SingTel Hints at Fee Changes For BPL ...

Maxus-MIFA9

ok I jus back fr SH.

(1) for BPL on SH box, need to apply to ST and provide them your SH subscription ID on your bill. this is for ST activation - not sure now if dreambox got an answer for that. ^_^

(2) the $300 rebate is for 24 mth contract - NEW or RECONTRACTING EXISTING customers ie. if u r in the 13th month of your 24 mths contract, sorry u r not eligible.

(3) cheapest surf & watch package is $47, choose any 3 basic groups, not incl $6 box rental.

(4) whether the BPL subscription at ST is by month or hv to also sign contract, the CSO cant answer me, ask me go ST ask - important cos dun wan pay $60 per month for Jun and Jul off season.

so do your maths, guys.

ok I jus back fr SH.

(1) for BPL on SH box, need to apply to ST and provide them your SH subscription ID on your bill. this is for ST activation - not sure now if dreambox got an answer for that. ^_^

(2) the $300 rebate is for 24 mth contract - NEW or RECONTRACTING EXISTING customers ie. if u r in the 13th month of your 24 mths contract, sorry u r not eligible.

(3) cheapest surf & watch package is $47, choose any 3 basic groups, not incl $6 box rental.

(4) whether the BPL subscription at ST is by month or hv to also sign contract, the CSO cant answer me, ask me go ST ask - important cos dun wan pay $60 per month for Jun and Jul off season.

so do your maths, guys.

Hi, for (2), does it mean only when the contract is fully up then can do re-contract? If there is only 2-3 months left of the 24 months contract to go, re-contract is not allowed?

for (1), which comes first? apply for cross carriage with ST first and then show SH or sign up with SH first before showing ST the SH subscription ID?

Thanks and appreciate if you can advise. [laugh]

Hi, for (2), does it mean only when the contract is fully up then can do re-contract? If there is only 2-3 months left of the 24 months contract to go, re-contract is not allowed?

for (1), which comes first? apply for cross carriage with ST first and then show SH or sign up with SH first before showing ST the SH subscription ID?

Thanks and appreciate if you can advise. [laugh]

for (2) - Yes contract mus b fully up. like my wife case, cable stil under contract so we cant sign up the surf & watch. and if cancel now, pay cancellation fees + 1 mth cooling period before she can sign the S&W package.

for (1) - sign up SH first then sign up ST.

anyw I just back fr ST - knn even the $59.90 also need 24 mths contract. so basically mid May to mid Aug, you are paying for nothing as there is no UCL, F1 etc. F man! [rifle]

for (2) - Yes contract mus b fully up. like my wife case, cable stil under contract so we cant sign up the surf & watch. and if cancel now, pay cancellation fees + 1 mth cooling period before she can sign the S&W package.

for (1) - sign up SH first then sign up ST.

anyw I just back fr ST - knn even the $59.90 also need 24 mths contract. so basically mid May to mid Aug, you are paying for nothing as there is no UCL, F1 etc. F man! [rifle]

Hey, thanks for the info. Really appreciate. [;)]

I'm tremendously surprised that the contract must be fully up before recontract is allowed. I always thought like mobile plans, re-contract is allowed like few months before the contract is fully up.

Looks like I won't be signing for the time being until my existing contract is up. I don't wanna pay the full price of S$60. :angry:

actually those people already on mio should not be too affected.

I asked my dad to call up, so essentially u can continue on your current subscription plan. Mine is the $34+ before this year.

But i suspect this may not last, they may blanket increase all subscriptions within the next few months once they have settled the new subscribers...

CSO also no comment on this.

Hey, thanks for the info. Really appreciate. [;)]

I'm tremendously surprised that the contract must be fully up before recontract is allowed. I always thought like mobile plans, re-contract is allowed like few months before the contract is fully up.

Looks like I won't be signing for the time being until my existing contract is up. I don't wanna pay the full price of S$60. :angry:

thinking of not signing up also. its kind of matter of principle. not at the amount per se (who dun hv $60 per mth) but its jus not right. I dun even wan to go into the 24 mth contract. A season is only 9mths, it is not the same as mobile phone contract ok. [rifle]

actually those people already on mio should not be too affected.

