Is life generally better after GE2011?

Bullterrier

without knowing your background i can most certainly tell you my household income will exceed yours.

if anything you are more entrapped in the sandwiched class than i am

You don't know what you don't know.

QUOTE (Jolie888 @ May 8 2012, 12:04 PM)

I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP.

Even in the 90's life was still relatively good for Singaporeans.

- low inflation rate

- low unemployment

- less congested roads, no jams.

- no COE/ERP in the 70-80's. WHO CAME UP WITH THIS??

- low cost of cars, HDB, private property and basic necessities ... food. AGAIN WHOOOOOOO

- low FT count, by numbers WHOOOOOO

- many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars)

- more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!)

- even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.)

But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on!

Perhaps we should go back to a 100% PAP govt by GE2016?

Food for thought to the 39.9%!

Yes I also want to know like the other bro in this forum who implemented these policies. Enlighten all of us pleaseeeeeeeeee.........

Hi jollie 888 please still waiting for your reply .. Win us over ...

Why spend time explaining to someone who thinks he is the smartest plick in the world?

But then again he is creating some excitement in MCF which lately is getting boring...

Now where is my popcorn and coke?

You are late. I am having it all to myself.

You still got sabbie to bring you some enjoyment.....I mean excitement. [:p]

again, no one is blaming govt for what we can't achieve. we are looking for better governance, to lay the infrastructure so that all classes will benefit, in their own way.

That's bordering on Lenin's theory ain't it?

Or are you advocating for a welfare state?

Neither will work here lah!

he is a good example of why your definition of mediocre is wrong and should not be used to judge the capability of a leader

he might be foreign but his country faces a problem that ours will eventually. we are not china, we are the germany of asia. it is only a matter of time when we will face the problems japan and the eurozone are facing and we don't have a central bank or a federal reserve to bail us out.

if you can't see the path we are heading towards, i doubt you know how to judge your leaders effectively

wow very well said

he is a good example of why your definition of mediocre is wrong and should not be used to judge the capability of a leader

he might be foreign but his country faces a problem that ours will eventually. we are not china, we are the germany of asia. it is only a matter of time when we will face the problems japan and the eurozone are facing and we don't have a central bank or a federal reserve to bail us out.

if you can't see the path we are heading towards, i doubt you know how to judge your leaders effectively

wow very well said

User:Vsion/Ngiam Tong Dow - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Land Policy

Housing 85 per cent of the population in 900,000 flats is no mean achievement by the HDB. Few know that the cornerstone of our vast low-cost housing programmes is the Land Acquisition Act. The Act allows the State to acquire private land for public purpose at pre-development prices. Dr Goh asked me, then a young officer, to draft the Cabinet memorandum proposing that the compensation to be paid for land acquired exclude its potential value.

We saw no reason why landlords should benefit from public infrastructural investment in roads, drainage, sewerage, power and water pipelines, etc. We would pay only the market value of raw land before public development. Our policy discouraged land speculation. The development charge imposed for change of use falls within the same concept. In effect, the State creamed off about half the potential value.

Sadly, the clarity of thought shown by Dr Goh in pricing land was lacking in more recent years. Relying on the concept of opportunity cost, the Chief Valuer, at the behest of either the Ministry of National Development or the MTI (I am not sure which), valued land with Raffles Place land as the benchmark. The assumption is that every square metre of land in any part of Singapore has the potential to be Raffles Place.

Know we know why lowering land cost for building new HDB flats is tantamount to raiding the reserves...

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

Published on Apr 16, 2011

PAP

Lowering land cost is like dipping into reserves: Mah

By Jessica Cheam

LOWERING land cost as a way to reduce new Housing Board flat prices is tantamount to raiding Singapore's reserves, warned National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan on Saturday.

This is because all land is sold at prices set by the Chief Valuer, and the land sale proceeds go into the reserves.

That might happen very soon.

This ponzi thingy of "printing more money" is just driving every human being around the globe downhill and downslope.

It may come faster than we know that we are in for the tough times.

For the good of the country, take care of the next generation. Take good care of them and educate them to the fullest of their potential, to be ready gor the onslaught of globalization!

Ask not what the govt can do for you!

More COEs to make cars cheaper? [laugh]

Selfish ego-centrics!

may i ask what is your opinion on

1. Ministers multi-million dollar salary

2. TH and GIC losts in their investment

thanks

you have a very interesting perspective

No diff even though hammer won over my GRC, however do notice the tissue paper outside my corridoor been laying round for 1+ week.

