To buy now or wait until Mar 2012 for S60???

Cool_tiger

oh ok, I won't call that a turbo lag, cause the turbo has not kick in yet, turbo lag is when the turbo range is reached but the turbo kicks in fraction later resulting in surge, those are the larger turbos that needs high RPM to spool the turbo, low range turbo is LPT smaller thats why can kick in at sub 2k RPM, most conti luxury car is LPT, no massive intercooler etc unlike the EVO and WRX type must wack till 4k+ then pisss the turbo comes, hahahaha

The "lag" is common in dual clutch transmission, try audi and you will see what I mean and I personally feel that the VW group DSG, retune and rebrand for audi the initial pick up is worse off, unless accelerator is step on more else, also feel retarded initially but once picks up, smooth transmission.

Welcome to the Volvo family! I'm a S60 2.0T Polestar zenged (ie, T5 equivalent) owner.

Some misconceptions in the thread so far imho:-

- S60 is assembled in Belgium (some parts are made in China, one of the rear glass for eg; not sure any car can escape from any MIC parts anyway) not made in China for our market.

- I won't bother with the GPS. It's not built-in and is a Garmin. Go outside and buy your own Garmin set. The only upside is the wires which they can hide a little but honestly, I won't pay that price.

- Use the original mat. It's good enough and it's stuck in place by positioners. 3rd party ones do not have the positioners.

- COE will not drop in 2012.

- Overtrade with Wearnes (at least for me) was not to "over-loan". They paid 5k more for my traded-in car.

- You didn't get ripped off buying the Volvo. You would have if you bought the Audi. Same OMV (and same COE if you bought the Cat B versions) but 30k more, at least.

- Merc's sound proofing is better than the Volvo's but that doesn't mean that Volvo's sound proofing is bad

- S60's ride is harsher. Double confirm. Sports or comfort. Pick one.

- 240 bhp is not just enough. It's more than enough in SG. Torque is the key in SG's driving not bhp. 320Nm is great at such a low RPM.

- Me thinks most average drivers don't cheong on turns enough to know what they are missing on the S60 compared to the BMW. Going on bendy roads at 80-90km/h is no problem at all for the S60 assuming it's not an acute turn.

- Volvo's forums are boring. I think most owners are not enthusiasts like BMW owners.

For Mercs owners, try to check how much the Apple connection kit (or whatever they call that fancy cable) costs...Volvo comes built-in btw...

Having said all that, it's not all bed and roses but I shall not digress.

Happy that more volvo owners are coming in!

Wow your deal pretty good. They didn't get me any overtrade so to speak.

My 320 price was 1k less than what i would have gotten from selling to 3rd party dealer.

But they couldn't confirm the delivery date, so didn't want to live without car for 6 weeks.

As much as i love the car, i really dun think a Volvo 'outdrives' a BMW.

The handling is not bad, but nothing impressive.

It is a better overall package though, which is why i bought it.

oh ok, I won't call that a turbo lag, cause the turbo has not kick in yet, turbo lag is when the turbo range is reached but the turbo kicks in fraction later resulting in surge, those are the larger turbos that needs high RPM to spool the turbo, low range turbo is LPT smaller thats why can kick in at sub 2k RPM, most conti luxury car is LPT, no massive intercooler etc unlike the EVO and WRX type must wack till 4k+ then pisss the turbo comes, hahahaha

The "lag" is common in dual clutch transmission, try audi and you will see what I mean and I personally feel that the VW group DSG, retune and rebrand for audi the initial pick up is worse off, unless accelerator is step on more else, also feel retarded initially but once picks up, smooth transmission.

I find that the car is a bit hard to drive in start/stop traffic.

Cos you step too little/dun step, the car move very slowly, you step a bit harder, it surges when the gear engages.

Then need to jam immediately...

Last time i just let the car 'roll' forward...

Maybe i not used to it.

yes, you are right.

but i meant straining when it is under 1700rpm. turbo lag is obvious

specs are ok but i think the car is too heavy

The car is nice to drive when you have an open stretch of straight road and you step on the accelerator.

Wah shiok! Taxi sure cannot catch up...

