Mark X steptonic

Kelvinlev

wu ya bo? 30bhp wif abit of ECU chip up. got lobang?

achievable even for the old generation mkX.... my bro's fren did it (they both drive mkX) [:)]

why is is250 a better buy? bcoz u own one or bcoz of the badge? :)

by the way, the pick up of mark x is much better than the is250 comparing stock to stock.

how come?

dun rely so much on hp figure....the more important is the torque..the higher the torque at low rpm the better drivability you will get...

normaly hp is more on high end...unless you everytime driving at high speed den is different story...

how come?

stock IS250 is detuned to 205hp with peak torque coming at 4800rpm

stock mark X is 215hp with peak torque at 3800rpm...

but new mark x is detuned version too...

same engine but tune differently

stock IS250 is detuned to 205hp with peak torque coming at 4800rpm

stock mark X is 215hp with peak torque at 3800rpm...

but new mark x is detuned version too...

same engine but tune differently

okay that makes sense. [:)] i assumed yours is now making 245bhp [sly]

haha infact no...i detune it further by pumping 95...hahaha

but i saw one mark x on sale last time hp figure @245hp le.....issit urs?

hehe

any advice if it (Mark X) is a good choice of car to change to? current ride is Accord JDM...

Ok ... Let me answer some of the questions

It is a good replacement over the JDM Accord if you are looking into POwer.

Let's forget about Horse POwer in Singapore Context.

YOu hardly get a chance to show it off due to the Traffic.

YOu will experience a different in Torque.

It comes in pretty early and pretty punchy for a decent executive saloon.

Even a 2.4L Accord or 2.4L Camry will not offer you such Torque.

It is more than enough for most of us to sprint off from a Traffic Light or overtaking.

Fuel Consumption is pretty good for a 2.5L Ride.

The Dual VVTi does it job well.

Cruising @ 100km/h on the expressway allows you to view the RPM meter @ 1850.

Accord JDM Wins in the Cabin Space hands Down.

Mark X Cabin is a c--k Pit design.

Rear Leg Room is good but only fit 2 person comfortably due to the Huge Hump due RWD.

A Stock Mark X looks exactly like a Ah Pek Car... you have to change the Shoes and Lower the Ride for a more dashing outlook. Bear in mind to chose Rims that Flush with the Body without the need of Spacers yet able to clear BBK. Yes.. the Stock Brake Kit is not so Efficient (to most of the Mark X Owners).

Vertiga Kit - Swee and Swee enought to Scrap most humps in Singapore.

It is definitely the best looking kit for Mark X since ToyoPet launched it for the SuperCharged 3.0L Mark X many years back to celebrate it's 100 years anniversary.

Now the Kit is readily available, be it Original or Replica BUT you wil realised that not many are on this Kit as it tends to Scrap some of the Humps or Exit of Car park ... even if it is on Stock Shocks. This proves to be quite a Pain.

YOu may wanna skip the New Mark X cos I doubt you wanna pay close to $160K for a Japanese Executive Ride.

If you wanna look for a 2nd hand Mark X ... there are a few Tips that you may wanna adopt.

YOu can PM me if you are serious about getting one.

YOu can also opt for IS250 as it shares the same engine as Mark X.

In fact, the Previous Toyota Crown is using the same ECU Diagram too.

BUT.... you have to pay more for IS250 despite having the Exact Same Engine due to Branding, better Sound Proofing. It scores higher in YEarly Depreciation compared to Mark X. About close to $3K higher.

In return, you will be driving the 'L' Badge.

IS250 is much more nimble than Mark X.

Mark X adopts the same platform as GS300. That allows you to experience a much better leg room than IS250.

I don't quite agree on the Detune Info on the New Mark X as mentioned earlier.

It seems that Japan has remove the Direct Injection thingy from Mark X... that explains the Lower POwer and Torque output in the New Face Lifted Mark X.

It is the same as our Pre Face Lift Mark X in China.

It is called REIZ and it output is lower than JDM Mark X due to the same reason.... Jap always saves the best for their Bench Mark Rides.

With the Torque of Mark X..... a Value for Money BBK is Modellista BBK aka GS300 Brake Kit.

It is Plug & Play.

