Smart TVs

Mrbms

No need lah. Just go learn how to use bit torrent.

okok.. i'm using bitlord... but the shows i wanted not very clear.. Thanks anyway.

Bittorrent is a protocol. There are many bittorrent clients out there (including BitLord), probably the most popular (for good reason) on Windows systems is utorrent.

You still need to find a good torrent search engine (torrent z.eu) (take out the space) is my favourite for public torrent trackers, but to avoid legal problems, it's best to try to get a membership on a private tracker. You should do more homework here, and wait for open signup periods (rare).

Getting "blurry" shows has to do with the quality of the files you're downloading. If you want hi quality, just go for shows marked 720p. Of course, filesizes will be a lot higher.

after reading all the replies

I realise that I am not smart enough to buy smart TVs [dizzy]

better stick with dumb ones just like my phone

Bittorrent is a protocol. There are many bittorrent clients out there (including BitLord), probably the most popular (for good reason) on Windows systems is utorrent.

You still need to find a good torrent search engine (torrent z.eu) (take out the space) is my favourite for public torrent trackers, but to avoid legal problems, it's best to try to get a membership on a private tracker. You should do more homework here, and wait for open signup periods (rare).

Getting "blurry" shows has to do with the quality of the files you're downloading. If you want hi quality, just go for shows marked 720p. Of course, filesizes will be a lot higher.

are u on any private tracker?

i just use utorrent. angmoh stuff all use isohunt.

Does such TV has child-lock? I want one which I can prevent my kids from watching... when they are not supposed to. :angry:

are u on any private tracker?

i just use utorrent. angmoh stuff all use isohunt.

Yes, but I prefer not to mention which one out in the open. You (and only you) are welcome to PM me if you like.

IMHO...Smart TV is waste current...

TV got no processor and hence surfing is rubbish...better get a normal TV without the Smart TV option and go Sim Lim Sq buy one of those new Android enabled media player...

But if the regular TV price is like SmartTV...ok lah...but to pay for Smart TV option is waste time.

I have tried to ask for demo at Best Denki...Courts etc...ask them to just play me a Youtube clip...all come out say...No internet lah...our broadband is slow lah... the actual truth is...lag like hell...

TV got no processor and hence surfing is rubbish...better get a normal TV without the Smart TV option and go Sim Lim Sq buy one of those new Android enabled media player...

But if the regular TV price is like SmartTV...ok lah...but to pay for Smart TV option is waste time.

I have tried to ask for demo at Best Denki...Courts etc...ask them to just play me a Youtube clip...all come out say...No internet lah...our broadband is slow lah... the actual truth is...lag like hell...

Well, if your internet connection is slow, it lags like hell. I'm using a non-SMART TV with a home theatre system that has the SMART functions, with fibre broadband, and streaming from youtube is a breeze. Before I upgraded, it lagged like hell.

Smart TV main purpose i find is for DLNA. because it save space.

Soon, there is a new gadget called ippea tv to convert any hd tv to android ics tv. Cost is US50 only. The cheapest way to convert your tv to smart tv.

Now this is interesting.

TV is going...

any recomm on the above?

worthwhile or nt?

how does it work? pay, pay and pay to get contents? [knife]

Save up your money.

Buy a normal good screen quality TV + Apple TV2 (then jailbreak).

Cheaper and better.

We bought a Sony about 9 months ago.

We were advised that a Logitech keyboard would work with the TV for internet browsing but it didn't even though we've tried a few different Logitech models.

I asked at a few places including Sony in Singapore and they all said the keyboard will work, but it didn't.

Then when in JB I asked at a few places including Sony there and all said no keyboard will work and I have to use either the channel changer or an G3 phone or summat.

Anyway the picture is very good, youtube no problem even off a 1mbps Hub Station and if you want to spend time surfing with the channel changer then even that's OK.

BTW it's 3 D as well.

Was it worth the dosh, well I'd say no.

very valid concerns. symptomatic of consumer markets where you have early adopters penalised by rampant market fragmentation. this can easily become a catch 22 situation.

I'm thinking of just building my own HTPC vs NAS streaming.

Well, if your internet connection is slow, it lags like hell. I'm using a non-SMART TV with a home theatre system that has the SMART functions, with fibre broadband, and streaming from youtube is a breeze. Before I upgraded, it lagged like hell.

No need fiber so power lah bro...I use those China made media box...using Starhub's Hubstation FOC 2MBPS internet...also can watch Youtube...load a while lah...less than 30 sec and after that it won't hang halfway for buffing...

I am sure using Fiber sure more power than the free 2mbps lor...

The money spend to buy a Smart TV...I get a PS3....also can do DLNA mah...but kinda waste time lah...all the devices must speak the same lang...hahahahaha....I use a Sony smartphone...works well...but when I use my Motorola...one duck and one chicken talking....