Mrbms 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 TV is going... any recomm on the above? worthwhile or nt? how does it work? pay, pay and pay to get contents? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Balacam Neutral Newbie July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 (edited) There is a good guide here Smart tv buying essentials I have 2011 Panasonic smart tv but there aren't many apps. I only find youtube and facebook useable. There is no web browser. Maybe there have it in newer models. Samsung smart tv should be better. I think it has miotv and starhub app. Samsung smart tv You can also connect hdtv to apple tv. you can watch pptv, pps or funshion if you connect iphone/ipad to apple tv With XBMC on ipad, I think you can stream free movies if your home network is starhub. I can do it in office connected to starhub but at home with singtel, no. As for miotv, starhub or itunes, you need to pay for all the contents. Edited July 13, 2012 by Balacam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enrique Neutral Newbie July 18, 2012 Share July 18, 2012 Smart TVs works just like Smart Phones. betta get a Smart TV with web browser. otherwise the apps are limited. Samsung Smart TV does not have flash player while Sony has. Also check that the TV comes with built-in wifi. be careful of those advertised as wi-fi ready, as these may require u to buy a dongle for wi-fi connection. of cos u can connect ur internet direct to the TV thru ethernet inlet. also consider wat items u want to connect to the tv. this will determine how many HDMi and USBs ports u need. typical examples, Starhub HD hubstation, blu-ray player, and Sony PS3, then u'll need a Smart TV with at least 3 HDMI inputs. then since smart tv, u might need a wireless keyboard and mouse combo and it will take up 1 USB port. u might also want to check out which brand offers better picture quality. for this i suggest u check out the Best Denki outlet at IMM. They have a big wall with all the TVs mounted. u can see the contrast of the TVs betta. I can recommend Samsung ES6200 series 3D Smart TV. It's a midrange TV but the lowest range where built-in wifi is available. I just bought it and am happy with it haha!!! of cos after buying it, need to upgrade my Starhub hubstation to HD, upgrade DVD to 3D blu-ray player and also later I'm getting a AV Receiver with 3D support. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluethorn Neutral Newbie July 18, 2012 Share July 18, 2012 Soon, there is a new gadget called ippea tv to convert any hd tv to android ics tv. Cost is US50 only. The cheapest way to convert your tv to smart tv. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) TV is going... any recomm on the above? worthwhile or nt? how does it work? pay, pay and pay to get contents? I have an LG LED 3D SMART HDTV, along with an LG 3D Bluray player. I feel the 3D is worth it because it's good enough that I don't feel "special" at 3D showings at the Cinema anymore - in fact, the effect is almost the same and I'm more comfortable at home, so I prefer the home environment. The SMART TV function is not as useful to me. The DLNA (media) server works, but the media support is seriously lacking, with mkv (Matrovska) HD files simply not playing. The Bluray player is also a DLNA streamer, and it has support for a lot more filetypes. Plus it's less than $200. The Bluray player also has all the web and Youtube surfing functions, along with online radio and other stuff. If I had it to do over again, I'd get a very good non-SMART HDTV and a good media streaming box (or the same Bluray player). When I got the TV, there were glitches (jerkiness in response, TV switching itself off suddenly). They changed the TV to another unit under warranty within a few days, but the problem persisted. Turned out it was a software issue, and an update cured it. But basically, I was at the mercy of LG for a couple of weeks, worrying about it. Just highlighting to you the problems that come with all these fancy "smart" TVs. Edited July 19, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Question here: I have a NOT SMART TV but if I connect with my going to discard desk top PC(Graphic card with HDMI output), will it become so-call SMART TV?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Question here: I have a NOT SMART TV but if I connect with my going to discard desk top PC(Graphic card with HDMI output), will it become so-call SMART TV?? With the proper software installed, it can do the same as SMART TV. In fact, that was what geeks did in the days before SMART TV. But, usually the users will curse and swear at the setup, cos they are not so smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 I have an LG LED 3D SMART HDTV, along with an LG 3D Bluray player. I feel the 3D is worth it because it's good enough that I don't feel "special" at 3D showings at the Cinema anymore - in fact, the effect is almost the same and I'm more comfortable at home, so I prefer the home environment. The SMART TV function is not as useful to me. The DLNA (media) server works, but the media support is seriously lacking, with mkv (Matrovska) HD files simply not playing. The Bluray player is also a DLNA streamer, and it has support for a lot more filetypes. Plus it's less than $200. The Bluray player also has all the web and Youtube surfing functions, along with online radio and other stuff. If I had it to do over again, I'd get a very good non-SMART HDTV and a good media streaming box (or the same Bluray player). When I got the TV, there were glitches (jerkiness in response, TV switching itself off suddenly). They changed the TV to another unit under warranty within a few days, but the problem persisted. Turned out it was a software issue, and an update cured it. But basically, I was at the mercy of LG for a couple of weeks, worrying about it. Just highlighting to you the problems that come with all these fancy "smart" TVs. I got LG 3D Smart TV too. for their DLNA, its not very good cause limited by windows free DLNA. however, if you DL Plex, its very good with the LG Smart TV. that is what i use when streaming 720P disney cartoon for my children to see. (FYI