Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 3, 2012 Author Share February 3, 2012 (edited) Because the demage to my bro car seems minor. The other party told my bro that he will pay for the repair & requested that not to report it. My bro was new to this & agree to it. He then sent the car to work shop for assess only 2 days later, as the accident happended on a Sat evening. The cost was $600+. He inform the other party, but the party not agree to the cost & refuse to pay for the repair. I now worrry that the other party might have make a report within 24hrs, so if my bro now then make a report, he can claim that the demage was minor & the cost may not be more than $300. The insurance company may think that my bro make claim to other repair which was not related to the accident. Edited February 3, 2012 by Owen_fan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 Then dun waste time to report to yr insurers. U need to b honest with dem and frankly, yr concern abt e other party making a claim is genuine. Was anything written to say e other party will pay for damages? Pictures of accident damages? $600 is nt a lot but also nt a small sum. Wat is yr excess? If its $500 or less, u may consider askg other party to foot half? Watever e outcome, pls report to prevent further issues..... Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 3, 2012 Author Share February 3, 2012 (edited) my bro first time owning car & invloved in an accident. He never call for assistence & agreed to the other party without signing any prove, even taking the photo. He also don't understand why the repair cost was $600+, as he do agree that the demage only minor. The other party now refuse to pay at all, so will it be too late for him to report & make 3rd party claim now? (more than 5 days) for me, I will just report it & pay from my own pocket. Edited February 3, 2012 by Owen_fan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 This is e part we all hate, e liars and bo ji drivers....especially when dey knw some1 is green in this area, obvious with no photos, note etc. There are some considerations : 1. Make report to protect kena claimed against. If e other party likes prata and turn around to say his ride kena hit by yr bro, den prepare for headache. 2. Dun report and repair out frm own pocket. Taken as a painful and expensive lesson for yr bro to knw wat shd b done *touch wood* when hit or kena hit. Nt many gentlemen drivers but we are fortunate to knw lots here. Hopefully, with e experience, yr bro will also b more alert and drive defensively. Sometimes, accidents are accidents so dun b too hard on him. Guess u were hoping to find a legitimate reason to explain e non-compliance of 24 hrs time frame. E greater concern is e turn-around frm e other party. Keep fingers crossed tat no stunts pulled. Shd it happen, e truth is yr best bet......and whilst it may nt save u headaches or loss of NCD etc then, another bo ji liar is exposed. Safe ride and hope this matter will not cause u further anixety. Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 my bro first time owning car & invloved in an accident. He never call for assistence & agreed to the other party without signing any prove, even taking the photo. He also don't understand why the repair cost was $600+, as he do agree that the demage only minor. The other party now refuse to pay at all, so will it be too late for him to report & make 3rd party claim now? (more than 5 days) for me, I will just report it & pay from my own pocket. No chance to get $$ from the other car liao.. take this as learning lesson. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 my bro first time owning car & invloved in an accident. He never call for assistence & agreed to the other party without signing any prove, even taking the photo. He also don't understand why the repair cost was $600+, as he do agree that the demage only minor. The other party now refuse to pay at all, so will it be too late for him to report & make 3rd party claim now? (more than 5 days) for me, I will just report it & pay from my own pocket. Actually reporting to tr own insurer save guard yr interest in case they counter claim u. Yr brother needs to have details of the other party. Else almost zero chance of claiming him. No photo, no driving licence detail, no ic details, just have car licencw plate number n contact... that's plain stupid.. the other driver simply says he is never involved in accident, n he happen to be there so yr bro anyhow quote his car to claim.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 3, 2012 Share February 3, 2012 Photos, name, ic, car plate, are evidence... when i was a first time driver getting involved in first accident, i also dun know what to do.. but i at least call a friend who knows what to do n get advice.. luckily yr bro didn't hit the other car.. else without all these evidence to protect himself, n without reporting to own insurer, he may be claimed thousands or tens of thousands n he has to pay himself. Count himself lucky.. learn from this accident n move on.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear February 3, 2012 Author Share February 3, 2012 Hi bro, tks for the advise. I have told my bro just pay from his own pocket & take it easy. Owning a car here, there will alway be risk & cost invloved. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...