Happily1986 5th Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 its decent... i don't really use it much as i bring along an LX3 most of the time. But i really like how the Z looks and feels. Very quality feel. ah the LX3 is quite the camera. good choice. To be frank, i jettisoned the S4 in favour of the Z is due to push and pull factor. Samsung has been playing hardball with the third party developer community for the longest time. It presented some top developers with the S2 (then) and promised it will render full support to the third party developers. Apparently the higher ups didn't agree and arm twisted the PR men on the ground. As we probably know, android tech partners have to comply with the GPL and make source code available so everyone could just casually download it and compile some firmware if he or she wishes to. Bottomline, Samsung not willing to reveal source code related to its proprietary Exynos processor, simply published the source code in a lumped up tarball. Borrowing an analogy, instead of publishing the source code in an orderly manner with the source code properly documented and indexed in commits, they bunched up all the code in a huge piece of sh**. so basically the hwcomposer and surfaceflinger components of the Hardware Abstraction Layer cannot work sheet. Meanwhile Sony (the mobile division) has been very forthright and enthusiastic in helping the third party development community. It even sanctioned one of its inhouse developer to render help for some random issue encountered with a third party F/W. If one has used the stock Samsung F/W, it is plain sheet really that Touchwhiz. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 you got put screen protector boh??? So far my friends' ones all still swee swee leh.........but a few had jumped ship to ip5 liao.... no. cos my ip4 never needed one ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 ah the LX3 is quite the camera. good choice. To be frank, i jettisoned the S4 in favour of the Z is due to push and pull factor. Samsung has been playing hardball with the third party developer community for the longest time. It presented some top developers with the S2 (then) and promised it will render full support to the third party developers. Apparently the higher ups didn't agree and arm twisted the PR men on the ground. As we probably know, android tech partners have to comply with the GPL and make source code available so everyone could just casually download it and compile some firmware if he or she wishes to. Bottomline, Samsung not willing to reveal source code related to its proprietary Exynos processor, simply published the source code in a lumped up tarball. Borrowing an analogy, instead of publishing the source code in an orderly manner with the source code properly documented and indexed in commits, they bunched up all the code in a huge piece of sh**. so basically the hwcomposer and surfaceflinger components of the Hardware Abstraction Layer cannot work sheet. Meanwhile Sony (the mobile division) has been very forthright and enthusiastic in helping the third party development community. It even sanctioned one of its inhouse developer to render help for some random issue encountered with a third party F/W. If one has used the stock Samsung F/W, it is plain sheet really that Touchwhiz. sorry what's touchwhiz? i read wikipedia but i don't understand what's it's function. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 sorry what's touchwhiz? i read wikipedia but i don't understand what's it's function. Touchwhiz is the user interface of stock Samsung phones. It is also called the overlay. the other phone maker equivalents are like Motoblur (Motorola) and Sense (HTC) etc the stock overlay have often been mistakenly called the launcher. not true. it is more than the launcher apk. it also consists of the framework-res.apk too. This explains why certain proprietary functions, apps and widgets dont work once you install a third party ROM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 15, 2013 Author Share March 15, 2013 It has fantastic features. I wont deny. The camera and video recording quality of superb. I won't deny. But you guys put so much attention to making other parts of a phone perfect. That they forgot what a phone is primarily used for.. phone calls.. and nowadays using apps.. sorry to say.. my phone overheats. Sometimes I cant pick up calls due to it hanging for no apparent reason. Then when I am using social network apps like Facebook or Twitter, it suddenly reports it failed.. Sorry to say this.. despite it having a quad core processor , it's still not like my previous iPhone4 which runs on a A4 chip.. This quad core processor actually hangs more than my previous iPhone.. Sorry.. I regret.. No need to apologise when you're just sharing your own experience. I didn't experience any over-heating problems. Hang of course have, maybe 2 or 3 times a week (my phone is left on 24/7). Btw, my Note 2 totally died (cannot use, cannot charge) on me 3 weeks ago which is why I am on xperia TX now. So I am not saying its flawless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 i'm fine with the user interface. Never really used motorola or HTC before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 No need to apologise when you're just sharing your own experience. I didn't experience any over-heating problems. Hang of course have, maybe 2 or 3 times a week (my phone is left on 24/7). Btw, my Note 2 totally died (cannot use, cannot charge) on me 3 weeks ago which is why I am on xperia TX now. So I am not saying its flawless. oh.. haha.. my phone hang everyday minimum2x per day.. aiyo.. jialat.. I think Samsung didnt really pull off with this phone.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 Give me ONE.... I meant htc ONE... me too, am a sucker for build quality and looks when it comes to phones. am using One X now, contract ending in Oct.. dunno whether i can tahan till then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 oh.. haha.. my phone hang everyday minimum2x per day.. aiyo.. jialat.. I think Samsung didnt really pull off with this phone.. think u got a lemon lah. my wife's S3 isn't so bad, except that sometimes it's got a display problem and the phone doesn't get fully charged sometimes. other than that, it's nice and stable, except that it's getting too common and the build quality is not to my liking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 think u got a lemon lah. my wife's S3 isn't so bad, except that sometimes it's got a display problem and the phone doesn't get fully charged sometimes. other than that, it's nice and stable, except that it's getting too common and the build quality is not to my liking. wow.. sigh.. like that must go back their service centre to f them up.. Nearest to town where uh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 wow.. sigh.. like that must go back their service centre to f them up.. Nearest to town where uh? plaza sing lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 actually i was also anticipating the arrival of the S4.. saw some leaks which looked pretty promising. but the S4 looked too much like an S3.. see this pic from AndroidTapp. contrast it with Neo.. (pic courtesy of cNet) Neo, here i come!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 actually i was also anticipating the arrival of the S4.. saw some leaks which looked pretty promising. but the S4 looked too much like an S3.. see this pic from AndroidTapp. contrast it with Neo.. (pic courtesy of cNet) Neo, here i come!! ya the design change less than ip4 -> ip5 lor. maybe they are emulating porsche. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 (edited) actually i was also anticipating the arrival of the S4.. saw some leaks which looked pretty promising. but the S4 looked too much like an S3.. see this pic from AndroidTapp. contrast it with Neo.. (pic courtesy of cNet) Neo, here i come!! compare with this one also (+ yes i put mine under the tap just to test test) Edited March 15, 2013 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixus 1st Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 I also switched from ip4s to z 2 weeks ago, no regret, solid phone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 compare with this one also (+ yes i put mine under the tap just to test test) Sony's build quality is good. but, the phone doesn't feel good in my hands. it's heavy. being waterproof means nothing to me, but it means inconvenience when i want to charge owned a Sony Xperia Arc S before, it's nice but maybe i got a lemon set cuz the screen flickers when i browse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixus 1st Gear March 15, 2013 Share March 15, 2013 Sony's build quality is good. but, the phone doesn't feel good in my hands. it's heavy. being waterproof means nothing to me, but it means inconvenience when i want to charge owned a Sony Xperia Arc S before, it's nice but maybe i got a lemon set cuz the screen flickers when i browse. get the charging dock, very convenient xperia z and dock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 15, 2013 Author Share March 15, 2013 me too, am a sucker for build quality and looks when it comes to phones. am using One X now, contract ending in Oct.. dunno whether i can tahan till then. Your One X wifi reception ok or not? Got often self-reset a not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...