IU inspection

Valentino

Kanna letter from LTA asking me to go inspect my iu unit as suspected faulty. Didnt deduct $ at one of the erp gantry.

My Problem is, my tinting is quite dark.

Am thinking will the inspector at the inspection centre kaypoh and catch me for dark tints as well?

Or will they simply inspect the iu only?

Anyone with experience can advise?

Kanna letter from LTA asking me to go inspect my iu unit as suspected faulty. Didnt deduct $ at one of the erp gantry.

Am thinking will the inspector at the inspection centre kaypoh and catch me for dark tints as well?

Bro, how many days after the incident you kena letter?

My case was Monday when my inserted card got beep but no amt shown. Pulled out and re-inserted got error.

3rd day checked online kena summon and appealed online. Till today no letter or reply yet.

Car due for inspection and 5 yrs old soon....if IU spoilt warranty only 5 yrs.....hope to change if IU is faulty... [sweatdrop]

is this your first time kena non-deduction from your IU? If yes, can appeal to excuse the inspection. But if kena again, got to go liao.

From what I heard depends on the person there. Sometimes might get summon for the dark tint as well.

My case was Monday when my inserted card got beep but no amt shown. Pulled out and re-inserted got error.

3rd day checked online kena summon and appealed online. Till today no letter or reply yet.

Car due for inspection and 5 yrs old soon....if IU spoilt warranty only 5 yrs.....hope to change if IU is faulty... [sweatdrop]

have your check if it is your cashcard problem? cashcard got expiry date also.

is this your first time kena non-deduction from your IU? If yes, can appeal to excuse the inspection. But if kena again, got to go liao.

It's my first time for this non-deduction thingy, already appealed on LTA website but yet to receive any reply except their standard auto-reply e-mail.

have your check if it is your cashcard problem? cashcard got expiry date also.

No leh, my cashcard though it's the old type but expires in Sep this year.

It's my first time for this non-deduction thingy, already appealed on LTA website but yet to receive any reply except their standard auto-reply e-mail.

i suggest you give LTA a call. dont just wait for their reply. it will take donkey years. try to speak to a officer. Get his name and make sure they reply you. And also remember to get his or her DID number. This kind of summon better dont play play. Can lead to legal issue for just $10 admin fee and gantry fee. Not worth it.

On the side, how much does it cost to change the IU if faulty? FOC since LTA/HDB need it for our national contribution?

IU is a 100 plus i think. I remember its 5 year warranty. within warranty period u still covered.

And now new IU, u can get those with 2 line display (shows amt deducted and the balance during deduction and can use EZ link card.

I dun think it is the fault of the tinted film. If not, all the cashcard carparks will not let u enter & leave w/o using the manual inserting method, n u will issue a letter everytime u pass thru the ERP gantry when it is operating.

I believe it could be the cashcard problem. I always encounter the same problem as u. Normally I will take out & re-insert my cashcard a few times until the IU can read it, else, it's time to change cardcash.

i suggest to TS. If you worry abt not deducting ERP money. You can take up motorpay. Its another option to save hassle. This is good if you always go through ERP. But again its just a suggestion.

Think about a week after i got the letter. Registered mail somemore.

U kena before? I hope can appeal to waive not going for the inspection.

Waste of time and run risk of kena catch for dark tints too....

From what I heard depends on the person there. Sometimes might get summon for the dark tint as well.

[sweatdrop] Hopefully dun get a sibei ON inspector.....

i suggest to TS. If you worry abt not deducting ERP money. You can take up motorpay. Its another option to save hassle. This is good if you always go through ERP. But again its just a suggestion.

Actually, all other deduction by erp are ok so far. Never have other problem. So actually i am not worried about non deduction...

I am more worried about having to tear up my dark tints .... [:p] Will cost money to take out and redo it...

Firstly if you appeal on the summon given to you due to IU faulty, they will ask you to go there for an inspection of your IU.

If check that IU's faulty, they will waive the fine and repair or replace another one ( Only if it's under warrantey, 5 years )

If your IU is exceeding the 5 years, you need to pay something like $158 to replace one.

Secondly, the inspection of IU doesn't bother your tinting, they will just inspect what they were told.......

My 2 cents worth!

i suggest you give LTA a call. dont just wait for their reply. it will take donkey years. try to speak to a officer. Get his name and make sure they reply you. And also remember to get his or her DID number. This kind of summon better dont play play. Can lead to legal issue for just $10 admin fee and gantry fee. Not worth it.

No need. He already submit appeal, why must chase LTA?

It's up to LTA to follow up.

Anyway from my own experience, LTA takes a month to process appeals.