Electric cars

Expertz

On 9/30/2025 at 4:30 PM, Koster said:

Yes, for me and my kid. Test drove tesla till my kid nearly puked. Then chose another marque not so bad. Initially me as driver I also feel dizzy, dunno whether cos it's due to panaromic glass roof which makes it too bright. Now I am all used to it already 

I think this electric car induced nauseousness is real. I personally have friends who will feel nauseous when the ride in EV/hybrid PHV rides.

Some say it's because of the one-pedal driving for most EV that cause it, but i don't think so because it's quite easy to transition from one pedal driving from an ICE car. I've been driving ICE cars for over 15 years and it took me just 2 or 3 days to master one pedal driving smoothly, so it shouldn't be that hard.

On 9/30/2025 at 4:39 PM, Gnahp said:

I think it is the lack of engine sound that we are so conditioned to associate it with speed

we need vision, sound, G force felt by body and the vestibular system in ears to establish the sense of speed

your brain got confused without the sound

like taking a quiet high speed elevator/lift of a skyscraper

came out that time also a bit gong gong

I think you've nailed it. This is the same sensory conflict that cause people get motion sickness on the sea.

On 9/30/2025 at 6:47 PM, Gnahp said:

I think some people are more prone to motion sickness

i.e. my wife

she cannot read for more than 10s when the car is moving, otherwise will have headache and whole day feeling unwell

every time take plane need to pop those motion sickness pill, otherwise lim peh need to gather as many puke bags as possible once boarded 

sometimes need to ask from passengers beside us

I can read book in bouncy coach/train/flight for hours without problem

I envy those people who can read and won't have motion sickness in a bouncy coach/train/flight. Wonder it is born with such capability or later can train for it de?

Like i mentioned before, i have motion sickness while riding on vehicles, esp if the vehicle is jerky. But i have no problem taking plane, but i still avoid sitting at the back of plane. However my motion sickness miracle gone during my army days. Even when go back for reservist also don't have motion sickness when ride in army vehicles. After MR liao, no more reservist, my motion sickness come back and like getting worst as aged. 😅

On 9/30/2025 at 7:22 PM, Koster said:

Yes during test drive for tesla. But in the end I got byd which my kid and I didnt feel as bad. Now sort of used to it already. 

Tesla due to one pedal driving, that's why can feel the motion sickness stronger than BYD?!

On 9/30/2025 at 8:41 PM, Rickster said:

I think this electric car induced nauseousness is real. I personally have friends who will feel nauseous when the ride in EV/hybrid PHV rides.

Some say it's because of the one-pedal driving for most EV that cause it, but i don't think so because it's quite easy to transition from one pedal driving from an ICE car. I've been driving ICE cars for over 15 years and it took me just 2 or 3 days to master one pedal driving smoothly, so it shouldn't be that hard.

Perhaps one pedal drive makes it worse ie my experience with tesla as compared to byd. Ya like what some say, could it be the lack of engine sound? But I always on the radio but there is still car sick experienced by my kid. So I dun really know. 

On 9/30/2025 at 7:23 PM, Koster said:

That tesla model i test drove cannot adjust regen. 

Now i know why BYD can become best selling EV, due to their EV can turn off regen. So people can easily transit from petrol to EV easier.

On 9/30/2025 at 7:59 PM, Lala81 said:

I'm bit prone to motion sickness. But everyone is bit different.

I can't do anything VR. The motion sickness will come on very fast. Vehicles still not too bad but the start-stop grab/taxis will feel bit unwell.
Even playing first person shooters games also will make me feel unwell.
My wife usually quite ok with all these, but take ferry to bintan. Almost certainly will vomit/near vomiting. I only feel slightly seasick, but nowhere as bad as her.

For taking ferry, i guess it is the unstable strong current that rock the ferry that make people vomit/unwell. I think if there is no strong wave, it should be ok. 

