LTA to explore easing tight COE supply

Fsn3576

Local men pay taxes and contribute to economy too.. why are they punished and made to do NS.

Welcome to the real world, where citizens of each countries are entitled priviledges while foreigners suffer. BTW, I absolutely hate people using the phrase PR contribute and also pay taxes, hence they shuould be entitled this and that.

I just came back from Japan for holiday and spend money and paid taxes. Should I be entitled to their social benefits then?

Should that tourist from Russia who paid GST when he purchased that camera in Sim Lim Sq be given social benefits like HDB? If you could answer this, you anwer your own question as well.

Local men pay taxes and contribute to economy too.. why are they punished and made to do NS.

Welcome to the real world, where citizens of each countries are entitled priviledges while foreigners suffer. BTW, I absolutely hate people using the phrase PR contribute and also pay taxes, hence they shuould be entitled this and that.

I just came back from Japan for holiday and spend money and paid taxes. Should I be entitled to their social benefits then?

punished to do NS?

then why are we girls forced to go into labor? is it fair for us? should we demand equality so that men have to born half a child while women born the other half then the doctor will somehow join the 2 parts together?

you have to do NS because you are a man and you have to defend singapore. this should not be part of the discussion. either you do your NS or our govt money goes into hiring people like you to do NS.

you do get benefits to be a citizen and part of the trade off is that you have to serve NS

ok assuming that your idea gets implemented, then how are we going to overcharge foreigners who buy 2nd hand cars?

like what i said,

a subaru legacy costs 170k brand new, it is going for 80k after 2 years, that is a 90k savings!

if that legacy costs 110k brand new, after 2 years it would go for maybe 60 or 70k. cheaper no doubt but the savings would only be at best 50k

here's the legacy for you

brand new @ 168k:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=10765

dec 09 @ 92k current gen model:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...544&DL=2296

so what? a local buys a brand new car and pays 170k only to sell the car 2 years later at 80k for a foreigner to take advantage of? how would that be fair?

also your idea would make foreigners think twice about coming to sg and we need foreigners. i'm not talking about your chinaman rubbish cleaner, i'm talking about your nuclear scientist who might come over if our govt decides we need a nuclear plant in sg

Edited by Expertz

I pity those who just bought this year if Mr Lui really does implement.

SINGAPORE - The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has been tasked by the Government to look into the feasibilty of easing the tight supply of certificates of entitlement (COE).

Minister for Transport Lui Tuck Yew said he asked LTA to possibly delay plans of implementing the 0.5 per cent growth cap, from the current 1.5 per cent rate, initially scheduled to begin in August.

Saying he understood motorists' concerns of rising COE prices, he added that LTA will also explore the possibility of defer the adjustments of a COE oversupply in the previous year.

LTA is expected to complete its study and deliver a decision by the end of the month.

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...504-343893.html

LTA is expected to complete its study and deliver a decision by the end of the month.

Simple answer from LTA lah... "no can do, Sir"... please leh... once implement, go through it fully lah...

Just discussing this topic itself should lead to a COE drop. That's how market sentiment works.

next COE itself might show some drop.

Just discussing this topic itself should lead to a COE drop. That's how market sentiment works.

next COE itself might show some drop.

I think so too. The possibility of the cut is enough to get ppl to wait for the drop before buying the car. Once this news spreads in the next week. Showroom will be quiet.

anyway i feel whichever measures they adopt...might lead to a later 'recovery' of the market..

1st Gear

When the minister says so, then for sure LTA will do so. Although LTA's main role is to milk the cash cow, they have to heed the minister who has political and economic considerations.

The anticipation of lesser COE cuts alone is expected to dampen demand a bit, until the quota is announced.

1st Gear

anyway i feel whichever measures they adopt...might lead to a later 'recovery' of the market..

It really depends. The market has been to 10k region COE before. Maybe the sweet spot would be 20 - 30k Cat A, 30 - 40k Cat B.

Anything more it's kind of crazy, and add fuel to the inflation that we have been experiencing.

My suggestion would be remove taxi bidding from cat A. Get a separate category for it, then it wouldn't drive up the prices so much. Secondly, government should not set a limit of how many taxi a company have. Also, instead of encouraging more taxi drivers or new taxi drivers, they should regulate it. Increase salary for bus driver etc to entice lowly educated Singaporean to drive bus, instead of hiring PRC. Who say Singapore can't run like Korea, depend on their own people for survival?

I do agree with PM, finance minister what not, but we definitely do not need PRC in service industry. Look at USA, how many young punks or those without high qualification works for McDonald? Wipe table also a profession. We definitely don't need PRC to do that. Talk about Yellow ribbon, yet we discriminate them. We should hire this people to service the industry instead of depending on foreign worker who bring cash out of Singapore. Yes, they do appear like slaves in our country working, but once they leave and no replacement for the workforce, are we saying we got nobody to wipe table or no bus plying the road?

It is all about how we utilizing our resources instead of just look at the situation and say, outsource. A typical term use in our civil service, that is outsource, everything outsource we don't need so many civil servants since we can outsource.

is this the reason why the sales rep sms me last nite and tell me to go down this weekend as prices will be cut by 3-5k?

This type of thinking is similar to what nearly demolished S Korea's economy 20 years ago. There was a huge wave of resentment by the Koreans on all things foreign, be it foreign cars, electronics, etc. There was even open demonstrations where foreign made cars were deliberately damaged in front of TV cameras. Foreign made cars were target of vandals everwhere. Luckily some logical thinking leaders warned them that could create a backlash of Korean products or Korean cars in other countries as well. Everyone kept quiet after that. At that time, Korea was a net exporter (maybe they still are today)

Remember, there are Singaporean FT or PRs in many other countries around the world. Anyone knows what is the ratio of a PR in Singapore vs a Singaporean PR/FT in another country? 25 years ago during the peak of migration out of Singapore by Singaporean, my professor told me it was like 1 to 1 (zero net growth in population). Not sure what is the ratio now. At that time the PM (senior) had to shed tears on TV to plead people not to migrate.

Who are we to say the motive of Singaporean FT/PR in other countries are any different and they do not bring in enourmous wealth back to Singapore as well?

True and agreeable, we can't stop the citizens of other countries to have the same thought too when we ourselves have such thoughts. But think again, is the PR treatment the same everywhere? What are the main differences between Singaporean and PR here? So far other then NS and voting rights plus the recent change in medical subsidy, I can't see much significant difference. My PR friend ever questioned me why convert to pink ic when the blue free you from so much troublesome stuff especially CPF withdrawal? Is this such the case oversea for PRs in other countries?

Looking back at things as a Singaporean, I guess we pretty much screwed up in the arse. Keep complaining and comparing living standard of today with yesterday, living in a deluded world dreaming of an America dream where everyone wants to make it big the easy way, drive big car and live in big houses, prefer to have double income, no kids, travel the world, expecting to have social welfare when old...

The recommendation will be, it can be done, but ERP rates need to increase to offset the increased traffic.

Looking forward to it. [:)]

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...504-343893.html

Cheaper Cars? [thumbsup]

More Traffic Jams? [thumbsdown]

which one do you prefer?

:ph34r:

I am wondering why they do not seems to know it is a problem they created. COE based on engine size but not applied to taxis. Commercial category not applied to taxis.

I believe the COE should be based on footprint size (many people will be driving toy cars) [laugh]