LTA to explore easing tight COE supply

Fsn3576

Lui is beginning to show that he is quite irresponsible.

More COEs? Gosh!!!!! Instead of admitting failure of the policy, he now panders to gain political brownie points.

All these while the MIW claims to be forward and far-ahead in thinking and planning, unafraid to make hard painful decisions, everything done for the good of the nation. And now this?

Guess it all a lie. :mellow:

Somehow we seems to recruit and promote only such calibre

He is caught between a rock and a hard place...damn if he reduces COE quota..damn if he doesnt..so..quite difficult..

I guess what he didnt count on was for SMRT to have betrayed him..by providing not so steady commuter services...now he run out of ammunition to convince singaporeans to take BMW..and he kena forced with his back to the wall.. no choice 背水一战 [laugh]

You mean he do not really understand his job?

Personally I dun see the flaw. Taxis and private are cars that travel on Sinapore roads. It is reasonanle to be part of COE what.

Then why SBS/SMRT buses no need COE since they also prowl the roads.

How about MID vehicles?

Any why put taxis in Cat A instead of Cat B when most of them are purchased are of higher CC. Why didn't LTA consider them under CAT E or a seperate category?

Unless they can come out with good reasons, I can only think of the financial reasons as the ultimate base decision.

Why COE? Why ERP? Why road tax? Can a system be created to track the distance travelled by GPS (only in Singapore) and charge a fee on per km basis? e.g. If one drives 2000km per month, let him pay say $500 per month (2000km x 25cents). Play with the cents/km to control traffic. If necessary then introduce ERP. This will make many people happy. Everybody can own a car and the more you use the more you pay.

Many people walking/ccycling around instead? [laugh]

The poor will prefer cheap COE for affordibilty.

The rich will prefer expensive COE for smooth traffic.

Definitely can see the split in class from an answer

I beg to differ. Who would want COE to be part of the equation?

Increases your loan + depreciation.

COE can be must better allocated without the current financial bidding method, it's only whether the government wants to do it or not.

Our government modelled many law and practises from developed countries, similarly, we saw other countries trying to learn from our good educational materials and system.

So after so many years of COE, which other countries in the world also implement COE???? Is COE even right in the first place in the eyes of other government.

Remove COE, let the road and car park filled up. When drivers realised they are better off not driving with frustrations of no parking space at CBD or their home, no more land to build car parks, naturally car population will self regulate.

Focus on building a robust and effective public transport system.

SINGAPORE: More Certificates of Entitlement (COEs) may be made available to motorists in the coming months.

Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew said he has tasked the Land Transport Authority to look into delaying initial plans to cut the vehicle growth rate to 0.5 per cent from the current 1.5 per cent by August.

Speaking at the sidelines of an event on Friday morning, Mr Lui said he understands motorists' concerns of rising COE prices.

That is why he has asked the LTA to study if there is flexibility in the plans to cut vehicle growth rate to 0.5 per cent.

"Knowing that in the second half of 2013, into 2014, and so on, the number of COEs that will be available because of the deregistration of cars reaching the 10-year cycle and so on, will be significantly higher than what it is today," said Mr Lui.

"So I've asked LTA to consider two things very carefully, whether we can exercise some flexibility moving from 1.5 per cent to 0.5 per cent and whether we can defer the adjustments on the over-provision of COEs that we have done in 2008 and 2009."

LTA is expected to complete its study by the end of the month.

- CNA/cc

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1199229/1/.html

Shifting the blame? Shouldn't he as the transport minister be the one deciding the shift in quota?

Does he mean some big shots at LTA can happily decide on the quota on his own? If so, we can jolly remove him as the transport minister. Some other people can definitely do a better job than him.

But whatever the case, MBT laid the curse for this portfolio, maybe that for MND as well. The mess he created, I doubt any of them can clear it up without very taking drastic actions.

These people must be real unlucky to take on this post and clearing his sxxt.

If LTA even out the number of COE regardless of the actual number of cars scrapped over a 10-year period, the annual number of COE shall amount to about 60,000 even if the growth rate is set to zero.

Comparing this with the current COE allocation of 30,000 this year and assuming the demand remains unchanged, it is clear where the direction of the COE prices will be.