On 9/30/2025 at 8:51 PM, 13177 said:

Now i know why BYD can become best selling EV, due to their EV can turn off regen. So people can easily transit from petrol to EV easier.

In addition, their interior and controls are just like an ICE car, makes the transition easier for anyone coming from an ICE car.

On 9/30/2025 at 8:44 PM, 13177 said:

I envy those people who can read and won't have motion sickness in a bouncy coach/train/flight. Wonder it is born with such capability or later can train for it de?

Like i mentioned before, i have motion sickness while riding on vehicles, esp if the vehicle is jerky. But i have no problem taking plane, but i still avoid sitting at the back of plane. However my motion sickness miracle gone during my army days. Even when go back for reservist also don't have motion sickness when ride in army vehicles. After MR liao, no more reservist, my motion sickness come back and like getting worst as aged. 😅

it's not born for me

I used to get very jialat motion sickness when I was a kid, car, taxi, bus, funfair rides (theme park, amusement park, for those younger members)😁

up to around 9 years old, it suddenly gone overnight 

On 9/30/2025 at 8:33 PM, Gnahp said:

oh yes, some of my classmates can't even look at the screen when I played wolfenstein 3D during secondary school time

I can spin and spin all day without any problem😁

rFNBsd.gif

ironically, I suffered from vertigo twice

the whole world was spinning and the earth slanted and flipped, stim....

When i look at the above screen, i feel dizzy. [dizzy]

Do you know the reason why you had vertigo? Seems like it is common to tio vertigo at least once in your lifetime. I know quite a few people also had vertigo before.

On 9/30/2025 at 8:51 PM, 13177 said:

BYD cannot turn off but it's adjustable to reduce. 

On 9/30/2025 at 8:41 PM, Rickster said:

I think why electric car induced nauseousness, mainly should be due to how the driver step and release on the accelerator and how they brake. Since EV no engine, so the jerky feeling would feel even stronger as compared to petrol car, as EV move off light and fast. Even in petrol car also can feel jerky and induced nauseousness, but EV should feel more.

If the driver step on the accelerator feather light, and move off and stop slower, i don't think EV would induced nauseousness.

On 9/30/2025 at 8:59 PM, Koster said:

BYD cannot turn off but it's adjustable to reduce. 

Thought can choose the driving mode, and some driving mode don't have regan.

On 9/30/2025 at 8:56 PM, 13177 said:

When i look at the above screen, i feel dizzy. [dizzy]

Do you know the reason why you had vertigo? Seems like it is common to tio vertigo at least once in your lifetime. I know quite a few people also had vertigo before.

I found the cause that triggered it, now I know how to avoid it, last vertigo was more than 10 years ago

for me, it is triggered by rapid head movement when I am lying down

i.e. turning my head very fast, from one side to the other side, to check the alarm clock time while lying on the bed

now as long as I am lying down, I will keep my head movement VERY slow, like a sloth

even getting up from bed also doing in slow motion

9e66377f2a50f7354d06457d2e87a050.gif

On 9/30/2025 at 8:56 PM, Gnahp said:

it's not born for me

I used to get very jialat motion sickness when I was a kid, car, taxi, bus, funfair rides (theme park, amusement park, for those younger members)😁

up to around 9 years old, it suddenly gone overnight 

I wish my motion sickness will gone forever.

On 9/30/2025 at 9:02 PM, inlinesix said:

Tesla can reduce to low

Not for model 3 highland. This is the deal breaker for me.

Edited by Koster

On 9/30/2025 at 8:51 PM, Koster said:

Perhaps one pedal drive makes it worse ie my experience with tesla as compared to byd. Ya like what some say, could it be the lack of engine sound? But I always on the radio but there is still car sick experienced by my kid. So I dun really know. 

Looks like EV is not for everyone, whether as a driver or passenger?! Like that how to survive for people staying in China when all vehicles are EV?

And SG is pushing for EV. If the person cannot drive a EV, then how to change?!