KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

But they told me already reserved stock. If i get coe and no car ? Gonna f them again.

They say you believe eh? Lol.

I'm sure they give to those who pay higher price with higher profit margin. Sounds logical to do so. So those who pay lower price will have to wait till their 6th bid to see whether they willing to top up for u lo... if u can't wait just top up the difference for guaranteed coe lo..

Curse and swear oso no point...

I'm sure they give to those who pay higher price with higher profit margin. Sounds logical to do so. So those who pay lower price will have to wait till their 6th bid to see whether they willing to top up for u lo... if u can't wait just top up the difference for guaranteed coe lo..

Curse and swear oso no point...

Yup, gonna top up. Hope they don't revise the top up price.

Last year my dad booked K3 and didn't get COE after 6 bids. At one point in time, they wanted him to top up $9K. That's their strategy, lure you in and then ask you to top up. Else, wait for big COE drop or give up. My dad gave up, endured almost one year without car, and is now a happy Vezel owner.

I am a Kia fan and owned a Koup before. But I don't really like their marketing strategy. If to buy Kia, I would suggest to sign the guaranteed package upfront.

Last year my dad booked K3 and didn't get COE after 6 bids. At one point in time, they wanted him to top up $9K. That's their strategy, lure you in and then ask you to top up. Else, wait for big COE drop or give up. My dad gave up, endured almost one year without car, and is now a happy Vezel owner.

I am a Kia fan and owned a Koup before. But I don't really like their marketing strategy. If to buy Kia, I would suggest to sign the guaranteed package upfront.

I am in the same position as @coolbluepica, having booked a K3 before the last bidding. My COE rebate is $32k and C&C placed $39,999 for me. I intend to wait for full 6 bids (Mar 1st bidding - May 2nd bidding), hoping for a drop in May due to increased quota.

Did you monitor the price C&C bidded for your dad? What was the highest bid (amount above COE rebate) that they were willing to go up to?

How much C&C bids depends on how many orders they take in over the past three weeks. And of those orders, how many are guaranteed COE orders. If the guaranteed COE orders are large enough so that by bidding high enough to secure the COEs for these orders, and still make a profit from them, then all those orders with non-guaranteed COE packages are not going to get their COEs. It's quite simple I think. They will wait for the next round, and if there are substantial non-guaranteed COE orders that are not fulfilled then (cos buyers don't want to top up to guaranteed COE packages), they will bid a little higher (and still within the profit margin) and hope that the COE doesn't go up again. Finally, I also believe that they will allow some non-guaranteed COE orders to get their COEs, and this may be dependent on a few factors like, sales staff with better performance may get to use the 'wild card' bid (that is higher than normal bid), or they may have a 'roulette' style draw to determine which non-guaranteed COE order gets the higher bid available. I'm sure there is some mechanism behind all these. The issue is that for Cat A cars, given the rise in COE, I guess that the price would go up again... for Cat B, the COE only went up by $600+, so I guess most companies can hold their prices or just increase by $1000.

I am in the same position as @coolbluepica, having booked a K3 before the last bidding. My COE rebate is $32k and C&C placed $39,999 for me. I intend to wait for full 6 bids (Mar 1st bidding - May 2nd bidding), hoping for a drop in May due to increased quota.

Did you monitor the price C&C bidded for your dad? What was the highest bid (amount above COE rebate) that they were willing to go up to?

This happened last year, Feb to May 2015. I can't remember the numbers. 

How much C&C bids depends on how many orders they take in over the past three weeks. And of those orders, how many are guaranteed COE orders. If the guaranteed COE orders are large enough so that by bidding high enough to secure the COEs for these orders, and still make a profit from them, then all those orders with non-guaranteed COE packages are not going to get their COEs. It's quite simple I think. They will wait for the next round, and if there are substantial non-guaranteed COE orders that are not fulfilled then (cos buyers don't want to top up to guaranteed COE packages), they will bid a little higher (and still within the profit margin) and hope that the COE doesn't go up again. Finally, I also believe that they will allow some non-guaranteed COE orders to get their COEs, and this may be dependent on a few factors like, sales staff with better performance may get to use the 'wild card' bid (that is higher than normal bid), or they may have a 'roulette' style draw to determine which non-guaranteed COE order gets the higher bid available. I'm sure there is some mechanism behind all these. The issue is that for Cat A cars, given the rise in COE, I guess that the price would go up again... for Cat B, the COE only went up by $600+, so I guess most companies can hold their prices or just increase by $1000.