Pretty rarely hear people say Volvo cars are underpowered as they are pretty decently spec'ed.

I drive the Volvo v50 2.4i although not a turbocharged engine the inline 5 engine delivers very consistent power to move the heavy 1.5 tonne stationwagon around. It's quite a pleasure to drive apart from the vibrations at higher RPMs due to the inherent design of inline 5 engine.

I have not yet test driven the new s60/v60 1.6L turbo engine and would like to find a day to do so and compare it with the new BMW 118i (IL4 1.6L turbo also). Although not really an apple to apple due to vehicle size and weight but it should give a good impression of the engine response.

IMHO modern cars are tuned for fuel economy and emissions and run a tad too lean which makes the engine run a little rougher and noisier. I hope this is not the case for the new Volvo and BMW engines although engine NVH in inline 4 design has improved dramatically in the past few years.

BTW, I own both the Volvo and a BMW 320 and I can say both cars are relatively equal in terms of repair cost.

Once old, all cars have problems. BMWs have much more frequent issues, but parts are cheaper due to the large user group here. Volvos though the issues are less but parts are expensive! And yes Volvo NVH worse than BMW or Merc (my parents drive a B class) but it has a much better sound system! I would advise you to change your tyres out to something more comfortable like Goodyear Eagle F1 Assym and change from 205 to 225 width. IMHO the car's too heavy for 205 width. Stock tyres from Volvo are Pirellis and I never had good experience with them - very noisy. But grippy, yes.

Once you get a comfortable set of tyres that are wider, your car will handle and brake much better, and much quieter... will be a pleasure to drive in.

Edited by Detach8

Agreed,

Need to get use to it and also on the upward slope as well.

I think it is partially (i am not entirely sure) that dual clutch gear boxes got no torque converter thus the little retarded at initial pick up to overcome the inertia and addon by the relatively heavier car weight of most conti car in general.

On a straight stretch of road, the beemer 3 series (320 and below) no chance, the car is 1.5 tonne with 156BHP severely down in power, but handling wise beemer is always good.

The tyre for my T5 is continental sportcontact3 width is 235, its 17x8

Overall a good ride to be honest and it will take some time for more people especially the younger gen that traditionally go for the beemer and audis to realize, as image transofmration takes a few years to come to fruition.

Saw this new v40 pic somewhere can't find again scheduled to launch next year, the looks is very modern and sure to attract more younger buyer than before.

Got a few people ask me about my deal, so I just reiterate it here

. Car retail at $217k

. COE was tagged to Aug i think at $67k

. OMV at $39021

. pretty good trade-in price for my old ride, that resulted in 20+k positive after final settlement (originally still negative loan)

. Garmin portable GPS, with cradle installation on A pillar

. Upgrade of solar flim to RikeCool Platinum 50

. Rear headrest entertainment system (2 units of DVD players fitted to the frontseat headrest for rear passengers, my girl loves it) comes with 2 x wireless headphones

. Bodystyling (Front and Rear plates and side skirt and visible square tailpipe)

. T5 advantage (for 20% off accessories and next day appointment)

. Insurance at about $1320 per annum (50% NCD + 5%)

. Promotional interest rate of 1.5% (just in time to get it, pretty fortunate, overall a few k of saving over the entire loan tenure compared to the prevailing 1.88%)

. A few $k discount (for taking up financial loan I think, pretty standard across all authorised dealers)

. Good service from Sales consultant.

. after all the above, nett....$179k before I made down payment

Not a super duper fantastic but a very good deal in my opinion.....putting aside the brand thing which I cant quantify, beats the beemer, audi and merc in varying areas and amount ($ value, equipment and service)

Agreed,

I think it is partially (i am not entirely sure) that dual clutch gear boxes got no torque converter thus the little retarded at initial pick up to overcome the inertia and addon by the relatively heavier car weight of most conti car in general.

On a straight stretch of road, the beemer 3 series (320 and below) no chance, the car is 1.5 tonne with 156BHP severely down in power, but handling wise beemer is always good.

Overall a good ride to be honest and it will take some time for more people especially the younger gen that traditionally go for the beemer and audis to realize, as image transofmration takes a few years to come to fruition.