It is more than enough to Stop your close to 1.6 Tonne Mark X with a Torque worth 260 (Stock).

Mark X up to year 2006 can have it's SPeed Cut remove by a Simple Device.

Mark X 2007 onwards can only have their Speed Cut Remove by another More Expensive Device.

And you need to get the Right Fellow to do it.

06 Mark X have Clear Head Light Cover & Side Signal Light Indicators on it;s Body.

07 Onwards don;t have the Side SIgnal Lights iNdicators and Head Light Cover is Tinted with 'Gold Ring' at it's Taillights.

Mark X also comes in diff version.

Normally you will be looking at the Normal F Package.

the S Package is rare but it comes with Traction Control, Keyless Entry, Comfort & Sports Suspension Function (Something like EDFC), Full Roof Sky Light & others.

Mark X also comes with the 3.0L Version .. torque & Power same as GS300. SunRoof and Relevant Gadgets.

Mark X 3.0L Supercharger Pre Face LIft is not allow in SIngapore due Emission Issue.

I don't know what other info you need ... but you can contact me if you want or simply Log INto:

www.mark-x.com to look for me.

IS250 is definitely a better choice too when it comes to Branding, Insulation and Nimble Factor. It comes with all the Traction Control & Gadgets etc.

I am sure there are many other good cars out there to replace your JDM Accord... So let your heart decides ya ........

wu ya bo? 30bhp wif abit of ECU chip up. got lobang?

To add on .....

I understand where 20G is coming from.

To gain 30 BHP on a NA Ride without the Upgrade of Hard ware Mods sounds far fetch.

I have no comments as there is such thing as Happy Dyno or Sad Dyno.

I also feel that E manage may not be the Best Piggy Back for Mark X.

I am also having Piggy back on my Previous and Current Mark X.

Confidently, this Piggy Back should offer a much better result than E Manage.

Perhaps a Higher torque that kicks in much earlier and a pretty good envelope under the peak torque.

Don't ask me about the Figures but this Piggy Back definitely offers Me a great deal of 'WOW' compared to the Stock Experience.

In fact most of us in the Club is using this Piggy Back.

We had members who came by with another brand of piggy back and threw away the old one and replace it with this one.

I believe that a Forced Induction Car is able to have big gain easily... not a NA Ride.

Importantly, the Driver must experienced a Wow if his NA Ride can offer him a VAst Diff after the Piggy Back is set in.

Nowadays, I am usually on Stock Map.

At times, I will toggle the Switch and the Piggy Back Torque Kicks in and I swear this is one of the best experience that I had so far.

Just sharing my 5 cents worth.

Hope threadstarter ca n find something that he likes ....

Hi, would like to enquire about the gear (steptronic) in Mark X.

It goes like this:

While the car is stationary, and you shift it to D mode, and then you change to M mode, the gear engaged shown will be at 4. Is this correct, normal?

No matter what I did, be it I shift down to gear 1 in M mode, and switch back to D mode, and then switch back to M mode again, it will always be in gear 4. how come it

is not in gear 1, assuming that you are stationary and suppose to move off in gear 1 instead of 4.

Mark X bro, kindly advise.

Oh, I was intending to get the Mark X and happen to realize this while testing the car. Well, the dealer was not able to confirm though.

Sorry, miss your original question.

The Mark X Steptronic DO NOT function like what you have like other Steptronic Shift Stick.

Flick it over to S Mode shows 4.

Default Gear.

It does not represent the Gear YOu are in.

No point trying the Steptronic cos you will get frustrated trying to tally it to the actual gear you are in.

The Auto Transmission is very efficient for you to power out cos the Down Shift and Power Kicks In is very good. No Hesitation. This Aising Manufacture Gear Box mapped with the ECU is freaking good.

If you really want to Read the Actual Gear that you are in when you switch to S Mode.. It's possible.

There is a Device which some of the cub member Fixed.

It works very well but you need the right person to calibrate it.

It reflects Exactly which gear you are in.

A lot of things can be done but you must know where to do it.

A lot of people thinks that Mark X cannot have paddle Shift like IS250 .. Well, we did it !!!!

So just use your Auto Gear .. you do not miss out in anything if you fail to master the Steptronic.

By experience, the only time that we NEED to utilise the Steptronic is when we travel up North to test out our Speed Cut Removal.

