Any gurus can help advise on HID??

Newbielee

i was thinking of installing HID too but after reading through this discussion, i think better not. about xenon bulbs, are they brighter? i want to use stronger, brighter bulbs because it seems like cars still cut into my lane when driving at night almost causing accidents on a number of occassions already.. can anyone advise on xenon bulbs?

How will HID / Xenon / brighter bulbs help preventing cars from 'cutting into your lane' ?

for after market HID , always never come with auto leveling ..... it is a pain to some road users.

i ever saw one guy at my mscp use HID for sometimes, one day ...someone spray paint on his headlight .... idea! [laugh]

It is a good idea.. [laugh]

How will HID / Xenon / brighter bulbs help preventing cars from 'cutting into your lane' ?

Im just guessing probably it's not bright enough. I mean, it's almost everytime tt i drive on cte exiting amk ave 5 n face this prob. No kidding. Anyway, my point may be flawed that's why im asking. Honestly, not tt i wana blind other drivers. Just wana make sure im 'seen' as im passing by. Better be safe than sorry.

don't install hid but use xenon bulb..... <_<

its like saying don't eat rice but eat porridge...

xenon is a gas use in hid light......they are the same thingy lah. [:|]

If your car comes with the projector housing (and halogen bulb), then upgrading it to HID should not be an issue to other road users as long as there is a clean cutoff in the beam pattern. It is still illegal, but at least others wont be irritated. And you WILL get better light throw and even enhanced aesthetics if the kit is of good quality. Anyway the laws set by LTA are up for debate, as they just ban HID mods without considering what is the actual cause of glare - fitting HIDs in reflector housings.

There is possibility of fitting projector housings into your stock reflectors, once again not legal but at least its not morally wrong lol.

For more info visit www.theretrofitsource.com

They are an excellent company in the US with a ton of experience in modifying headlights, and they do it RIGHT.

Just please dont fit HIDs into reflectors. It irritates people and makes you look like an idiot.

Those interested in buying from TRS, pls pm me. together buy reduce shipping cost :)

If your car comes with the projector housing (and halogen bulb), then upgrading it to HID should not be an issue to other road users as long as there is a clean cutoff in the beam pattern. It is still illegal, but at least others wont be irritated. And you WILL get better light throw and even enhanced aesthetics if the kit is of good quality. Anyway the laws set by LTA are up for debate, as they just ban HID mods without considering what is the actual cause of glare - fitting HIDs in reflector housings.

There is possibility of fitting projector housings into your stock reflectors, once again not legal but at least its not morally wrong lol.

For more info visit www.theretrofitsource.com

They are an excellent company in the US with a ton of experience in modifying headlights, and they do it RIGHT.

Just please dont fit HIDs into reflectors. It irritates people and makes you look like an idiot.

Those interested in buying from TRS, pls pm me. together buy reduce shipping cost :)

Cars which doesn't come stock with HID do not have auto-levelling function. It is mandatory for cars here with HID to have auto-levelling.

So even if you have projector headlights, you still can blind others simply by carrying rear passengers.

So please dun kay-kiang. Unless you tell me you are going to install the auto-levelling function too?

Haha good point, in fact some of the v boliao ppl in US do that.

Not say i gehkiang la, but obviously u adjust the manual leveling knob to not blind ppl, same applies for halogen tio bo?

Someone who wants the headlight to be nice and is conscious of other road users will pay attention to his light beam when driving at night. I know i do it.

It is mandatory for cars here with HID to have auto-levelling.

Btw, thats a rule LTA imposed, that no other country has. While auto-leveling is a fancy feature, it isn't perfect. When those cars go over humps behind me, i still get dazzled for a moment. But once again the same goes for any normal halogen bulb so.... [rolleyes]

Anyway bro Caravan, I understand why you hate HIDs so much. Many clueless drivers here fitting them into their reflectors. But u have to see that there are options to explore that don't blind others, and still satisfy that modding itch in us

actually you can go to ACE1 Auto Accessories in UBI they are selling the Xenon Type HID conversion kit for a reasonable price. i also got a Basic type door visor from there for only $15 with installation!