Rear ended by Msia car, driver drove off!!

Gohsj89

Doubt consider hit n run cos driver did stop.

Minimum is u need other veh no. Which u have.

Put in a claim wh yr own ins co to get yr car repaired 1st n ty wil try to claim fm msia ins co.

It might take some time though. If ty cannot claim fm his ins ty wil let u know. U can make noise n complain why not?

Worse case u bear loss of yr excess but good ins co. wil try to claim fm other party wh yr photos as evidence.

Too bad but thats life. Our gharmen dun care a fark abt us. Ty only interested in making money fr themselves.

This is consider as a hit-and run since the Malaysian party failed to provide personal ID or particular after the accident- even if the driver had stop and words had been exchanged with admission of guilt.

In fact, based on GIA's recommendation, OP had done the right thing in making a police report as this IS A hit-and-run case.

This police report will need to be submitted as part of your insurance claimed against another party, foreign or not.

Source:

http://www.insurance.hsbc.com.sg/1/PA_ES_C...o_motor_acc.pdf

If an accident involves injury, call the police straight away.

You must also make a police report within 24 hours of an accident involving:

Edited by Wishcumstrue

No way to claim. My friend drive his malaysia cars cause accident 3 times in Spore before in a space of 2 years. Once need to even attend court cos got fatal cases. End up he returned to Penang and never step into Singapore since. That was like 10 years ago. Trust me, the Spore police are useless against foreigners.

lonescu is a fine ex

This is consider as a hit-and run since the Malaysian party failed to provide personal ID or particular after the accident- even if the driver had stop and words had been exchanged with admission of guilt.

In fact, based on GIA's recommendation, OP had done the right thing in making a police report as this IS A hit-and-run case.

This police report will need to be submitted as part of your insurance claimed against another party, foreign or not.

Source:

http://www.insurance.hsbc.com.sg/1/PA_ES_C...o_motor_acc.pdf

If an accident involves injury, call the police straight away.

You must also make a police report within 24 hours of an accident involving:

Errr... Isn't this an issue with the insurance company?

I'm not if the govt is liable for anything..

U drive across thai border thai law u must buy ins to cover any accident u cause. We sud hv same law cos many MY cars n bikes dun even hv ins cover. All kopi lui play one.

Both MY & SG covers each other territory (except East Malaysia) on 3rd party liability. The only problem is lack of legal procedure on making claims.

The main problem is MY dun enforce e compulsory requirment of every motor veh must b covered by min of 3rd party cover.

My msia frens tell me many bikes n some cars dun hv road tax even let alone ins cover.

Ty see polis roadblock wil U turn n run off. If get caught just rm10-20 can settle.

Even those come SG hv ins wont report to ins co. if involved in accident n like that ins co. wil not pay to 3rd party claims.

The main problem is MY dun enforce e compulsory requirment of every motor veh must b covered by min of 3rd party cover.

My msia frens tell me many bikes n some cars dun hv road tax even let alone ins cover.

Ty see polis roadblock wil U turn n run off. If get caught just rm10-20 can settle.

Even those come SG hv ins wont report to ins co. if involved in accident n like that ins co. wil not pay to 3rd party claims.

I think difficult to enforce too.. how to make sure all those vehicles who drive in plantations have road tax and insurance? diff right?

Exactly. Those plantations n kampongs e polis is related or fren to everybody.

He catch anybody next hari raya he wont b welcomed at all e houses n nobody come visit him too.

Hahaha. [laugh]

Those coming to Sg must have valid road tax. Otherwise, LTA will not let it through. The problem is there is no proper legal structure for cross border claims.

Can always station an insurance agent at the customs to sell 3rd party insurance that works like daily travel insurance rite? More sales for the motor insurance companies and hopefully they can pass the extra earnings to us by lowering our premiums. Win-win effect so to speak.

But must beware cos then msia can also insist we buy ins at border to enter msia.

Works both ways. Maybe if we can show our valid ins cert that cover our car in msia then no need to buy again.

All I can advised to TS to write to all our media whether Strait Times, Wan Bao or Xin Ming ra bao. And descript your hit & run accident with a Malaysian car and that our Gahment, TP and Minister of Transport are all Jia Liao bi. Must really grill them and question them why such things always left unsettled, unprotected and we the miserable citizen motorist got to suffer such agony.

And I believe the best solution to such case in the event if an accudent with foreign car would be to enforce all foreign motor vehicle or motorcycle to paid a 3rd party insurance on a daily basic per entry to drive or ride on our road.

Best is to voice your complaint and unhappiness to your MP in your estate area.

Or maybe the Moderator of Sgcarmart forumz can write an Appeal letter sign by all members to solve this problems with foreign car once and for all !!