Think I will clear it myself tmr.

Why spend time explaining to someone who thinks he is the smartest plick in the world?

But then again he is creating some excitement in MCF which lately is getting boring...

btw what is a plick

if cannot spell properly dont spell

c--t or cunnot

In 1973,

a 4 room flat (92 sq m) is $15.5K

a plate of chicken rice is 70 cents.

a fresh poly grad pay is $400 pm

a fresh univeristy graduate pay $800 pm

a minister pay is 3-4k pm, about 40K per year.

In 2012

same flat is $300K. (19x)

chicken rice $3.00 (4x)

salary of fresh poly grad $1.4 to $1.8K pm (4.5x)

salary of fresh university graduate $2800-$3600 (4.5X)

minister pay say $1 m per year (25x)

Rightfully minister pay should be no more than $200,000 per year ($40,000 x 4.5)

As we can see, life of a minister is still great despite a 37% salary cut, their rate of salary increment over 40 years (25x) has even outpaced 2012 HDB new flats inflated prices (19x).

The same can't be said for wage earners.

Pre 2006 HDB down payment 20%

Now down payment 10%.

For all you know next time HDB down payment 5%.

1970s mortgage 15 years, single income to service

1980s mortgage 20 years, single income to service

1990s mortgage 30 years, single income to service

2000s mortgage 30 years, dual income to service

2010s mortgage 35 years, dual income to service

As if stagnant wages, increase HDB flat prices not challenging enough, CPF contribution ceiling/cap has been cut/reduced when HDB new flat prices are the highest.

In 1992, CPF contribution was 40% capped at $6000.

HDB prices in 1992

4rm 70k

5rm 110k

EM 160k

Now CPF contribution 36% capped at $5000

HDB prices in 2012

4rm 300k

5rm 380k

EC 750k

Price of housing increased by almost 4 times.

Yet CPF contribution has been reduced by 25%.

Edited by Without_a_car

Ok guys, I had my fun here.

Thanks for the sparring session.

I am outta here. Bye.

Too free lah.

I did not say what I mean and did not mean what

I say. Cheers!

I'm now having "peanuts" & Carlsberg, nee yao poo yao ? I very happy to sponsor and share [cool]

You are not living decently and comfortably now, or you think, when you do retire?

You're awfully pessimistic aren't you?

Have more faith lah. Look at the countries around us!

If you only believe that your children are able and can do it, they will.

Have more faith and hope in them!

Money no enough, plenty of scholarships available - both govt & non-govt, provided that your child makes the cut! But why have a dooms day attitude?

We did well for the last 47 years, producing the best in us for at least 2 generations!

Why even doubt now?

everyone believe they can, everyone will be billionaires. [laugh]

we don't want to compare countries with lower taste, we should compare with countries which are better than us in order for us to improve and move forward in a positive manner. agree?

even if we are smart, we aren't certain that our kids will also be as smart as us. what we can do is to try our best and to provide whatever we can for them. the quote "We believe" doesn't exist in dictionary and will not make any change if we believe. [laugh]

a worker did well for 10 over years and it doesn't mean that he/she will continue to do well for the next years to come. :D

your imagination is really creative.

anyway, whether who is a billionaire and who is a beggar or rather sandwich class that you mentioned.

let's go to the point and be honest to yourself. yes, my stand point is still clear and firm. SG is in crisis. :D

singapore-elderly.jpg

5EC5DAF1FFE04EA62F9785693B768.jpg

they don't have proper meal, they do not have pension scheme but our leaders do have.

they need our voices, the younger generation, to help them.

whether it can work or not, we should at least try. -_-

Ok guys, I had my fun here.

Thanks for the sparring session.

I am outta here. Bye.

Too free lah.

I did not say what I mean and did not mean what

I say. Cheers!

No, must thank you for giving me the chance to put all the numbers and articles in this thread.

You are late. I am having it all to myself.

You still got sabbie to bring you some enjoyment.....I mean excitement. [:p]

Sabbie is getting coy and more obedient and not fun after a few clones lost the saltines...

MCF needs villains like these to add some wicked humor...

now where is my hokkaido jaga pukkuru

No diff even though hammer won over my GRC, however do notice the tissue paper outside my corridoor been laying round for 1+ week.

Think I will clear it myself tmr.

this happens everywhere la. in my ward, Tanjong Pagar GRC, headed by the almighty and the PM-to-be, rats and loads of rubbish near the lifts are a frequent sight at the block which I stay...