We need to Engage the right gear at the right time to reach the ideal speed.

Clocked Speed on Mark X up north is Slightly more than 250 KM/H.

Hope it resolves some of your concern ya ....

SafetyCar @ www.mark-x.com

Mark X also comes in diff version.

Normally you will be looking at the Normal F Package.

the S Package is rare but it comes with Traction Control, Keyless Entry, Comfort & Sports Suspension Function (Something like EDFC), Full Roof Sky Light & others.

Mark X also comes with the 3.0L Version .. torque & Power same as GS300. SunRoof and Relevant Gadgets.

Mark X 3.0L Supercharger Pre Face LIft is not allow in SIngapore due Emission Issue.

Too bad cannot get hold of that SC 3.0L Mark X..

Farking Sleeper Car with 316 BHP and a Torque of 412.

Wooooooooooooooo ..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Vertiga Kit - Swee and Swee enought to Scrap most humps in Singapore.

It is definitely the best looking kit for Mark X since ToyoPet launched it for the SuperCharged 3.0L Mark X many years back to celebrate it's 100 years anniversary.

Typo.. Sleepy.

50th Anniversary launching 100 Units of SC Mark X.

Ok ... Let me answer some of the questions

It is a good replacement over the JDM Accord if you are looking into POwer.

Let's forget about Horse POwer in Singapore Context.

YOu hardly get a chance to show it off due to the Traffic.

YOu will experience a different in Torque.

It comes in pretty early and pretty punchy for a decent executive saloon.

Even a 2.4L Accord or 2.4L Camry will not offer you such Torque.

Accord JDM Wins in the Cabin Space hands Down.

Mark X Cabin is a c--k Pit design.

Rear Leg Room is good but only fit 2 person comfortably due to the Huge Hump due RWD.

A Stock Mark X looks exactly like a Ah Pek Car... you have to change the Shoes and Lower the Ride for a more dashing outlook. Bear in mind to chose Rims that Flush with the Body without the need of Spacers yet able to clear BBK. Yes.. the Stock Brake Kit is not so Efficient (to most of the Mark X Owners).

YOu may wanna skip the New Mark X cos I doubt you wanna pay close to $160K for a Japanese Executive Ride.

If you wanna look for a 2nd hand Mark X ... there are a few Tips that you may wanna adopt.

YOu can PM me if you are serious about getting one.

YOu can also opt for IS250 as it shares the same engine as Mark X.

In fact, the Previous Toyota Crown is using the same ECU Diagram too.

BUT.... you have to pay more for IS250 despite having the Exact Same Engine due to Branding, better Sound Proofing. It scores higher in YEarly Depreciation compared to Mark X. About close to $3K higher.

In return, you will be driving the 'L' Badge.

IS250 is much more nimble than Mark X.

Mark X adopts the same platform as GS300. That allows you to experience a much better leg room than IS250.

IS250 is definitely a better choice too when it comes to Branding, Insulation and Nimble Factor. It comes with all the Traction Control & Gadgets etc.

I am sure there are many other good cars out there to replace your JDM Accord... So let your heart decides ya ........

this is wat i call 'unbiased comparison'.

unlike some pple who thinks that their current car is the best in the world. it happens most of the time when someone gets stuck between a few models and qute certainly some guys will come in and sing praises abt their current ride and try to make a worthless recommendation. put it dis way, if the guy that's asking for opinion has factored 'that' model in his consideration he wld hv list it down.

well, some guys juz wana chip in but most of the times they juz wana show off and tell the whole forum wat fanciful car they are driving.

this is wat i call 'unbiased comparison'.

unlike some pple who thinks that their current car is the best in the world. it happens most of the time when someone gets stuck between a few models and qute certainly some guys will come in and sing praises abt their current ride and try to make a worthless recommendation. put it dis way, if the guy that's asking for opinion has factored 'that' model in his consideration he wld hv list it down.

well, some guys juz wana chip in but most of the times they juz wana show off and tell the whole forum wat fanciful car they are driving.

I agree.

IS250 has more toys and kit. If you buy brand new, theres even FF gps,mark levinson sound system , Keyless entry (markx MAY have), nicer leather trim and somehow all the buttons seems to slightly tighter? oh and insulation is top notch, really really quiet. Service is not bad ( fromwhat i hear). and of course theres the "i drive a lexus" you can tell people.

