LTA to explore easing tight COE supply

Fsn3576

1st Gear

Is there a day in MCF without a new COE thread?

Anyway, my 2cent, while the government have to take some blame, mainly with population explosion & road & transport not keeping up with population explosion, IMO, our own stubbornness, selfishness is the main reason for the congested roads, & high COEs.

1) If people can say, I will not buy car because I do not have elderly parents, handicap family members that need me to ferry them around, so people with these need can buy without big buerden due to COE.

2) If I will only drive when needed, the road will be less jam. Normal days, I can ride Public transport to work & back.

3) If I do not drive so close & cause knock someone backside, and I will not zip zap around traffic causing accident, the road will not be jammed for 2 hours...again. Leaving more gap & getting home 2-3 sec later wouldn't kill.

4) If I work in the city, I must not drive inside. I can P+R or carpool, or skid scooter to work & back.

If you go to most major 1st world cities, only a small number of people drive, & most people use other mode of transport within the city, when weather is bad, they change & adapt. No need KPKP government. I always prefer to take a train, or P+R (yes, its not a Singapore only concept), at the suburb & take train in.

But here in Singapore, most people do not have such thinking, they insist of having car, insist to drive everywhere with it, any other form of transport is not an option, then blame government why so much jam, & why car price so expensive.

More cars=more jams,

want less car=control COE (car price increase)

or people do their part by not driving when not needed. The latter you can forget it in our Singapore culture. Most people want others not to drive, so they will drive in smooth traffic. Few will not drive so others have smooth traffic.

We are the reason for a lot of our problems, just we do not wanted to admit. But we insist of blaming others, like Government for everything as it is the popular & easy things to do.

Calling other countries racist. but look at how fellow Singaporeans treat their maids, FWs & F&B service stuff, & how some fellow Singaporeans we act overseas.

Complain most food outlet is Foreigners, then look how some Singaporeans act as Vivas in Restaurants, you wanted to be in F&B? To many people, if their kids work as waiter or cleaners, they will feel paiseh, then how you expect filial sons & daughter of Singapore to be in F&B and service line.

I like this statement [thumbsup]

5th Gear

Minister ask whether can delay, LTA go "study"..

B4 they study oso i know the answer liao.

Knowing the answer is one thing, another thing is COE price sure come down in next 2 biddings. [rolleyes]

Perhaps LTA could come up with a system that distinguish new car buyers and existing car owners. For the latter group, buying a new car and scraping an old car don't affect the present car population at all. So why should the COE price prevent someone from changing from one car to another?

That's why the current system allows 1 for 1 recycle of the COE. Unfortunately, the group of people who buy new cars are usually not the same group who keep their cars to the 10th year.

I like this statement [thumbsup]

I think if most parents let their children take school bus instead of driving them to sch will solve a lot of traffic jam problem, traffic is always smooth during school holidays.

The govt sure can do that, if they want to.

But is that good for the populus? No.

That will also impact commerce, cost of doing business, workforce punctuality and our overall productivity - tardiness. No good yah.

We all don't want Singapore to be another Bangkok, Manila, Jarkata, KL, or Mumbai, do we?

The MoT has to continue reducing the number of COEs, to correct for past mistakes.

Car ownership should be made as painful as can be.

No pain, no gain!

Bangkok, Manila, Jakarta, KL or Mumbai has bad public transport system. We have much better transport system. Ppl can choose to BMW rather than drive. The way govt is doing now does not help to change ppl habit.

A lot of time, ppl don't think out of the box to commute. Take me for eg, from home to office is 5km.

Drive 20mins (up to car park only).

BMW 30mins (minimum time).

Cycle to work 20 - 25 mins (sitting @ my desk).

If one pays $20 for ERP everyday during rush hours, Saturday inclusive, but not Sunday and public holidays (52 Sundays plus 10+ public holidays), that's roughly 300 x $20 = $6000 or $60k over 10 years.

In all likelihood, an aggressive ERP (and $0 COE) will cost less to the car owner than buying a new car with $60k COE. But simple human psychology says that we can cope better with one deep cut than equivalent or lesser cuts on a daily basis, so it is politically unfeasible.

Ppl here is being spoil over time. Look @ HK & Tokyo. Which city is not expensive to use but cheap to buy?

That should be the correct approach.

Ppl here is being spoil over time. Look @ HK & Tokyo. Which city is not expensive to use but cheap to buy?

That should be the correct approach.

Like I said, our government has a lot of workable solution to modelled against from other countries, they just chose to use one that makes money.

