Mllcg 3rd Gear December 20, 2012 Author Share December 20, 2012 when u do tuning, u must look for reputable tuner . u either use reflash or standalone, skip unichip so just stick to my microtech if someone can tune? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcng Neutral Newbie December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 HV racing Ah Hua in JB can tune ur microtech.. But now where got ppl use mircotech,old school already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 20, 2012 Author Share December 20, 2012 HV racing Ah Hua in JB can tune ur microtech.. But now where got ppl use mircotech,old school already... in singapore.. that aside, i have a choice now. $800 to retune microtech. $1100 for Unichip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
05wrx Clutched December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 Microtech drink petrol Unichip not stable Open source best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 Microtech drink petrol Unichip not stable Open source best Morning bro..what's the meaning of open source? My auto JDM WRX still on stock map after all this years of driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 Morning bro..what's the meaning of open source? My auto JDM WRX still on stock map after all this years of driving. He's referring to OpenECU and other such projects. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 He's referring to OpenECU and other such projects. I gather from all the posts here that Open Source is the better way to go about flashing the ECU for Scoobies? Going for my 80K servicing, hoping to find a place where I can do everything at once to minimise down time. Wanted to go SK Garage to do Unichip but after reading everyone's recommendations here, might change for Open Source instead. What's the price like? Any thing to look out for during and after tuning? Driving a 2.0RS now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 the person who PMed me on facebook is velocity tuning werks he's also driving a gc8, so should be quite safe. mine was tuned by him too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 I gather from all the posts here that Open Source is the better way to go about flashing the ECU for Scoobies? Going for my 80K servicing, hoping to find a place where I can do everything at once to minimise down time. Wanted to go SK Garage to do Unichip but after reading everyone's recommendations here, might change for Open Source instead. What's the price like? Any thing to look out for during and after tuning? Driving a 2.0RS now. i think 2.0rs cannot do opensource. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 can also consider Haltech, but think in singapore only furukawa from ST have the experience in tuning it, or rommell , but if i were u, I'll go for opensource provided the gc8 ecu can. it's cheaper and got many features like launch control, flat foot shifting, anti lag and so on. not so complicated also. Go to pro subaru workshop, they should be able to find a solution for u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 i think 2.0rs cannot do opensource. Aiyah... back to Square one again... so still have to do Unichip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 21, 2012 Author Share December 21, 2012 so the better alternative now is to stick to microtech than to go unichip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched December 31, 2012 Share December 31, 2012 so the better alternative now is to stick to microtech than to go unichip? give yourself more option la.why just narrow down to these 2 dinosaur solutions? if price is a factor ,you can skip standalones. go for opensource tuning.they have a huge community and great support. and they are constantly improving.either rhommel or andrew can do a very good job on tuning the opensource reflash,balanced power yet safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 1, 2013 Author Share January 1, 2013 give yourself more option la.why just narrow down to these 2 dinosaur solutions? if price is a factor ,you can skip standalones. go for opensource tuning.they have a huge community and great support. and they are constantly improving.either rhommel or andrew can do a very good job on tuning the opensource reflash,balanced power yet safe. Pls correct me if I'm wrong. But I read somewhere that even the cheapest piggyback/standalone will perform better than a reflashed stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 Go for spt opensource but not sure if gc8 could be cracked. Can also hook up Andrew he drives a beautiful gc8 am sure he would advise you well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 Pls correct me if I'm wrong. But I read somewhere that even the cheapest piggyback/standalone will perform better than a reflashed stock aiya pls la. ppl wif much higher bhp than urs oso use open source wif no prob. go for piggy backs and u will regret big time coz ur paying more for less. so many ppl already ans ur enquiry and u still die die wana use those useless dinosaur 'gadget'. dun tell me old gadget for old car hor. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched January 1, 2013 Share January 1, 2013 (edited) Pls correct me if I'm wrong. But I read somewhere that even the cheapest piggyback/standalone will perform better than a reflashed stock Many have already answered you.opensource tuning offers quite an extensive options over piggyback solutions at a more affordable price (eg , rev limit/launch control,flatfoot shift etc) good thing about it is , it is still evolving,getting better and better and have a huge community to backup and support it.thats why its called opensource. like what "20G" mentioned , many running much higher horsepower subarus are using that without much issues.most piggybacks are older technology,doesnt have much hardware and software support/update anymore,and you have to rely on these 1 or 2 tuners which could be a headache whereas there are much more opensource tuners out there for you to choose. my first ECU tune was done in 2005 mid .back then it was a greddy emanage then to HKS Fcon SZ piggyback which later on i switched to opensource in 2009.chose it over the ecutek cos its cheaper and without those license issues.served me well for nearly 2 years without issues.there's always a reason why many have gone the opensource route instead of piggyback solutions.if sub <500bhp rides can run on opensource , i seriously think its good enough for your coe gc8. on a side note , doesnt mean if you spend money and doesnt see an actual "hardware" then it deems lousier. fact is , if the end result is better , why not?or if you die die spend money must see something physical, go ecutek lor , you will get a file ,license and instruction booklet . Edited January 1, 2013 by Rb26dett Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amgm125 2nd Gear January 2, 2013 Share January 2, 2013 Hi all bros, Just took over a wrx 2.5 (M) & found out that the whole car was tuned via a HKS F-CON V PRO. It's a gold colored box sitting inside my glove box compartment. I felt that the car was kinda out of tune & wondering who tunes HKS v-pro in sg? I'm on open source tuning on my previous ride 2004 wrx 2.0m all the way since 2008 so I'm kinda new to this HKS f con v pro thing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...