Babyt 4th Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 just need another siao lang to push someone on the escalator during peak hr to create a domino effect... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 A likely scenario: s--t hits the fan when someone fainted while climbing the stairs after escalator breaks down or apart. Victim sues SMRT. A COI will be formed to look into this. $$ will be spent on top lawyers to slug it out between escalator maintenance company and SMRT to see who should be responsible without discussing solutions. Head of Building Maintenance will resign and later blogs about it. Meanwhile stompers will be on the lookout for more SMRT shortcomings. Transport Minister can only facepalm and ask: "Why me?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 broken escalator also invite so many ppl to stand n look.... Poor smrt have no money to do proper maintenance.. It's time to raise the fares so smrt can get close to international standards. Pple look and see coz they know siao liao, fare hike again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 i honestly think some of the escalator in mrt are overloaded... i remember the last time i took mrt to raffles place at evening peak, i wait until the crowd slightly clear den i use the escalator, and when i was on it, i grab the reeling really tight..... i really scare the belts that are pulling the escalator upward juz snap and the steps juz go the reverse direction and causing everyone to fall.... iirc, it happened once at raffles place mrt few years back, but heng no causality... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 (edited) someone must have thrown a chicken bone that jam up the escalator No no no a chicken bone is too weak to cause such damage. I think its my 5ct coin I dropped there on June 15 night. Hope they found it in the wreckage and the coin still in 1 piece.. Edited June 19, 2012 by Tigerwoods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Nothing to worry, I'm sure there's some leftover cable ties to tie back the pieces.. this won't do... they need the "stronger" cable ties... not the normal one!!! can't recall who is the technician who feedback about the "stronger" cable ties!!!! lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 how do we define overloaded escalator? they sld be built to accomodate 2 ppl per platform when in max capacity. i dont see why having full capacity is considered overloaded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 someone must have thrown a chicken bone that jam up the escalator that chicken must be a record breaker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia0042 2nd Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 MIC (made in china) + lack of maintenance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
West_end Neutral Newbie June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Concur with you... always hold onto the handrail when taking the escalator. Observed many times that commuters with baby on stroller, would get onto the escalator without holding the handrail. Some carry their toddler with one arm and a bag with the other and their hands off the handrail. It is dreadful to imagine what would happen in a mishap. One should always use the lift in those situations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Poor smrt have no money to do proper maintenance.. It's time to raise the fares so smrt can get close to international standards. Pple look and see coz they know siao liao, fare hike again... No Fare adjustment this year lah By Rachel Chang Minister for Transport Lui Tuck Yew announced in Parliament on Wednesday that there will be no public transport fare adjustments this year. The current fare formula is due for review this year and implementation in 2013. While the review is ongoing, Mr Lui said that he did not think that a fare adjustment should be implemented, although the Government is aware that the public transport operators are facing higher costs. That means there will also be no change to concessions, Mr Lui said. He sympathises with polytechnic students who do not get the same public transport concessions as their peers in Junior Colleges, but this discrepancy will remain - at least for this year. He asked the seven MPs who advocated for polytechnic students to 'be patient'. In response to a question from MP Baey Yam Keng (Tampines GRC), Mr Lui said that the Public Transport Council (PTC) - the body that regulates fares - can require public transport operators to comply with a demand for concessions before it grants them a fare increase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Looks like nothing is well maintain and good in SMRT?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 how do we define overloaded escalator? they sld be built to accomodate 2 ppl per platform when in max capacity. i dont see why having full capacity is considered overloaded. Singaporeans are getting heavier in weight compared to 20 years ago when the escalator loads were calculated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 i mentioned before..this is what happened when the cheapest quotation is chosen during the bidding process Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 No no no a chicken bone is too weak to cause such damage. I think its my 5ct coin I dropped there on June 15 night. Hope they found it in the wreckage and the coin still in 1 piece.. how come you still carry 5 cent coins?.... should be EZ card Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Singaporeans are getting heavier in weight compared to 20 years ago when the escalator loads were calculated. and cable-ties dont last 20 years.... sooner or later they will break Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Tink bring back e old fashioned exercise machine is best....staircases. Then create bicycle "lines" on mrt tracks and ppl just ride to work....safe and no need kpkb abt fare hikes or breakdowns....I am just jesting....for a system that is at least 2 decades OLD, time to call in e repairmen or replace new equipment. E pic reminds me of popping floor tiles when too hot till no way to expand so pop lor. Safe ride and b very thankful our roads..*touch wood* not popping popcorns yet... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear June 19, 2012 Share June 19, 2012 Its normal ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...