I asked my dad to call up, so essentially u can continue on your current subscription plan. Mine is the $34+ before this year.

But i suspect this may not last, they may blanket increase all subscriptions within the next few months once they have settled the new subscribers...

CSO also no comment on this.

some say aft ur existing $34 contract end, u diam diam and dun recontract, they wil jus continue to charge u old rate. like the previous 12GB 3G plan vs 2GB 4G plan.

since ST took over BPL.....I gave up watching but have and will always remember them for what they did knowingly that

BPL is something enjoyed by the mass in SG [sly]

......they could have corrected their bad but instead they went all the way to try and stop the cross over and when their efforts failed, they came up with yet again more plans to hurt, deprive and benefit from the weakness of others. [furious]

...this is so sick, done in absolute poor taste and certainly without soul in the name of sports,.....pui !! [rifle]

with no sight of them correcting their bad and knowing right from wrong,...I will not waiver the least bit in the name of Fair Play and will move on to support the Lions in the MSL etc when our new stadium is commissioned [bounce2] ...back to the glory Kallang Roar and ST Kayu,..oops, I mean Referee Kayu. [laugh]

Starhub up the ante! $600 rebate at $30 per month so for 20 months we can enjoy $30 off per month. This make watching BPL effective $29.90 per month for 20 months. Should we sign up now or wait for the real bro Singtel to counter offer?

still need to sign up their basic package right

if they still charge subscription for the off season then it should effectively be moren than $60 per month. For most of us who only support one team and at most watch one match per week plus maybe the big matches i think going to coffeeshop watch buy one bottle of tiger is more worthwhile. imo it is unscrupulous that they should make consumers pay for their exclusivity. if anything they should compete on providing who can provide better service rather than on who gets to show the football matches. sadly on service i still think both of them got a lot to improve on. when the second license for cable tv was given out, it is to provide for better price competitiveness as starhub was the only provider then. however, i think it failed miserably and we consumers suffer again

since ST took over BPL.....I gave up watching but have and will always remember them for what they did knowingly that

BPL is something enjoyed by the mass in SG [sly]

this i will remember for ever in every business decision i make involving singtel..... [thumbsdown]

now if only either one of them would come up with a ppv option....

i might just pay to watch the odd top of the table clash....

So sad that it has come to this.

I remember watching Man Utd vs Liverpool on Ch 5 back in 1999.

How I wish free-to-air channel can pop up with a match or 2 per month since Singtel's deal with the Premier League is a non-exclusive one.

So sad that it has come to this.

I remember watching Man Utd vs Liverpool on Ch 5 back in 1999.

How I wish free-to-air channel can pop up with a match or 2 per month since Singtel's deal with the Premier League is a non-exclusive one.

i hope the corporations realise that the reason bpl is so popular here is that our generation grew up exposed to it massively on free-to-air.....

however the current batch of kids exposed to bpl today is dwindling..... good for them

still need to sign up their basic package right

Yup still need. Go for the cheapest bundle which is below $30, which mean $59.90 just to watch BPL.

I think it's still expensive. Last World Cup I resisted but last minute cannot tahan subscribed but last Euro managed to resist. If price keep going up I will call it quit. Spend time reading, jogging, meet up with MCF kakis and go movies with family better. So many other things to do. I think those hardcore one are the ones betting so die die must watch.

still, i think it is a good gesture from starhub.

imagine, starhub gains nothing or very little is a subscriber goes for the basic packages amounting to $33 per month + rental of TVsetup box.

consumer still benefits from a wider variety of tv program channels... like starhub 3 basic channels + BPL = $60 per month.

I guess it is a good deal for BPL soccer fans.

Well done, Starhub!

Edited by Turret

Yup still need. Go for the cheapest bundle which is below $30, which mean $59.90 just to watch BPL.

I think it's still expensive. Last World Cup I resisted but last minute cannot tahan subscribed but last Euro managed to resist. If price keep going up I will call it quit. Spend time reading, jogging, meet up with MCF kakis and go movies with family better. So many other things to do. I think those hardcore one are the ones betting so die die must watch.

coming September, the cheapest bundle from starhub will be $33 excluding tv setup box though this $33 will include more program than the previous basic groups though.