by workshop when they replaced water pump ... they only put plain water .. said is enough. just wondering if can just pour in coolant and let it mix by itself in the system mix tap water with coolant and mixing coolant with water is the same thing if u dont want sediment in your system, add only distill water better just drain out the tap water, add distill water, run it for a while and drain again then add coolant only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 Last time I diy radiator flush following what was mentioned in the car's manual. Just tap water and coolant required. No mention of distilled water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 9, 2012 Share January 9, 2012 On this topic, how do we get the thermostat to remain open during the flush when the water is cold? There r drain plugs on the engine body which u can open to let e old coolant out of the engine block. But many mechs dont do this cos its too troublesome. U can open e drain plug at e bottom of the radiator (usually made of nylon) to drain out as much coolant as possible. Then flush a couple of times with fresh tap water. Then just fill with fresh coolant n distilled water n run till e rad fan runs. Wait awhile then top-up e reservoir. Then to remove air pockets, drive up n down the MSCP slopes a couple of times to let the air out. Then top-up reservoir again. Some cars have auto removal of air pockets as e highest point is the filling cap. Check next day n top-up if necessary n monitor fr next few days. Water/coolant level sud not drop. If it does, there might b a leak in e system. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...