RSN Officer Tops US Naval Academy - First Foreigner To Do So

Vulcann

if its you to decide the next minister,

how do you based your selection criteria on ?

book-stupid

ah-beng looking

kena charged b4 for inappropriate exposure ???

None of the above.

Why so defensive? Are u a sign-on? LOL.

My ans is: None of your stated listing negative traits? Have you seen a good ex-military guy who is actually doing very well outside SAF? I dun see a BF in Goldman and the last I checked a BG was given the sack by the good people of Aljunied.

I love how you guys are already passing judgement on a young career officer who hasn't come back to earn his stripes yet!

Make no mistake, he will definitely be given plum assignments and opportunities to excel, but in the end he still has to perform. Despite what preferential treatment he might enjoy when he comes back to RSN, the fact remains that he topped the US Naval Academy cohort, a Navy that has continually been in armed conflict and which I am sure the syllabus is challenging enough for other countries to send their best there to learn from what is arguably the best/largest navy right now.

But i think the other naval officer cadet gets more exposure (pun intended) leh...........

what happened 2 days ago?

Edited by Mllcg

This young man is in the news for all the right reasons compared to his fellow naval officer in Australia two days ago.

LTA Sam Tan certainly does us proud to be the first foreigner to top the US Naval Academy, the navy equivalent of it's more famous sister service's elite USMA or Westpoint. [thumbsup]

Our future Chief of Navy or even cabinet minister perhaps? [nod]

He has done very well.

but plse lah. long way to go....

just becos of this, you so quickly give your vote of approval for this fella to be naval chief and even minister?

are your from civil service too?

[;)]

Edited by Throttle2

None of the above.

Why so defensive? Are u a sign-on? LOL.

My ans is: None of your stated listing negative traits? Have you seen a good ex-military guy who is actually doing very well outside SAF? I dun see a BF in Goldman and the last I checked a BG was given the sack by the good people of Aljunied.

Defensive due to ur "combatant" tone?? lol, better change ur

tone else kana sue..lol

He has done very well.

but plse lah. long way to go....

just becos of this, you so quickly give your vote of approval for this fella to be naval chief and even minister?

are your from civil service too?

[;)]

Well we all know how our elitist meritocratic system works don't we?

Folks of his calibre will be captured by a certain political party's radar screen since day 1.

With this prestigious honor, it is a foregone conclusion that his career path may not be normal henceforth....

No I am not "good" nor "compliant" enough to be in the civil service [;)]

Edited by Vulcann

Well we all know how our elitist meritocratic system works don't we?

Folks of his calibre will be captured by a certain political party's radar screen since day 1.

With this prestigious honor, it is a foregone conclusion that his career path may not be normal henceforth....

No I am not "good" nor "compliant" enough to be in the civil service [;)]

would you believe if i told you i am a naval officer? [laugh]

Yes, why not? [confused]

I am of the impression that many of the MCF bros with interesting nicks and funny avatars are not your average Joes from the way they put forth their points or argue their stand. The more I read about their posts the more reluctant I tend to open my big mouth nowadays though... [blush]

I won't be surprised at all if some of the elites we have problems with are amongst us, such as the J20-somethings or Rubber-materials...

[;)]

Yes, why not? [confused]

I am of the impression that many of the MCF bros with interesting nicks and funny avatars are not your average Joes from the way they put forth their points or argue their stand. The more I read about their posts the more reluctant I tend to open my big mouth nowadays though... [blush]

I won't be surprised at all if some of the elites we have problems with are amongst us, such as the J20-somethings or Rubber-materials...

[;)]

too much mcf , you