Sp4wn Turbocharged August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 u 3.8 LEH! You always overtaking riiiight~? ah ... fun to hold low gear ma ... like hotshot says ... must drive like GTR ma ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 (edited) ah ... fun to hold low gear ma ... like hotshot says ... must drive like GTR ma ... I'm most concerned about reliability (especially the gearbox). The maintenance is high, but I can tahan. If you can just reassure me of the reliability (and at least advise me of which model years to steer clear of), then I might take the plunge and trade in my Porker. (Just to be clear, I'm talking about the new R35 GTR, the only one I'm interested in). Edited August 13, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear August 13, 2012 Author Share August 13, 2012 I'm most concerned about reliability (especially the gearbox). The maintenance is high, but I can tahan. If you can just reassure me of the reliability (and at least advise me of which model years to steer clear of), then I might take the plunge and trade in my Porker. (Just to be clear, I'm talking about the new R35 GTR, the only one I'm interested in). Bro, which porker are you driving now? Are the old classics like: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...605&DL=1086 or http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...267&DL=1150 worth buying at all? I'm assuming the cost would be even heavier than the R34 Gtt lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 My full tank, before the light comes on, can net me 400km at least too, unless for that particular tank I am constantly on high boost playing along with idiotic drivers. Do you pump in JB? I dont normally pump in more than SGD$100 per week. Before low-fuel light comes on, i'm always at 400km (+/-). Unless a lot of 'heavy-footing' on S mode. I only pump Esso, 5000 Unleaded @ $100.00. Cos company says so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Bro, which porker are you driving now? Are the old classics like: http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...605&DL=1086 or http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...267&DL=1150 worth buying at all? I'm assuming the cost would be even heavier than the R34 Gtt lol. Hi, I'm driving a 996 C2 Cabriolet Tiptronic, year 2000. No major issues except with the soft top upholstery (not the mechanicals), which has been fixed. Recently, I had a problem with a power steering line, but that's a wear item, and it has also been fixed (just about 1000+ bucks, which is considered very, very reasonable for this marque). There are some really great Porsche shops you can patronise like Flat Six (run by Andy Tatlow, but Greg of Autostrasse now takes care of most routine jobs, while Andy just does restorations). Not cheap, but night and day compared to Stuttgart. The cars you linked are really quite old. I would be very careful about getting a thorough inspection (say with Flat Six or another specialist) before committing. And keep a lot of money aside for issues that may crop up. But when it comes down to it, buying one of these cars - be it a Porker or a Godzilla, logic and reason don't really factor a great deal into the decision making. Just go with your heart, not your head. Otherwise you'll always be driving a Toyota or maybe, a Mercedes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 can probably find la .. but since i bought my car frm tan chong and its under warranty - need to send to them. probably can get 10-20% cheaper if i go to mb motors or something. but you get the rough idea of costings so far .. not a cheap car to maintain. once you factor in insurance (3.7k) and monthly petrol ($500-600 per mth, 98 only) you can see that owning a skyline is not cheap (and i would assume the costs for an R34 would be even more exp since there may be a lack of parts...) but this car is cheap to buy. and its price:performance ratio is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 u 3.8 LEH! You always overtaking riiiight~? my WRX can fight u. 50L at 300km got light liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Hi, I'm driving a 996 C2 Cabriolet Tiptronic, year 2000. No major issues except with the soft top upholstery (not the mechanicals), which has been fixed. Recently, I had a problem with a power steering line, but that's a wear item, and it has also been fixed (just about 1000+ bucks, which is considered very, very reasonable for this marque). There are some really great Porsche shops you can patronise like Flat Six (run by Andy Tatlow, but Greg of Autostrasse now takes care of most routine jobs, while Andy just does restorations). Not cheap, but night and day compared to Stuttgart. The cars you linked are really quite old. I would be very