LTA to explore easing tight COE supply

Fsn3576

Will COE crash low soon?

If every single one out there thinks it will, IT WILL

Personally I dun see the flaw. Taxis and private are cars that travel on Sinapore roads. It is reasonanle to be part of COE what.

are u combining reasonable and rational into one word?

just like stu-piak! [thumbsup]

i just don't understand why the government must have COE system?

the government solutions are always very immature and childish.

how to solve the problem on rising food price, dun eat lor, hdb too expensive, dun buy lor. these are some of the very childish answers i remember only used in primary school where the teachers ask why is the train old and i replied because its not new, then i got detention.

even in the army, some very retarded solutions, for example, there was this lift in my camp, where only some people can use, we low rank one cannot use, i asked CO why? he say too many people use will spoil the lift easily, i gave him a WTF face and left...

if the solution to a problem contradicts the reason why there was a problem in the first place, then its not even a solution !

why do we buy cars? not because its cheap, or because your neighbor has one etc, we buy because we need that mode of transport. so when its crowded on the road, please do not act like a retarded child and tell us not to drive? that is ironic and contradictory.

when Singapore land too little, imagine if the garment said, reduce the number of houses to solve the house crowding issue? seems retarded right, just think out of the box, and we solved it by building smaller homes, more importantly, if you cannot build it left right like in USA, you go up, that's how we have high rise accommodation which even foreigners are jealous.

so please, instead of restricting cars which is super contradictory of why are roads built, please use common sense and build better roads, better traffic light systems, widening lanes, increase lanes, more expressway, more alternative roads. if you reach another problem like where got space to build more roads, then please think more creative solutions, if not why your salary so high. i thought PM lee say the high salary for ministers is to encourage geniuses in the workforce?

i just don't understand why the government must have COE system?

the government solutions are always very immature and childish.

how to solve the problem on rising food price, dun eat lor, hdb too expensive, dun buy lor. these are some of the very childish answers i remember only used in primary school where the teachers ask why is the train old and i replied because its not new, then i got detention.

even in the army, some very retarded solutions, for example, there was this lift in my camp, where only some people can use, we low rank one cannot use, i asked CO why? he say too many people use will spoil the lift easily, i gave him a WTF face and left...

if the solution to a problem contradicts the reason why there was a problem in the first place, then its not even a solution !

why do we buy cars? not because its cheap, or because your neighbor has one etc, we buy because we need that mode of transport. so when its crowded on the road, please do not act like a retarded child and tell us not to drive? that is ironic and contradictory.

when Singapore land too little, imagine if the garment said, reduce the number of houses to solve the house crowding issue? seems retarded right, just think out of the box, and we solved it by building smaller homes, more importantly, if you cannot build it left right like in USA, you go up, that's how we have high rise accommodation which even foreigners are jealous.

so please, instead of restricting cars which is super contradictory of why are roads built, please use common sense and build better roads, better traffic light systems, widening lanes, increase lanes, more expressway, more alternative roads. if you reach another problem like where got space to build more roads, then please think more creative solutions, if not why your salary so high. i thought PM lee say the high salary for ministers is to encourage geniuses in the workforce?

Quite lengthy essay and certain parts of your reasoning doesn t make alot of sense. Think the logic just doesn t link up well.

Anyway I disagree on the point that cars are a need. I believe cars are mostly wants than needs to most people. Passed by some landed houses in serangoon the other day, all the houses had multiple cars. 3-4 each house. Do they all need 3-4 cars each? No. This is what happens when cars became too cheap a few years back. Father, mother son, daughther all buy cars. I m doing sales, I take MRT, than take taxi, or take taxi directly to client s place. Even mothers with kids I see them wake up early in the morning fetch children via MRT to school. It can be done. What is a need? Need is when maybe aged parents suffer stroke, cannot walk, than I think its a need to have a car to bring parents out, go around, hospital etc. But still you do not need 3-4 cars for that purpose.

I think the solutions have to work both ways. Restricting the number of cars and improving the transport network. There s only so far can we improve the transpport network. There are physical limitations for our country. Want cheap cars for a long time? Think Bangkok, think Jakarta. Thats what you get. Large land area, cheap cars, but still congestion, because everyone can own a car easily. You get stuck in traffic jams 2-3 hours a day. I don t like expensive cars either, I probably want to get a car in a few years time, but I think its probably better that cars don t stay too cheap, or too easily attainable, else we ll have serious congestion problems on the road.

so whats wrong with congestion?

if you have to take 2 hours to get to orchard rd by car vs 1 hr by train, which do you think you will be more likely to take?

the solution isn't to simply limit cars on the roads, the real solution is to widen roads and build tunnels or remove speed cameras or increasing the speed limits, public road courtesy education and improve public transport

there are many solutions to a single problem and COE is the simplest of all solutions that is why our overpaid ministers have chosen it

Edited by Expertz

so please, instead of restricting cars which is super contradictory of why are roads built, please use common sense

a few months back a brilliant idea was suggested to improve the parking situation in the CBD

the idea called to reduce the number of car parks :)

+1

If COE is tweaked for fairer play, the biggest looser will be this con-man garment.

