Lala81 Hypersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 i tot SH plan is v easy to understand. Sign up/recontract for Surf & watch (Fibre + Deluxe HD pack) @ 60+ or cable + HD pack at cheaper. Then if u sign up for BPL with Singtel via SH, which is additional 60 bucks. Then they will give u one-off rebate of $300. if u take it for one season, essentially cheaper by $25/month. Over long term, dunno how though... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jansonchua 2nd Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I just called starhub, the customer service say a package is a must to watch BPL. So I ask, I already had fiber broadband, can I don't include the fiber package and charge lower cost. The person say no. Is either I re-contract fiber package or with a new one. So for those whose starhub broadband still under contract, I do not know whether they will wave off the early re-contract fee or to impose penalty for early re-contract due to need to take up the package. I checked with SH that day and they say existing contract cannot be re contracted to new package and also you can only cross carry BPL. Champions league and others not included as yet. I think I will just stick to my SH and Singtel box. Bo pian, pay more for the BPL fix! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 (edited) i tot SH plan is v easy to understand. Sign up/recontract for Surf & watch (Fibre + Deluxe HD pack) @ 60+ or cable + HD pack at cheaper. Then if u sign up for BPL with Singtel via SH, which is additional 60 bucks. Then they will give u one-off rebate of $300. if u take it for one season, essentially cheaper by $25/month. Over long term, dunno how though... So does that mean must take package fiber or no need take package and just sign up for SH for BPL? Edited August 5, 2013 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Boy, am I glad that I have cured myself from the EPL BPL addiction eversince SingTel came into the field! Hehe.. rehabilitated and liberated!! this is wat I call missing the forest for the trees by the BPL pay TV dept. they may b merrymaking now at their ever higher revenue source but I hope they do not forget the orig purpose of broadcasting BPL outside UK is to let overseas fans retain connection to the teams through live games. if this connection is slowly given up by fans due to exorbitant charges, the BPL teams can forget about making these SEA pre season tours. out of sight out of mind. and its not jus Singapore, even in mid east, broadcasters hv pulled out of bidding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 So does that mean must take package fiber or no need take package and just sign up for SH for BPL? no need take package. then u are just pay 60 bucks to ST only. cannot get the rebate by SH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 no need take package. then u are just pay 60 bucks to ST only. cannot get the rebate by SH. I see okay, thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 this is wat I call missing the forest for the trees by the BPL pay TV dept. they may b merrymaking now at their ever higher revenue source but I hope they do not forget the orig purpose of broadcasting BPL outside UK is to let overseas fans retain connection to the teams through live games. if this connection is slowly given up by fans due to exorbitant charges, the BPL teams can forget about making these SEA pre season tours. out of sight out of mind. and its not jus Singapore, even in mid east, broadcasters hv pulled out of bidding. kinda true. But BPL is like apple. Expensive but still always got pple willing to pay. Even if it declines will take a long while. Anyway there are no alternatives or up & coming leagues to contest. La Liga games are generally too late for Asia side. German league - 90% of the time, it's bayern winning it. Italian - very boring to watch compared to breakneck speed of BPL soccer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I just checked.. I'm on the eXplore home (or for those not on fiber plan, it's called MIO Home) plan.. contract til June 2014... I'm paying around $80 for the following: BPL, along with the 3 additional sports channel (ESPN, Star sports and i forgot which 3rd one) Combo pack (forgot got what channels) Family pack (also forgot got what channels) 100Mbps Fiber internet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Actually ST will still get back some revenue even some Mio customers terminate their contract cos most of them will go over to SH to get the BPL plan which is $59.90. For every new SH customer who sign the BPL plan, ST will at earn the $59.90. Knn its like u go to Shell to pump petrol - Esso will earn the $$$ - sighhhhhh a better example, u go esso have vpower, u go there pump but money goes to shell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_cow 3rd Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 actualli i quite surprise.. how come no bro mentioned abt the dream box here, buy tt den all starhub channel can watch liao, the bpl shldnt be a problem too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 (edited) actualli i quite surprise.. how come no bro mentioned abt the dream box here, buy tt den all starhub channel can watch liao, the bpl shldnt be a problem too Do anything but don't get caught. [laugh] Edited August 5, 2013 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 actualli i quite surprise.. how come no bro mentioned abt the dream box here, buy tt den all starhub channel can watch liao, the bpl shldnt be a problem too Sshhhh anyway it's illegal. so yes although it's cheap, i rather not get into trouble for something as stupid as watching cable tv lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 Sshhhh anyway it's illegal. so yes although it's cheap, i rather not get into trouble for something as stupid as watching cable tv lol Yes caught is not worth it. I rather pay for not getting into trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I think this is ST's "Bro" response campaign: http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/about_bpl.asp Note that the $64.90 Action Gold Pack includes Champions League, Europa League, FA Cup and the league cup as well as Fox movie for SH cross carry, $59.90 is BPL only. Looks like I will stay with ST and take this pack.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 I think this is ST's "Bro" response campaign: http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/about_bpl.asp Note that the $64.90 Action Gold Pack includes Champions League, Europa League, FA Cup and the league cup as well as Fox movie for SH cross carry, $59.90 is BPL only. Looks like I will stay with ST and take this pack.... boycott lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut Clutched August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 this is wat I call missing the forest for the trees by the BPL pay TV dept. they may b merrymaking now at their ever higher revenue source but I hope they do not forget the orig purpose of broadcasting BPL outside UK is to let overseas fans retain connection to the teams through live games. if this connection is slowly given up by fans due to exorbitant charges, the BPL teams can forget about making these SEA pre season tours. out of sight out of mind. and its not jus Singapore, even in mid east, broadcasters hv pulled out of bidding. Blame it on the Arab sheikhs or Russian tycoons, it is all about the money. Money wins titles and championships period. And guess who are contributing to it? Tv rights, jerseys, it is a vicious cycle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 There is another way to watch EPL-Aljazeera sports channel thru ur broadband. You need to use smartDNS to overcome the regional restriction. Total cost USD135 per season + overplay smartDNS US$5 per month, roughly ~SGD20 per month. Not as reliable as starhub cable, but much better than those free stream. it has American MLS Argentinean Primera Divisi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 5, 2013 Share August 5, 2013 actualli i quite surprise.. how come no bro mentioned abt the dream box here, buy tt den all starhub channel can watch liao, the bpl shldnt be a problem too I thk the current dream boxes cannot work. if u see the faq of SH, it says after signing up, ST needs 2 weeks to activate on SH box. need to wait for new gen dream box?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...