careful about getting a thorough inspection (say with Flat Six or another specialist) before committing. And keep a lot of money aside for issues that may crop up. But when it comes down to it, buying one of these cars - be it a Porker or a Godzilla, logic and reason don't really factor a great deal into the decision making. Just go with your heart, not your head. Otherwise you'll always be driving a Toyota or maybe, a Mercedes. keep the porsche for daily drive. get teh GTR for highly spirited drives Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 keep the porsche for daily drive. get teh GTR for highly spirited drives I already got Vios for DD. Can have one wife and one mistress max. Can't have two mistresses, bro, sure got trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamamia Clutched August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Its not so much about RWD or AWD, there are good RWD cars like cayman or brz. its not like we have ice or snow in winter. But you are paying a premium in maintence for a poorer cousin of a legend. It can have a 1000hp, but it will still not be a Gtr. Also, can you tahan the 90s interior? I have not driven a Rex, but what I gather fron my Evo pals who used to own base rex(not Sti), there is a significant difference between the 2. Otherwise, dig a bit deeper for a BMW 335i. Bot sure the price for a used one these days. Mr YK, u are in here??? 335i? Give it a miss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamamia Clutched August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Hi, I'm driving a 996 C2 Cabriolet Tiptronic, year 2000. No major issues except with the soft top upholstery (not the mechanicals), which has been fixed. Recently, I had a problem with a power steering line, but that's a wear item, and it has also been fixed (just about 1000+ bucks, which is considered very, very reasonable for this marque). There are some really great Porsche shops you can patronise like Flat Six (run by Andy Tatlow, but Greg of Autostrasse now takes care of most routine jobs, while Andy just does restorations). Not cheap, but night and day compared to Stuttgart. The cars you linked are really quite old. I would be very careful about getting a thorough inspection (say with Flat Six or another specialist) before committing. And keep a lot of money aside for issues that may crop up. But when it comes down to it, buying one of these cars - be it a Porker or a Godzilla, logic and reason don't really factor a great deal into the decision making. Just go with your heart, not your head. Otherwise you'll always be driving a Toyota or maybe, a Mercedes. Is Autostrasse ex? Am thinking of going Andy Espace. Anyway, are you Kelvin? GTR or Porker. It was a decision I have to make recently. My wife hates the GTR though I liked the power. She will not get to drive it but she has a say because she is my wife. After factoring depreciation etc, a Porker seems a wiser choice as the car is reliable and depreciation seems like brutal. My heart still with the baby Lambo, but I dislike dear servicing and unreliability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 (edited) Is Autostrasse ex? Am thinking of going Andy Espace. Anyway, are you Kelvin? I find them OK. I've been to the Espace in Ubi. Wasn't that impressed. But it was a small job (Sprint Booster). I'm not sure if I'd leave bigger jobs in their hands. Who's Kelvin? GTR or Porker. It was a decision I have to make recently. My wife hates the GTR though I liked the power. She will not get to drive it but she has a say because she is my wife. After factoring depreciation etc, a Porker seems a wiser choice as the car is reliable and depreciation seems like brutal. My heart still with the baby Lambo, but I dislike dear servicing and unreliability. Which baby Lambo? The Porker is definitely the more mature choice, but now that I've experienced the Porsche, I'm still deciding between upgrading to a P-turbo vs a GTR. But since I like to try different marques, I'm leaning toward the GTR. Aiyah, see first lah. Edited August 13, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 I'm most concerned about reliability (especially the gearbox). The maintenance is high, but I can tahan. If you can just reassure me of the reliability (and at least advise me of which model years to steer clear of), then I might take the plunge and trade in my Porker. (Just to be clear, I'm talking about the new R35 GTR, the only one I'm interested in). i think i mentioned this before .. mine is 2009 and my gearbox failed (lucky mine is low set with local warranty .. otherwise ... 