Enough of these anti-PRC nonsense, you think so?

AhJason

3rd Gear

I have already seen the classified amended projections.

The 2012 numbers (wherever you got that from) just won't materialize by end-year.

So let me guess...

is that another "take my word" statement

for that "I am in the know"

which also can not be verified.

[sweatdrop]

"(wherever you got that from)"

Man, you really are either in the know OR don't see that

you dont provide info to back up your claim

but respond to verified info as "(wherever you got that from)".

[hur]

Sorry can't.

Just have to wait for the official announcements to come.

You are just not in the know, that's all.

3rd Gear

No, I think it is you who is not up to date.

That projected increase will not happen.

It is being curtailed right now, even as we speak.

No announcements made yet.

The 6.5M target will not happen - at least for now.

There is no media proof of what I have said, yes.

You just have to take my word for it.

Singapore Department of Statistics shows that the numbers of new immigrants range from 17-20k (which includes PRs by the way)

per year from 2005-2010

NTPD released an occassional paper recommending 25K of new citizens (which excludes PRs by the way).

There is increase

But of course, you are "the" man "in the know", and all verfied information here "will not/has not taken place".

[rolleyes]

Singapore Department of Statistics shows that the numbers of new immigrants range from 17-20k (which includes PRs by the way)

per year from 2005-2010

NTPD released an occassional paper recommending 25K of new citizens (which excludes PRs by the way).

There is increase

But of course, you are "the" man "in the know", and all verfied information here "will not/has not taken place".

[rolleyes]

If you'd just shut up and wait, you will get to hear the official amendments soon.

At least by end-Q3 this year.

Patience.

3rd Gear

Sorry can't.

Just have to wait for the official announcements to come.

You are just not in the know, that's all.

Excuse me, then I think you can do us all a favor by not posting then.

Strange way to making your point be reppeating "you are not in the know".

Excuse me, then I think you can do us all a favor by not posting then.

Strange way to making your point be reppeating "you are not in the know".

Its just that YOU are not in the know!

per year from 2005-2010

There is increase

[rolleyes]

that number consists of new citizens and PRs only

what about those on social passes, employment passes and student passes?

there is a total of 5.2 million people in Singapore, of which 3.2m is Singaporeans and 500k is PRs

so what makes up the rest?

yes, the ones on passes are on temp basis, but the masses coming in are in terms of hundreds of thousands per year

that's why there is an unofficial stat that there is about 1m PRC in Singapore (PRs and those on all sorts of passes)... rest is made up of Indians, Pinoys, etc

so do you still believe in the official figures now?

Difficult to count, but I saw plenty china people everywhere, everyday. Foodcourt, shopping areas, mrt, bustops , even in NTU etc.

It also appeared that they come in groups, they mixec with their own friends, have their own community, I think it's very difficult for us to blend in (supposedly to be the other way round)

I dun trust the official figure, I trusted my own eyes.

Sorry, need to interject for Jolie888.

Yes, I think they are already.

Why do you think LHL created his FB account?

He has put his ears on the ground.

The govt is listening.

They will respond accordingly.

You will get to see/hear amended policies in due course.

LHL, needs a facebook account to understand the problem? wow, so for the past few years in politics he never had a girp on the ground? i guess with this logic, he deserves more for actually doing his job. i suggest to reinstate his pay when his facebook account gets 100k likes.

the gov is not listening, they are just worried we let other wolves in to the parliment. If the best and brightest in singapore thinks we need more FT for the benifit of singapore, i say fine do the right thing, argue your points clear and the people will listen.

When GIC made profits, did you say anything?

I suppose even losing money is a talent in our country. Not anyone can lose so much, so many, in such a short time.

I said in my first post, whatever the MIW do, there will always be cynics. The Ministers pay respects, cynics sneer at them. When Ministers don't pay respect, critics will say MIW unsympathetic. I really pity them. Sometimes I think it is better if MIW just continue to do what is wrong for long term future and don't get affected what netizens say.