I dont think its just the badge? its up to you whether the above mention stuff and more matters to you and if you don mind to pay more for it?

i would say the mark x more "value for money" cause someone feel that the drive aka engine, drive train etc etc is the most important then the is250 is paying a whole lot more for the same thing.

oh and Mark X is only PI. so if your worried, is250 is your choice!

if you just want to keep within a budget and have a good RWD, Mark X

I agree.

IS250 has more toys and kit. If you buy brand new, theres even FF gps,mark levinson sound system , Keyless entry (markx MAY have), nicer leather trim and somehow all the buttons seems to slightly tighter? oh and insulation is top notch, really really quiet. Service is not bad ( fromwhat i hear). and of course theres the "i drive a lexus" you can tell people.

I dont think its just the badge? its up to you whether the above mention stuff and more matters to you and if you don mind to pay more for it?

i would say the mark x more "value for money" cause someone feel that the drive aka engine, drive train etc etc is the most important then the is250 is paying a whole lot more for the same thing.

oh and Mark X is only PI. so if your worried, is250 is your choice!

if you just want to keep within a budget and have a good RWD, Mark X

for toys and kits, mark x will hv the upper hand. resources are damn limited for the is250.

as for the levison system, its gd only if u intend to leave it stock. the system is only so so in the eyes of the audiophiles. hee hee

i hv to disagree wif the insulation. its gd, but not in the level of top notch yet. u still get to hear ur surrounding noises while travelling. some tyres make it worst.

anyway, mark x or is250 is still consider a more desirable car than alot of other jap makes. In My Opinion.

for toys and kits, mark x will hv the upper hand. resources are damn limited for the is250.

as for the levison system, its gd only if u intend to leave it stock. the system is only so so in the eyes of the audiophiles. hee hee

i hv to disagree wif the insulation. its gd, but not in the level of top notch yet. u still get to hear ur surrounding noises while travelling. some tyres make it worst.

anyway, mark x or is250 is still consider a more desirable car than alot of other jap makes. In My Opinion.

YOu are Spot on pertaining to the IS250 Insulation Thingy.

Good but not the Best.

I also dunno why ......

Even the VW Passat CC disappoint me cos I can literallly hear a lot of outside noise ...

Recently, test drove a 7 year old IS200... Impressed by the Chassis and Works.

Despite the Metal Fatigue... it still stays Solid and Good.

Yeap... there is no Best Car. Only IDEAL ..................

Edited by Safetycar

YOu are Spot on pertaining to the IS250 Insulation Thingy.

Good but not the Best.

I also dunno why ......

Even the VW Passat CC disappoint me cos I can literallly hear a lot of outside noise ...

Recently, test drove a 7 year old IS200... Impressed by the Chassis and Works.

Despite the Metal Fatigue... it still stays Solid and Good.

Yeap... there is no Best Car. Only IDEAL ..................

i believe when my car hits 7 years of age, i'll still look as gd. all bcoz i gan pua neow and cannot stand even a little bit of dust on/in my car. hee hee

Bro Gt2929, can check with you something - for the IS250, lets say you are stationary at the traffic lights and you shift to the e-shift (steptronic) function and slowly accelerate and move off. Does yours change gear by itself after certain RPMs or does it stay in the same gear until you change it up (meaning you can drag each gear to redline)? For mine it changes gear by itself (though the gears drag a bit longer) when I switch it to e-shift. It doesn't sound right leh

Thanks

i think the gears will change by itself till the 4th gear.

this stupid 'function' is totally retarded, if u ask me. best is juz put it on auto, switch to ECT, and whack the living daylights out of the car

Bro Gt2929, can check with you something - for the IS250, lets say you are stationary at the traffic lights and you shift to the e-shift (steptronic) function and slowly accelerate and move off. Does yours change gear by itself after certain RPMs or does it stay in the same gear until you change it up (meaning you can drag each gear to redline)? For mine it changes gear by itself (though the gears drag a bit longer) when I switch it to e-shift. It doesn't sound right leh

Thanks

my gear will stay at 1 forever unless u shift it to 2...