20G 1st Gear January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 Hi Guys! I actually read every post in this discussion, very interesting. Just asking for advices and opinions. With the car prices so high now, It don't make money sense to me if I wanna get a brand new IS250 or mark x (unless I strike lottery!) But even considering a 2-3 year old one will be irrationally price high too. So my question is: what can i expect ( negative ones ) if I were to get a 4-6 year old IS250 or mark x? in terms of maintance, drop in performance, fc etc. This is coz I always hear ppl saying don't buy cars after 5 years. that is when most of the wear and tear will start.. Thanks in advance! : ) buying cars new or old is juz like getting a gf. u will nv know wat u will face until u get 'into' it. wear and tear is a standard when the car gets older. the only qn is: to wat extend. some older cars will need only normal servicing and replacement of minor wear and tears but some newer cars comes wif big problem. luck plays 80% of ur purchase, if u know wat i meant. generally, i oso hear ppl say toyota cars can last forever. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetycar Neutral Newbie January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 (edited) Hi Guys! I actually read every post in this discussion, very interesting. Just asking for advices and opinions. With the car prices so high now, It don't make money sense to me if I wanna get a brand new IS250 or mark x (unless I strike lottery!) But even considering a 2-3 year old one will be irrationally price high too. So my question is: what can i expect ( negative ones ) if I were to get a 4-6 year old IS250 or mark x? in terms of maintance, drop in performance, fc etc. This is coz I always hear ppl saying don't buy cars after 5 years. that is when most of the wear and tear will start.. Thanks in advance! : ) I also hear people say not to buy Brand New car.... Sell off 'Teng Kor' I also hear people say buy car near to Scrap... Safe Buy No right... No wrong. I have also seen so many cases of Relatively New car ... gear box Kaput, Engine ECU kaput, electronic parking system failed and so on. Very much depends on the Make and Model Mark X - high chance dash board hair line crack Wear & Tear - Normal The rest depends on how the previous owner takes care of it... Heng Suay issue unless you know the history. IS250 - better check with the Lexus boys.... But both Engine is still good after 5 years (if you do regular servicing).... still going strong. No funny funny issues like what I have mentioned above. Edited January 27, 2012 by Safetycar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetycar Neutral Newbie January 27, 2012 Share January 27, 2012 (edited) for a moment i tot u typed 'Or Gui Tao'.. Why am I NOT surprised .... theres one char kway teow b4 the Andy Lau teochew porridge oso not bad. Yeap..... Our Mid Week Night Meet Up is there now .... Edited January 27, 2012 by Safetycar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calm Neutral Newbie January 29, 2012 Share January 29, 2012 Thanks Safetycar! So I presume u drove a mark x before? I don't see any female mark x drivers around btw... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calm Neutral Newbie January 29, 2012 Share January 29, 2012 I will never know what u mean coz I never got a gf before!! But ya jokes aside I know all cars will have wear and tear. Are you driving a Lexus? Care to share your experience? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gt2929 1st Gear January 29, 2012 Share January 29, 2012 nb wana tok abt N level again har? find one day u at the stall we go there eat lei.. why cannot N level again ? Dun tell me u PSLE oni...whahaha feel free to come over to makan, coffee on me... my stall monday confirm close and after 1pm is all depend on your luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear January 29, 2012 Share January 29, 2012 I will never know what u mean coz I never got a gf before!! But ya jokes aside I know all cars will have wear and tear. Are you driving a Lexus? Care to share your experience? yup. I'm driving a is250 for the 3rd month now. so far so gd. fc is decent at 11km/l light footed. no point revving the nuts off coz it's only that fast anyway. highway cruising is very comfortable. adequate power for overtaking. only thing I recommend to fix is the sprint booster. I took it out once out of curiosity and the feeling sucks. car reluctant to move off and after fixing back everything is smooth again. dunno abt others but sprint booster works for my car. other than dat, haven't face any issues yet. *touch wood* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetycar Neutral Newbie January 30, 2012 Share January 30, 2012 (edited) Thanks Safetycar! So I presume u drove a mark x before? I don't see any female mark x drivers around btw... Yes I drove a Mark X before.... And now I am driving a Mark X again .... And yes.. You hardly find female drivers of this Ah Pek Ride but there is... IMHO .. i think gals or ladies look better driving a IS250.... Hee.. Edited January 30, 2012 by Safetycar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 Yes I drove a Mark X before.... And now I am driving a Mark X again .... And yes.. You hardly find female drivers of this Ah Pek Ride but there is... IMHO .. i think gals or ladies look better driving a IS250.... Hee.. potential flame wording.... by the way, my bro owns one, looks macho what..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Safetycar Neutral Newbie January 31, 2012 Share January 31, 2012 (edited) potential flame wording.... by the way, my bro owns one, looks macho what..... Eh..... Ok la .... Must tell him he look Macho else his heart will break ... Although I am a guy, I think I also look good driving a IS250 but no money to buy.. Price so 'Stiff'. Jealous of that Macho guy .... Edited January 31, 2012 by Safetycar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 Wow...11km/l...mine is only if at best 8-9km/l...sucky mileage is proberbly because I have a fat foot or my rims are 18 inches I guess. What's this sprint booster thing? I don't have it leh...What does it do? make the pick up better? Where it get it and how much is it? i forgot to mention im running 19" staggered. . i guess ur heavy footed. juz search in the market place by typing "Sprint Booster" u got quite alot of patterns, brands and sizes, hee hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 Eh..... Ok la .... Must tell him he look Macho else his heart will break ... Although I am a guy, I think I also look good driving a IS250 but no money to buy.. Price so 'Stiff'. Jealous of that Macho guy .... looking for me? btw, only certain ppl will look macho in the is250. .ppl like ur size will make the car look like a small go kart when ur in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 i forgot to mention im running 19" staggered. . i guess ur heavy footed. juz search in the market place by typing "Sprint Booster" u got quite alot of patterns, brands and sizes, hee hee have seen quite a number of IS250 running 19", looks garang. have been waiting for my 19" come close to 2 months........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 have seen quite a number of IS250 running 19", looks garang. have been waiting for my 19" come close to 2 months........ I got no choice got stuck bcoz the car came wif it and nobody wants to buy them. wat 19"s did u order? one thing u gotta note.. performance tyres for 19"s are really limited.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 I got no choice got stuck bcoz the car came wif it and nobody wants to buy them. wat 19"s did u order? one thing u gotta note.. performance tyres for 19"s are really limited.. ordered a set of relatively old wheels, advan rz. getting pss so i suppose the performance shld be alright Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calm Neutral Newbie February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 LOL.. Its really a nice car. I got a friend who's driving one, pearl white. And I must say she really look classy in it! But its her hubby's car though. : ) Too bad it's so expensive now, otherwise I would like to own one too. Even a 08 cost around 100k now!!... good grief!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imaginary 1st Gear February 1, 2012 Share February 1, 2012 LOL.. Its really a nice car. I got a friend who's driving one, pearl white. And I must say she really look classy in it! But its her hubby's car though. : ) Too bad it's so expensive now, otherwise I would like to own one too. Even a 08 cost around 100k now!!... good grief!! Can get Mark X instead then, 2nd hand not very ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 LOL.. Its really a nice car. I got a friend who's driving one, pearl white. And I must say she really look classy in it! But its her hubby's car though. : ) Too bad it's so expensive now, otherwise I would like to own one too. Even a 08 cost around 100k now!!... good grief!! ya.. pearl white looks nice. there are some good offers ard if u look/ bargain hard enough. let us know if u need help in looking for one in the used market. :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...