Kingkong 5th Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 I used to call SingTel before going overseas, asking them to turn off those features that are related to data roaming, and on one occasion a Customer Care officer there told me just do the following steps on my iPhone 4 to prevent incurring overseas data roaming charges: Go to Setting - General - Network Turn off 3G Turn off Data Roaming Go to Cellular Data Network, at APN delete ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 I used to call SingTel before going overseas, asking them to turn off those features that are related to data roaming, and on one occasion a Customer Care officer there told me just do the following steps on my iPhone 4 to prevent incurring overseas data roaming charges: Go to Setting - General - Network Turn off 3G Turn off Data Roaming Go to Cellular Data Network, at APN delete Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 Great. If I just use 2G, that means no data transmission at all right? No need to turn off anything else huh? Nope, 2G still has GPRS, so it still has data transmission, just slow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 Yup, guess this chap is not honest enough to show everyone the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Perhaps the "Honest-Mistake-Act" shall be applied in this case? I guess he leaves the Network Selection on AUTO mode, he should have off the AUTO and the hand set will not pick up other networks which are not designated networks of his service provider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 Think it is the phone bill , i got mine renewed at 21months , told them straight don't want i go straight to sh for corporate plan singtel quite bad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 I dun understand why some ppl can check in everywhere in oversea holiday trip to tell ppl where they r in facebook, how they do it ah? My friend tell me he got a HK data plan with unlimited data, can use everywhere in HK, got such thing meh? i buy a prepaid sim in hk for hkd100, use hkd78 for 7 days unlimited data in hk... balance hkd22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 I'm going to be slaughter for this, but well... Not smartenough , don't use a smart phone lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 go look at the 300k phone bill from singtel circulating around. http://i1239.photobucket.com/albums/ff520/...044546959_n.jpg 300K can buy one far away HDB liao y singtel also stupid one? b4 the bill was generated, they can set some alert to signal abnormal usage / bill pattern ma they expect to send the bill and the gong-kia pay the bill meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 (edited) but then again, to be impartial, used BB overseas b4 and b4 the trip, i called ST to activate the $40 5 day email things plan la. conclusion, no overcharged. but the ST tele person advised me 3-4 times, please swtich to ONLY xxx in country X, yyy in Y country Y. and use the manual selection for network. which i followed dilligently. iphone, off cellular off data roam Edited December 22, 2011 by Sk65 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 so for this $12,000, if the guy can't pay, what are his options? 1) terminate line 2) pay slowly (installment) 3) waiver from SingTel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 I mentioned that data roaming and cellular data was off , yet i was charged. The CS can have the cheek to tell me that need to remove e-ideas and stuff , then i ask him something , i might as well change my service provider? Won't this be better? It is small money , but i seriously think it is something that Singtel(which sold me the phone) and the service provider should do something to disable it if it is a bug on their side. From my point of view , as long as i turn of the data roaming and cellular data , if i can still get charge when i can't use the data network then something is wrong ? Just imagine out 10 which goes overseas , 1 kana this , SG how many people going overseas every year? Million dollar making business i dont think is singtel bug. more like your iphone bug or ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged December 22, 2011 Share December 22, 2011 The best is to call the teleco and get them to turn off your GPRS. Once done, your phone cannot surf internet at all. This is the safest way, IMO. I do this all the time, whenever I go overseas, even Malaysia. Like that no need to worry at all, and can enjoy my trip. If need to surf internet, just drop by a place or restaurant with free wifi then can surf liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...