Actually based on his suggestions it seems like he is asking to delay the onset of the cut. Eventually it will be still 0.5%. Maybe he want to change car in August

Our government modelled many law and practises from developed countries, similarly, we saw other countries trying to learn from our good educational materials and system.

So after so many years of COE, which other countries in the world also implement COE???? Is COE even right in the first place in the eyes of other government.

Remove COE, let the road and car park filled up. When drivers realised they are better off not driving with frustrations of no parking space at CBD or their home, no more land to build car parks, naturally car population will self regulate.

Focus on building a robust and effective public transport system.

COE may be a right policy to control vehicle population, but the logic behind it is flawed.

LTA controls the monthly quota = vehicle population is controlled.

But by using financial controls to secure a COE is flawed, when it's almost treated like a commodity. With it, it deters many others a fair chance from owning a vehicle and further opens the gap between the rich and poor. Businesses are also affected, which ultimately affects the consumers, whether he owns a car a not. I'm sure the scholar policy makers sitting on top can definitely come out with a non financial solutions in distributing the COEs.

Our public transport system had also failed us badly. If you let me choose, I still vote for the transport system back in the 80s to mid 90s. The trains are less crowded and comes at more reliable intervals at 3-4 minutes at non-peak periods. Maybe SMRT wasn't privatised then. What we can say is the gov agencies are not talking to each other or even coordinating at all. ICA opens the floodgates, MND and LTA cannot cope with the rush of these people coming in. It simply causes problems everywhere. They don't even bother to control the flow. To solve this problem, it probably takes another decade or more.

If cars are so expensive that I cannot afford, how does less traffic on the road benefits me?

Eh why you so self-centered and ego-centric hah?

High COE/car price, less traffic, to benefit the car owners lor!

If you can't afford, one day, then too bad lor, LL BMW.

Rules are made not to benefit you lah. It's for the 60.1%!

Govt must take care of the majority hor.

1st Gear

COE quota in itself is already controlling vehicle growth, whether it is by bidding, balloting, queue, draw straws, scissors paper stones, the number of vehicle growth is still curbed due to quota.

All they need to do is to tweak the way people get/buy/bid/finance their COE. No need to release more COEs.

Thay can also tweak population quota. Singaporeans are already doing their part by reducing birthrate to an all time low, less people born less cars needed. Time for MIW to reduce foreign imports too. [laugh]

Edited by Wson

Minister ask whether can delay, LTA go "study"..

B4 they study oso i know the answer liao.

Yes and the answer after the study is: we will have no choice but to continue to cut COE quota, since our roads are bursting to the seams and we cannot take positive growth any more. Must cut back, further reduce COEs released.

Singapore's land size is finite. There are only so many new roads and expressways that can be built.

Vehicular growth cannot be allowed to correspond to population growth to 6.5m.

Something has to give.

COE bidding will continue to be subject to open market supply & demand.

But COE quota release will have to come down, to correct for the error that was made in the early part of the last decade.

COE quota in itself is already controlling vehicle growth, whether it is by bidding, balloting, queue, draw straws, scissors paper stones, the number of vehicle growth is still curbed due to quota.

All they need to do is to tweak the way people get/buy/bid/finance their COE. No need to release more COEs.

Thay can also tweak population quota. Singaporeans are already doing their part by reducing birthrate to an all time low, less people born less cars needed. Time for MIW to reduce foreign imports too. [laugh]

But it is still allowed to grow at (now) +1.5% p.a.

That should not even be allowed to happen.

LTA must target for NEGATIVE growth Y-O-Y.

Then and then, the daily jams can be cleared!

1st Gear

But it is still allowed to grow at (now) +1.5% p.a.

That should not even be allowed to happen.

LTA must target for NEGATIVE growth Y-O-Y.

Then and then, the daily jams can be cleared!

0.5-1.5% still ok lah, at the same time they are building some new expressways right? If they stop buidling roads, then i support your negative growth idea too.

Get a bad feeling this is going to bad. Coz one of the ways to go about doing it is to shorten the lifespan of the coe to say 5years or 7years. At this rate ppl will scrap their cars earlier and more coe can be released back to the system. If prices of 5year coe is at 30k-40k range it is more affordable to most but overall still expensive to own and still can discourage ppl to buy and control car population.