i got those cartoon DVD. i just copy all over to the PC for easy DLNA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) I got LG 3D Smart TV too. for their DLNA, its not very good cause limited by windows free DLNA. however, if you DL Plex, its very good with the LG Smart TV. that is what i use when streaming 720P disney cartoon for my children to see. (FYI i got those cartoon DVD. i just copy all over to the PC for easy DLNA. I don't think it's the DLNA server (installed on PC), because I'm using Nero Media Home for both systems. But the Bluray player has no issues playing whatever I throw at it, whereas the TV gives up too easily. Edited July 19, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 My samsung smart tv dun have the web browsing function, sometimes i watch youtube or international news. BTW I connect tv to the wireless router via ethernet connection(the wireless dongle given free is not good in terms of receiving). I dun use a keyboard, I have a samsung tablet 10.1(downloaded the samsung app). Can remote control & type via tablet. I can also view pics stored in my tablet, listen to the music & watch movie downloaded from *ahem* sources. The no good thing about watching movie which is stored in my tablet and dan streamed to the smart tv is the audio quality. Video streaming even for HD movie is good. Anyway I have a 1TB WD media player which I download HD movies again from *ahem* sources from my desktop. So far I find that movies with DTS or digital sound have better sound quality. I'm still using an old home entertainment coz the new HDMI models so far dun have wireless rear speakers(my came with it coz I dun like wires all over). It's still usable coz I only use the optical input. From the media player to tv use HDMI cable, from media player to home entertainment use optical fibre cable. Anyway for DTS audio HDMI cannot pick up. Watch movie quite shiok. Bluray player that came free with the tv is collecting dust . My kid is still young my wife & myself can't always go to watch movie at the cinemas like in the past. This so far is the best option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 I'm using an ACRyan media player now but i sibei low tech, everything use USB transfer via portable HDD Network stream is quite troublesome although i know how to do it. When my new home comes, probably prefer a NAS streaming to my media player then just hook the media player to the tv directly. Samsung smart tv also cant handle mkv. Even Mkv coding sometimes differ after 1-2 yrs. At least media player got more frequent firmware updates. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 I'm using an ACRyan media player now but i sibei low tech, everything use USB transfer via portable HDD Network stream is quite troublesome although i know how to do it. When my new home comes, probably prefer a NAS streaming to my media player then just hook the media player to the tv directly. Samsung smart tv also cant handle mkv. Even Mkv coding sometimes differ after 1-2 yrs. At least media player got more frequent firmware updates. Yeah. Most media players can play .mkv w/o issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 My samsung smart tv dun have the web browsing function, sometimes i watch youtube or international news. BTW I connect tv to the wireless router via ethernet connection(the wireless dongle given free is not good in terms of receiving). I dun use a keyboard, I have a samsung tablet 10.1(downloaded the samsung app). Can remote control & type via tablet. I can also view pics stored in my tablet, listen to the music & watch movie downloaded from *ahem* sources. The no good thing about watching movie which is stored in my tablet and dan streamed to the smart tv is the audio quality. Video streaming even for HD movie is good. Anyway I have a 1TB WD media player which I download HD movies again from *ahem* sources from my desktop. So far I find that movies with DTS or digital sound have better sound quality. I'm still using an old home entertainment coz the new HDMI models so far dun have wireless rear speakers(my came with it coz I dun like wires all over). It's still usable coz I only use the optical input. From the media player to tv use HDMI cable, from media player to home entertainment use optical fibre cable. Anyway for DTS audio HDMI cannot pick up. Watch movie quite shiok. Bluray player that came free with the tv is collecting dust . My kid is still young my wife & myself can't always go to watch movie at the cinemas like in the past. This so far is the best option. can pm me the *ahem* sources? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 I don't think it's the DLNA server (installed on PC), because I'm using Nero Media Home for both systems. But the Bluray player has no issues playing whatever I throw at it, whereas the TV gives up too easily. yeah i face the same issue when playing High Volume movie. did a research and realise that its a issue between PC and TV. but solution was Plex. I think LG TV buffer cach isnt dispersing usless information fast enough. For Win PC, when i use DLNA, the quality of the film is lousy, however, when i use plex, the quality is good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) Yeah. Most media players can play .mkv w/o issues. Last time, my D-link DSM-350 had issues with mkv, so better check and test first. Edited July 19, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) Last time, my D-link DSM-350 had issues with mkv, so better check and test first. Usually an update of the software will solve it. I have a generation 1 WD media player I'm still using. Did an update can play w/o issue. So far I only use western digital, dunno about other brands. Can always check with cnet reviews on media players. Edited July 19, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 can pm me the *ahem* sources? Thanks No need lah. Just go learn how to use bit torrent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Hmmm, i have a marantz amp + 2 B&W bookshelves. I'm not that particular about sound. I may just hook these up and just use 2 speakers. 5.1 very shiok issit? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...