Bangkok, Manila, Jakarta, KL or Mumbai has bad public transport system. We have much better transport system. Ppl can choose to BMW rather than drive. The way govt is doing now does not help to change ppl habit.

A lot of time, ppl don't think out of the box to commute. Take me for eg, from home to office is 5km.

Ask typical Singaporeans to walk or cycle! They will blame the hot weather for not doing so. [laugh]

To be fair, a lot of company do not have shower area (or hot shower, I for instant, cannot stand cold shower), so very hard to have to sweat when coming to work. I for one do not wanted to sit next to someone with sweaty smell.

Like I said many time, for a lot of solution to work, we must change our mindset, & also need national wide restructuring & promotion.

Many people complain no time to workout, but cycling or even walking (if you are overweight) are good form of exercise.

Ask typical Singaporeans to walk or cycle! They will blame the hot weather for not doing so. [laugh]

To be fair, a lot of company do not have shower area (or hot shower, I for instant, cannot stand cold shower), so very hard to have to sweat when coming to work. I for one do not wanted to sit next to someone with sweaty smell.

Like I said many time, for a lot of solution to work, we must change our mindset, & also need national wide restructuring & promotion.

Many people complain no time to workout, but cycling or even walking (if you are overweight) are good form of exercise.

For short distance (< 5km), no need shower facility lah. I wear working shirt to cycle & no one complain i smell bad in the office. Cubicles in my office are very close to 1 & another.

It is a matter of individual mindset change rather than waiting for policy change.

Depends on where you work. If in RP, fine.

But if you work in Jurong/Tuas, cycling is out.

You will be hit by those big trucks & lorries during rush hour in no time.

Already so many of them involved in accidents with each other, with cars and bikes every day!

BMW will be very stresssful. No MRT stations beyond Boon Lay. To get to the Tuas end, need to change buses. It gets worse when it rains.

Some of my friends who stay in the east complain that they take 2+ hours to get to work in Tuas - by bus-MRT-bus-bus! Leave the house after 7am and it can take 2.5 hours. Crazy isn't it?

Edited by Jolie888

1st Gear

I think if most parents let their children take school bus instead of driving them to sch will solve a lot of traffic jam problem, traffic is always smooth during school holidays.

Have you considered the possibility that school holidays is also the time when families can go abroad for holidays?

Agree with some that this flip-flopping is really irresponsible. Too much cars? Just cut COE supply. COE too high? Just release more COE. Surely this is not the way to implement policy. Come on Mr Lui, think harder how to improve the system. Not suka suka increase or decrease supply. It is really ridiculous the way COE prices are fluctuating by such a huge amount due to "somebody's mistake".

One flaw in the current system is that due to the high COE, those who wanted to change car are holding back. In theory, when the scrap their existing car, this COE will be recycle back into the system. Now that they are holding back, the COE goes higher, and they are holding back longer - it is a spiral effect.

Perhaps LTA could come up with a system that distinguish new car buyers and existing car owners. For the latter group, buying a new car and scraping an old car don't affect the present car population at all. So why should the COE price prevent someone from changing from one car to another? Also, why should a system that is supposed to control car population end up allowing some people to make money (eg. those who buy low, and sell when COE is high)? It just doesn't make sense.

Make sense.

Existing owner scrap old car & buy new car wont increase car population at all.

How about new car owner?

Maybe can ask them to buy second-hand car from market & scrap it since we have so many old cars sleeping in car dealer garage.

With this 'scrap' certificate to proof that u export one car out,so can buy ur dream car thur this one to one exchange.

Can this control car population? <_<

It will be a correct move to remove COE entirely & flood the road with loads of car. Got $$ also cannot drive. Then ppl LL has to BMW.

Alternatively, every gantry during peak hr should be charge $10 for private car.

MHO, ppl juz think out of the box to get to work w/o relying on their car.

ya, some will go JB to pump....

some even further by bribing pump attendant so can pump 95.

This happen to not just the poor but the rich too.

Ever helped a guy to get his conti car (heard he paid full cash), gave him my best advice, be an a-----e in the showroom so that he could got the best deal.

When I know him better, he always go up north for "95" ....

ya, some will go JB to pump....

some even further by bribing pump attendant so can pump 95.

This happen to not just the poor but the rich too.

Ever helped a guy to get his conti car (heard he paid full cash), gave him my best advice, be an a-----e in the showroom so that he could got the best deal.

When I know him better, he always go up north for "95" ....

his conti can take bolehland "95" :blink: ??

if up north got 94, he will be glad to try.

tell him to try diesel [sly]