Saw this new v40 pic somewhere can't find again scheduled to launch next year, the looks is very modern and sure to attract more younger buyer than before.

. Car retail at $217k

. OMV at $39021

. pretty good trade-in price for my old ride, that resulted in 20+k positive after final settlement (originally still negative loan)

. Rear headrest entertainment system (2 units of DVD players fitted to the frontseat headrest for rear passengers, my girl loves it) comes with 2 x wireless headphones

. Bodystyling (Front and Rear plates and side skirt and visible square tailpipe)

. Promotional interest rate of 1.5% (just in time to get it, pretty fortunate, overall a few k of saving over the entire loan tenure compared to the prevailing 1.88%)

. A few $k discount (for taking up financial loan I think, pretty standard across all authorised dealers)

Not a super duper fantastic but a very good deal in my opinion.....putting aside the brand thing which I cant quantify, beats the beemer, audi and merc in varying areas and amount ($ value, equipment and service)

Let me see if i understand you correctly. The 20+K equity from your old car added in right, so AFTER that before you take out any cash you pay 179K? Is that correct? so actually net is 200K?

Edited by Tedlhw

Agreed,

. Car retail at $217k

. OMV at $39021

Or did they give you a 20K overtrade?

Even then, it doesn't really add up to a 48K discount lei..

If you really got a price of 179K, you really got a super deal lor.

Cos i didn't get the body kit, solar film, rear headrest entertainment system and GPS..

And i paid a bit more than u.

Last time i just let the car 'roll' forward...

this powershift gearbox doesn't seem to go into neutral when lift off the accelerator,

still in gear, so engine brakes and slows down fast, doesn't glide.

other thing vs MB/BMW is the wider turning radius due to FF configuration...

ok, let me clarify a little more

the nett price after trade in and all discount is $179k, note that actually it is 175k+ because $179K is based on 18k trade in value computed before get final settlement figure, after that finalise the figures from bank, I get back another 3k+ in cash.

nett b4 trade in value would be 179+18 = 197k, 20k off the list price of 217k back in end Oct; value of freebies thrown in not counted which I think amount to about 6 to 7k (RSE is about 3k already (after sales is more ex), GPS around 1k, solar flim upgrade 700 or 1k and body kit think 1 to 2k, receive a offer letter after collection of the car stating 4k for body kit but dont think it cost that much internally).

It is not overtrade...overtrade is for negative loan after less trade-in value and the outstanding put into the new loan and roll from there, mine is 20k positive after final settlement, so it is 20k offset of new car price.

abit confusing but overall good deal for me after trade in, esp inview of BMW, Audi, VW and Merc all give few k less for the trade in of my old ride, also the interest rate of 1.5% is the lowest in town, 1,88% for all and 1.99% for merc

Edited by Fteocs

Let me see if i understand you correctly. The 20+K equity from your old car added in right, so AFTER that before you take out any cash you pay 179K? Is that correct? so actually net is 200K?

Yes you are right, so minus off the trade in, value it is 197k, 20k off list price of 217 back in oct

Or did they give you a 20K overtrade?

Even then, it doesn't really add up to a 48K discount lei..

If you really got a price of 179K, you really got a super deal lor.

Cos i didn't get the body kit, solar film, rear headrest entertainment system and GPS..

And i paid a bit more than u.

When did you buy?

how much you pay?

you no outstanding loan from your own car (positive or negative)

I got it last day of Oct and collect mid Nov

The Sales Girl is very good in working out the deal and freebie for me, I really appreciate her effort. Got a hamper somemore, hahaha on collection day.comes with a diecast model (copper color not my ride color), polo t shirt 2 bottle of wine and some chocolates (wine and chocolates from ikea...hahaha swedish connection)

Agreed,

The little retardness you experienced is probably due to the clutch engaging. Usually the trick I use to employ a smooth pickup from standstill is to pause for a split second before stepping on the accelerator. After a while, you will know how long the split second is.

On slopes, I think there is a anti-rollback braking at work. It will always be a little more jerky to start off a slope.