30k+ just for the tranny) plus since i was one of the few who bought a TC car .. they air freighted the gearbox just so i could have my car back in a week ... (proved to me once and for all i made the right choice buying frm AD .. they've been nothing but awesome to me) i heard the MY2010 models are superior, but at current prices i suggest you wait bro. thats my frank opinion. brand new is out of the question (its like 450k-480k now...) and a lot of the used ones ... you cant be too sure how the previous owner has run the car ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 i think i mentioned this before .. mine is 2009 and my gearbox failed (lucky mine is low set with local warranty .. otherwise ... 30k+ just for the tranny) plus since i was one of the few who bought a TC car .. they air freighted the gearbox just so i could have my car back in a week ... (proved to me once and for all i made the right choice buying frm AD .. they've been nothing but awesome to me) i heard the MY2010 models are superior, but at current prices i suggest you wait bro. thats my frank opinion. brand new is out of the question (its like 450k-480k now...) and a lot of the used ones ... you cant be too sure how the previous owner has run the car ... Thanks very much for the advice. I know you've posted this before, but I appreciate the summary. I have the luxury of waiting, my Porker still got long long on the current COE (more than 8 years). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Is Autostrasse ex? Am thinking of going Andy Espace. Anyway, are you Kelvin? GTR or Porker. It was a decision I have to make recently. My wife hates the GTR though I liked the power. She will not get to drive it but she has a say because she is my wife. After factoring depreciation etc, a Porker seems a wiser choice as the car is reliable and depreciation seems like brutal. My heart still with the baby Lambo, but I dislike dear servicing and unreliability. you mean you dont like the eurosports auto servicing? zhun bo bro? Melvin ranks as #1 in my book ... that guy will service your car at 2am if you ask for it ... gallardo servicing is also cheaper than my GTR servicing le haha ... ive been behind the wheel of a gallardo a few times .. my only issue with it is i feel like im sitting on the bloody floor when im driving ... coming out of the car is quite difficult (and unglam sometimes if u screw it up ... hahahaa) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Thanks very much for the advice. I know you've posted this before, but I appreciate the summary. I have the luxury of waiting, my Porker still got long long on the current COE (more than 8 years). wah like that .. can wait for R36 already la bro .. hahahaha unfortunately though, if you drive a GTR, get ready to be classified as a beng (even if you are not) and having everyone and their mother wanting to show you their l33t driving skillz. last time had a toyota wish swerve here swerve there, even when i give him the right lane ... still want to jio >< Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamamia Clutched August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 I find them OK. I've been to the Espace in Ubi. Wasn't that impressed. But it was a small job (Sprint Booster). I'm not sure if I'd leave bigger jobs in their hands. Who's Kelvin? Hmm..sounds like autostrasse is the choice then. Which baby Lambo? The Porker is definitely the more mature choice, but now that I've experienced the Porsche, I'm still deciding between upgrading to a P-turbo vs a GTR. But since I like to try different marques, I'm leaning toward the GTR. Aiyah, see first lah. Gallardo. But driving the car is a bitch and a little too loud in terms of image. The Porker is still a driveable everyday car...thats what I like. As for Kelvin, cause during my old STi days, there is a guy with the nick Turbo Flat 4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mamamia Clutched August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 you mean you dont like the eurosports auto servicing? zhun bo bro? Melvin ranks as #1 in my book ... that guy will service your car at 2am if you ask for it ... gallardo servicing is also cheaper than my GTR servicing le haha ... ive been behind the wheel of a gallardo a few times .. my only issue with it is i feel like im sitting on the bloody floor when im driving ... coming out of the car is quite difficult (and unglam sometimes if u screw it up ... hahahaa) Melvin is the best salesman ever. No questions about it. The problem is I am buying 2nd hand... Always thought the GTR serviving is cheaper...heard from friends who own both marques... If you dont like the go-kart feeling, the Lotus Elise R is out for u too, bro...I love the Elise...it would be fun in Sepang...but if sometimes u fetch your wife, she will curse you!!!! Same for the Gallardo. Plus my neighbours will hate me....they already hate my Ducatis. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...