Geee...does this reminds me of wage-reform that they now resist.

2016 is awfully a long time to wait.

on the contrary, the govt will stand to benefit

there is a demand for COEs that is why the price is now so high

back in 08 when there was no demand, COEs dropped to $2 even

if they released more COEs then, how much more $$ will they bring in?

but if they released more COEs now, what would the profit be?

do you really think that prices would come down? don't forget on average every year we import over 100k foreigners; if just 1% of these foreigners decide to buy cars every year it would mean we will need to give 1k COEs to foreigners every year just to keep up with the demand

1k COE = 1 month's cat a bidding

Soon or later..we will like Tokyo...multi fly over with two lanes...

I think best ,..is COE + Car park..got COE no car park(both workplace and residential)..can not own car...

car park must like COE like that..bid to win...

so whats wrong with congestion?

if you have to take 2 hours to get to orchard rd by car vs 1 hr by train, which do you think you will be more likely to take?

the solution isn't to simply limit cars on the roads, the real solution is to widen roads and build tunnels or remove speed cameras or increasing the speed limits, public road courtesy education and improve public transport

there are many solutions to a single problem and COE is the simplest of all solutions that is why our overpaid ministers have chosen it

I actually advocate for the words in bold.

Time for erp to increase.. Lui respond, machiam make public happy.. Then more cars, more jam.. Implement more erp.. More revenue for 900mil mrt overhaul.. Just a lame conspiracy theory

[/quote

zz

Edited by I-LOVE-CARS

anyw weekend showroom is as crowded as zouk at 9am. newspaper say one.

watch cat e, tats usu the indicators. huat ah! ^_^

Soon or later..we will like Tokyo...multi fly over with two lanes...

I think best ,..is COE + Car park..got COE no car park(both workplace and residential)..can not own car...

car park must like COE like that..bid to win...

i like tokyo's roads.

Bro,

We cannot build better roads, wider lanes nor better traffic systems.

It would take a million dollar genius to build more condos and hdbs with 99year lease. It makes better sense. No, wait! Build more ERPs! That should make better kaching. Save space.

Lol.. (-_-)V

Quite lengthy essay and certain parts of your reasoning doesn t make alot of sense. Think the logic just doesn t link up well.

Anyway I disagree on the point that cars are a need. I believe cars are mostly wants than needs to most people. Passed by some landed houses in serangoon the other day, all the houses had multiple cars. 3-4 each house. Do they all need 3-4 cars each? No. This is what happens when cars became too cheap a few years back. Father, mother son, daughther all buy cars. I m doing sales, I take MRT, than take taxi, or take taxi directly to client s place. Even mothers with kids I see them wake up early in the morning fetch children via MRT to school. It can be done. What is a need? Need is when maybe aged parents suffer stroke, cannot walk, than I think its a need to have a car to bring parents out, go around, hospital etc. But still you do not need 3-4 cars for that purpose.

in the eyes of any car owners, the car is ALWAYS a need. for you, the need might be old people, for some, its their profession, for others, its just fashion. buying a car because its cheap does not exist, there is always a proper need. your time might be worth maybe a few cents a minute, but for those in landed homes, their time is worth much more, some in the dollar per second range, saving those minutes for their next business meeting is the very reason why they can afford those expensive cars in the first place.

lets think of this scenario, i own 10 cars at home but i am the only driver. i pay 10 COEs, 10 road tax, but i can only ever drive 1 car at any one time. my contribution to congestion, public parking is 1 no matter what. is COE fair to me? since COE is suppose to reduce car congestion, why must i pay 10 COE when i contribute the same level of congestion to a person who pays 1 COE ???

is the COE and road tax scheme fair to a person who drives more than 1 car?

like i said before, restricting cars is a ironic contradictory retarded solution to the congestion problem. you might as well say, to destroy cancer cells, its simple, just kill the host... [hur]

cars are just a reflection of growth, if a country wants growth, prepare for it well, don't ask for it but not prepare for it.

The ownership and usage of cars can never be a need. Driving is a privilege, not a right. Something acquired by way of privilege can never be a 'need.

whether its a privilege or not got anything to do with cars being a need?

is taxi driver driving a need then?

whether its a privilege or not got anything to do with cars being a need?

is taxi driver driving a need then?

Absolutely. As i succintly explained, something acquired by way of privilege can never amount to a need.

The taxi driver drives not out of necessity but by choice.

Absolutely. As i succintly explained, something acquired by way of privilege can never amount to a need.

The taxi driver drives not out of necessity but by choice.

Taxi driver drives a taxi because it is his job. It is neither a need nor a want, but it can also be a need and no choice too.