Yes, so Kia's strategy is to price their car lower and most won't be able to get COE. In the end, the low premium for Kia cars stated in sgcarmart is not a true reflection of the actual premium paid by the owners.

Pumped my 2nd full tank yesterday.

Distance travelled: 445KM

Fuel pumped: 40.82litre

Which worked out to be 10.9l/100KM, instant fuel consumption shows: 8.2l/100KM

Not really accurate IMO, will continue to monitor.

I will be going to my 1K servicing soon.

If you scroll to the earlier pages this forum to year 2015, many K3 buyer mostly secure their COE in first or second bid non-guaranteed package, not much of a problem. For myself, i secured my COE non-guaranteed package during my 2nd bid in December 2015. 

Not sure why recently the bid so low. Maybe SE all hit their sales quota already.

Pumped my 2nd full tank yesterday.

Distance travelled: 445KM

Fuel pumped: 40.82litre

Which worked out to be 10.9l/100KM, instant fuel consumption shows: 8.2l/100KM

Not really accurate IMO, will continue to monitor.

I will be going to my 1K servicing soon.

I think your 10.9 is in KM/L.

you must do a manual reset after you pump, if not go to the menu setting, set the auto reset, so it will reset automatically.

The instant fuel consumption for mine, not fully accurate, plus minus with my manual calculation.

anw, FC will stablise after 1K servicing. Now run in period, FC still on the high side. My mileage now 3K plus, FC is quite constant for every tank.

Edited by BullsEye

If you scroll to the earlier pages this forum to year 2015, many K3 buyer mostly secure their COE in first or second bid non-guaranteed package, not much of a problem. For myself, i secured my COE non-guaranteed package during my 2nd bid in December 2015.

Not sure why recently the bid so low. Maybe SE all hit their sales quota already.

I think your 10.9 is in KM/L.

you must do a manual reset after you pump, if not go to the menu setting, set the auto reset, so it will reset automatically.

The instant fuel consumption for mine, not fully accurate, plus minus with my manual calculation.

anw, FC will stablise after 1K servicing. Now run in period, FC still on the high side. My mileage now 3K plus, FC is quite constant for every tank.

Alamak always mix up with the km/l and l/km reading haha

Yes i will continue to monitor and update on the FC after the 1k servicing! :)

Did he bought the guranteed package?

Mine SX $89k bid at $40k. I called the SE and f*** , r they not interested in getting coe, how can bid at $40k?!

Non-Gteed! 8 bid package some more! impressed with Subaru man

oh the 39999 bid is normal. We got the K3 during the Motorshow 1st bid also 39999. Second bid was 43999 got it the previous round. 

cccccccccc, does your SE happen to have the initials JL ? 

oh the 39999 bid is normal. We got the K3 during the Motorshow 1st bid also 39999. Second bid was 43999 got it the previous round. 

What was your rebate level? Mine is $32k, which I think is lower than yours. That's why I am afraid C&C may increase the bid price at smaller increments (or not at all) in the coming bids.

Edited by cccccccc

Hmm no, not JL.

I also got it before the last bidding. COE rebate 32K And 1st bid yesterday at 39,999.... Hope this round is for them to clear the back lot and hopefully can secure it next round liao lor....

What was your rebate level? Mine is $32k, which I think is lower than yours. That's why I am afraid C&C may increase the bid price at smaller increments (or not at all) in the coming bids.

Change to guarantee package. What for waste your time after 6bids?

Not in urgent need of the new ride. I am the type who drives 10-years full. Current ride expires early June.

I may consider topping up, if by the 4th bid I see no hope of COE dropping and the top up price is reasonable ($4k max, which is the difference between platinum and standard when I booked). Otherwise, I will endure till the end. In the worst case (unsuccessful after 6 bids), just book a guaranteed package after May 2nd bidding. At most go car-less for a few bids. See first...

I am not complaining about how C&C is bidding for me. I expected this already when I book the non-guaranteed.