You can be a better Minister lah. ^_^ 2016!

After Bo Xilai's fall, so much moneyed wealth from Chongqing looking for a safe haven. We must not let one Ferrari incident hampered the flow of RMB to Singapore. It's a tragic but necessary sacrifice for the greater good of Singapore, worthy of a minister paying respect...

Edited by AhJason

So who could stem the tide? [laugh] NSP? SPP? SDP?

I am sure PRCs are the largest number of foreign brides by percentage.

I doubt WP can stem the tide.

Vote PAP for more good years.

that number consists of new citizens and PRs only

what about those on social passes, employment passes and student passes?

there is a total of 5.2 million people in Singapore, of which 3.2m is Singaporeans and 500k is PRs

so what makes up the rest?

yes, the ones on passes are on temp basis, but the masses coming in are in terms of hundreds of thousands per year

that's why there is an unofficial stat that there is about 1m PRC in Singapore (PRs and those on all sorts of passes)... rest is made up of Indians, Pinoys, etc

so do you still believe in the official figures now?

You know for once i would love to know the actual figures in singapore.

Local and PR are always lumped together...

And what is the size of our working polulation.

My estimates is 2.8 singaporeans... with the 4:2:1 ratio. 4 grandparents 2 parents 1 child.

so the effictive working adults in singapore is only about half. 1.4m

Scb11980,

My exact thoughts were posted here:

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&amp...t&p=4424757

We all have benefitted in some, or more ways, over the last 45+ years, why must we condemn the govt irrationally? They have done very well, give them another 45 years and we will continue to achieve - with the citizens' trust and support.

Most of us received a good education, upbringing, dwelling units, enjoyed some of life's luxuries, seen SG grow from a 3rd world country rejected by Malaysia and now prospered to a 1st world equivalent, standing tall with the OECDs!

All this anarchy and anti-govt thingy is gonna set us all backward. Do the sandwiched middle class really think that an oppo-led SG govt can do wonders to turn things around, against rapid globalization? I think they will just sink us further and I fear for our future generations, IF that happens.

I don't think I'd entrust this country to the likes of em, and I am sure the 60.1% won't. Over our dead bodies.

All this whining gotta stop! Those entrapped have to improve their next generation. Give them the best education and academic opportunities, to be able to stand up and fight against the best of foreign talent. Ensure that your children can and will remain on top of the class demographics over the next generations.

Secure the best, to die-for jobs, live in the poshest part of Singapore, drive the most powerful luxury cars and continue to save for the next generations.

Then we get the FTs to serve us. We engage them, we decide their salaries. We can even look down on them, cos they won't have a bigger house, nor a faster car. Our birthrights and the rights of citizenship should be protected at all cost.

And I want us to work with the PAP govt to guarantee us, at least that right of citizenship.

I know we can and the govt will listen.

One of the better posts I have seen thus far, upz!

i sarkpork no more PRC trashing...lets live together happily....coz ATB jin ho jiak

Sibeh chow leh... Boh sway kar Chng one....

definitely not all PRCs are pests and make ppl hate them... fyi, my wife is PRC (a teacher here) and she herself hates those types of PRC

This is same said by some of the naturalization ex PRC folks.

Many I know has been living here Since 1990s.

Guess what, I witness one PRC-turn-Citizen flying little Crest&Stars flag at his work desk around National day and only to be ridiculed by another FT who is a PR.

I also know angmoh who always see Singapore through a tinted glass even after saying for over 30 years here.

While others has no trouble doing Singlish with you!

So I think this is up to individual.

can find better ones in educated PRCs (of cos there are pests too...), but difficult to find good ones in those uneducated ones...

That is a dangerous assumption.

It was this idea that of the difference that we see Socialism or Cultural revolution taking hold in early 20th China.

I agree xenophobia is taking hold not just because of this crazy immigration thingy.

But also the Internet and Social Media have many questionable allegations made just to incite the public reaction, regardless if those are true or not -

Remember the kidnapping rumor involving certain people ?