Pisces69 6th Gear February 11, 2013 Share February 11, 2013 Rain X, Anco and Bosch windshield wiper blades are very reliable. Use MicroEdge Bosch blades which are made for snow and ice conditions. These are spring tension wipers that feature a special rubber for extreme weather. You can also use Bosch ICON wipers and Valeo wiper blades in rainy season. These are made with dual rubber and are considered extremely long lasting and provide best performance in the rainy season. Wiper blades are needed to clear off any water from rainy weather and snow during the winter time. Always clean your wiper blades when you just go to use your car. To extend the life of your wiper blades is to apply some car wax to the windshield and when the wax dries wipe it off good. Apply the car wax to the windshield at least once a month or when you wash your car. These are just regular car maintenance and should be done if or when you wash your car. Applying wax in liquid form or in wash n wax shampoos to windscreen wil make yr wipers judder like crazy. During rainy season it wil drive u crazy n guaranteed to make u mad in a month. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 11, 2013 Share February 11, 2013 i thot wiper only can last six months or less? can last for so long one meh? Rubber wipers like NWB i change every year at start of rainy season. Cheap silicon wipers i buy in jb i change after 3 years or more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JX83 3rd Gear February 11, 2013 Share February 11, 2013 I use Rain-X and experiece juddering before so dont really like that product.. i use soft99 glaco those apply-on type before not bad better than rain-x at least never experience juddering and if park under hot sun for long period of time is better to lift up the wiper, it's to prolong the wiper.. Windscreen will clean with those car glass cleaner and wipe with newspaper.. Usually when I wash my car I will wipe my wiper too with wet tissue lift it to dry then I put down.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear February 11, 2013 Share February 11, 2013 I think it is very important to lift up the visor and shake away any small sand or dust accumulated on the viper once in a while. This is to avoid the viper blade being "sandpapered" when operated when you need it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cartrek Neutral Newbie February 11, 2013 Share February 11, 2013 try USA made brand made by Unellco Corp, distributor Sopus products in a 207ml bottle. I'm sure other brands are just as good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Georgelee Neutral Newbie February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 can you use a extra fine sandpaper and buff the wiper blades? anyone tried before? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 Try PIAA wipers (VERNA)..... can be found in Autobacs. They are really solid.... my previous set last me for 3 years, under hot sun parking condition almost everyday.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear February 13, 2013 Share February 13, 2013 Since we're at the topic of wipers, I noticed that my wiper leaves a trail of water each time I use it during rainy weather. Is this a sign that I need to change the wiper? I'm concerned because it gives me a very blur view during rainy weather and this can be dangerous/ I dunno how best to describe the "leaves a trail of water" effect... its as if the windscreen is stained with oil and even after the wipers go thru, the entire screen looks murky and dirty... PS: my windscreen is free from chemicals like rain X, etc Thanks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear March 25, 2013 Share March 25, 2013 can you use a extra fine sandpaper and buff the wiper blades? anyone tried before? That's what wiper wizard is, i previously posted. 1 side is less smooth, the other side is very smooth sandpaper. I apply over my wipers which starts to cause water lines on my windwscreen, it works. My experience is cheap wipers will stutter easily, esp,. when parked under sun. Get those wiper lifters will help too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 25, 2013 Share March 25, 2013 A lot of people don't realize that windshield wipers maintenance required. If you are living in a hot area, then your windshield wipers are more likely to be hard and dry by the heat. This makes them less useful for brushing away the rain. You sure its not the other way round, as in colder temperature making the rubber harder? At least its true for Summer Tire compund. Its a general tire info that under 7 deg c, the rubber compund started to become harder, & get worst with lower temperature. Under a certain low temperature below freezing, it is rumored (this I cannot confirm) that a irresversiable cystalisation will take place, & will be permanantly hard. I suppose its the same with all rubber. but the saying that the heat could dry the rubber & make it harder is an interesting thought. Maybe its true...hmmm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VinceBr Neutral Newbie May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 can you use a extra fine sandpaper and buff the wiper blades? anyone tried before? I have also heard about the fine sandpaper method for old wiper blades but haven't done that yet. I keep the car covered most of the time and wash the blades weekly with a mild shampoo solution. I always keep them clean and do not let dust and grime accumulate on them. Other maintenance procedures by be are done through automotix.net/autorepair/diy/ which has tips and techniques to keep the car in ship shape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 15, 2013 Share May 15, 2013 (edited) They sell those wiper blade sander...its a double graded sandpaper like...on one side is a rougher grade and the other side is less rougher grade. For me...I will run the rough grade thru the wiper 2 -3 passes...then flip the grader to the lesser side and repeat same process. (but you can do this all the while cos the blade will thin out after a while) After that...just run the blade thru water to rinse it. I will dry it and use concentrated wiper fluid to coat the blade...let it dry before return it to the glass. This is not to stretch the life of the wipers...just to max performance from them... I dun buy those expensive blades...just normal blades from Bosch or NWB...those $10+ per blade kind...and change yearly. Usually when the weather starts to turn wet...i will change the blades...like now no point...cos weather is so freaking hot...change new wiper wasted. Something like this... http://list.qoo10.sg/item/MAGIC-WIPER-POLI...INDER/405673646 Edited May 15, 2013 by Ghostrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthx123 Neutral Newbie May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 (edited) nid to buy the sander to sand the wipers might as well buy another wiper set to keep Edited May 16, 2013 by Darthx123 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 16, 2013 Share May 16, 2013 Its up to the individual...the sander helps to max performance of the wiper inbetween replacements. I had the sander for quite sometime already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tracksiao Neutral Newbie June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 Its up to the individual...the sander helps to max performance of the wiper inbetween replacements. I had the sander for quite sometime already. where to buy sander? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 where to buy sander? I bought at Autobac...dunno still have or not...long time back. You can also get from Gmarket...I think the link is in this thread somewhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W1ck3d Clutched June 3, 2013 Share June 3, 2013 How do you sand the wiper? Just side to side or outside direction from the thick to the thin side? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 4, 2013 Share June 4, 2013 How do you sand the wiper? Just side to side or outside direction from the thick to the thin side? Just run the sander along the wiper blade. There is 2 grade on the sander...you run the rougher side along the blade a few time and then use the smoother grade to run along it to smooth it. A bit like pedicure lah...take rough nail files to file...then smooth file to finish it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...