Poker Neutral Newbie April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 (edited) Refer to the 1st two lorries' way of turning within the 1st twenty seconds. Don't really know the exact term, but by steering slightly left before making a U-turn, the car turns better and saves you from the kerb (or some face, when you have to engage the reverse gear), especially in those tight U-turns. Almost got hit by another car that was doing the above-mentioned a few weeks back as the driver was rushing to beat a blinking arrow while i was waiting to move straight. Can't really remember my BTT/FTT stuff years back regarding U-turns. but i recall that my instructor mentioned sth about keeping to the most right lane and changing slowly, lane by lane to the left (which i thought was quite strange).. years on, I realized that theory never really came into practice as the car will understeer all the way to the outermost left lane during U-turns (or maybe it's just my driving) Is there a "correct" way to U-turn? Not the correct way but quite an exciting way to take a U-turn Edited April 16, 2012 by Poker ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Catch no ball. Anyway, my experience with U-turning is, keep car in the middle of the lane is best. Keeping too much to the left or eating slightly to the lane on your left do nothing to "improve" your U-turn. In fact, sometimes you also cannot execute a clean one-off U-turn attempt with this method. It has more to do with (i) when you execute your steering (ii) how much you turn your steering at different points during your U-turn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 u dont know we have the dumbest drivers around? Corrolla takes 2 lane with small kerb but some can hog 5 lanes to clear U-Turn. Sometimes I really wan to pull them over, you dont even know what is your turning radius? You turn & drive like a lorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 (edited) i think he is trying to ask if before u do a U-Turn, do you move ur car forward out a bit to left before turning right so u can have better turning radius? I try to stick to the edge of my lane, as far from the kerb on the right, before i turn. normally wont overshot my car front to the next lane. Edited April 16, 2012 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 no. never. i really wonder why a lot of driver think their car is so long. either do left turn then u-turn or simply occupy two lanes when do u-turn. some even u-turn to a three lane road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 I think this is more of a position shift than weight shift. Weight doesn't seem to have anything to do with whether the car can clear the opposite direction kerb or not. I think there is nothing wrong with doing this maneuver, but I don't think it is appropriate to suddenly shift left right before the u-turn. It may give the driver on the left lane a shock if he is travelling closely to the other driver executing the u-turn. What I usually do when executing a u-turn should the car have a wide turning circle is to stay on that u-turn lane, but keep more to the left of the lane for a more gradual execution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 i think he is trying to ask if before u do a U-Turn, do you move ur car forward out a bit to left before turning right so u can have better turning radius? I try to stick to the edge of my lane, as far from the kerb on the right, before i turn. normally wont overshot my car front to the next lane. But some people swerve to the left too much and do not watch traffic behind them as if they drive 18-wheelers... *sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 My ride need to slightly keep left to another lane to make u-turn on those tight lane otherwise sure cannot pass thru'.of course must look out for left lane vehicle b4 doing this lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMryanlim Neutral Newbie April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Every car has different turning radius.. The less radius the easier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 these jokers trying to do scandinavian flick>? cannot then reverse abit lor. the move to the left eat into others lane stunt has resulted in several accidents which i have witnessed. of course i was glad to be witness against the clown who pulled such a stunt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 mine needs 2.5 to 3 lanes to do a u turn. usually if traffic heavy i just do a few right turns at the junction ahead. not much time wasted too. a little consideration for all other road users goes a long way. we r supposed to be 1st world country right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Refer to the 1st two lorries' way of turning within the 1st twenty seconds. These two lorries were making an "illegal U-turn" and then driving against the direction of traffic [on the shoulder lane] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Refer to the 1st two lorries' way of turning within the 1st twenty seconds. Don't really know the exact term, but by steering slightly left before making a U-turn, the car turns better and saves you from the kerb (or some face, when you have to engage the reverse gear), especially in those tight U-turns. Almost got hit by another car that was doing the above-mentioned a few weeks back as the driver was rushing to beat a blinking arrow while i was waiting to move straight. Can't really remember my BTT/FTT stuff years back regarding U-turns. but i recall that my instructor mentioned sth about keeping to the most right lane and changing slowly, lane by lane to the left (which i thought was quite strange).. years on, I realized that theory never really came into practice as the car will understeer all the way to the outermost left lane during U-turns (or maybe it's just my driving) Is there a "correct" way to U-turn? Not the correct way but quite an exciting way to take a U-turn you might need to learn how to turn your steering wheel faster when you do U-turn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poker Neutral Newbie April 16, 2012 Author Share April 16, 2012 ahha I wasn't commenting abt the illegal u-turn. rather, it was the way they turned to illustrate my point. some drivers, do a quick left-right at junctions (so as to get a better turning radius) this may be rather risky as I have personally witnessed an errant driver who turned at a junction in such a manner,almost hitting my car in the process! imagine if he really did and drove off scot-free ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poker Neutral Newbie April 16, 2012 Author Share April 16, 2012 haha I turn slowly to overcome this prob nowadays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Refer to the 1st two lorries' way of turning within the 1st twenty seconds. Don't really know the exact term, but by steering slightly left before making a U-turn, the car turns better and saves you from the kerb (or some face, when you have to engage the reverse gear), especially in those tight U-turns. Almost got hit by another car that was doing the above-mentioned a few weeks back as the driver was rushing to beat a blinking arrow while i was waiting to move straight. Can't really remember my BTT/FTT stuff years back regarding U-turns. but i recall that my instructor mentioned sth about keeping to the most right lane and changing slowly, lane by lane to the left (which i thought was quite strange).. years on, I realized that theory never really came into practice as the car will understeer all the way to the outermost left lane during U-turns (or maybe it's just my driving) Is there a "correct" way to U-turn? Not the correct way but quite an exciting way to take a U-turn No harm attend some refresher driving lessons Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 No harm attend some refresher driving lessons will using smaller wheels/tyres help make U-turns tighter? or change to 18" steering wheel ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 our car can do u turn in less than 2.5 or 3 lanes meh? regardless of steering, wheels or how fast or slow u turn? perhaps we are forced to execute handbrake turn at every opportunity? thats the only way i see we can turn in 2 lanes without reversing or eating into others lane. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...