KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

Hi all, anyone getting the front, rear and steering wheel emblem for k3? i would like to tag along. tyvm

Edited by k3k3k3

is 92 too weak?

i use Shell which does not have 92. So i have not tried. Not convenient for me to pump 92.

Perhaps others can advise

Yes..

Personally 2c worth

Looks: M3 wins. >> K3 Overall better den Altis (prefer the ass, but front cmi) 3.88/5

Room Space: K3 ~ = Altis maybe rear passenger slightly bigger & no hump) >> M3 jitao small... 4/5

Interior: M3 = Conti style,tasteful styling, K3 decent, Altis CMI 3.5/5

Price: K3 wins hand down... Altis & M3 smell smoke 5/5

Features: K3 wins hand down... Altis & M3 smell smoke 5/5

Safety: K3 >> M3/Altis (given same price) 4.5/5

Trade in (AD): M3>K3>Altis 4/5

+ Good Service (the best among all other AD I went) + Good Discount 5/5

Sign on paper... No questions asked [laugh]

I am looking at k3 as my next car.. Just curious, where do you get the facts or derive that k3 safety is better than mazda 3 and altis? Thanks.

I think they are grading it based on safety equipment relative to its price. All are 5-star NCAP-scorers but they have different layers of protection.

Altis is more expensive yet has least equipment, apparently it hasn't even got stability control program.

MZ3 is a bit more expensive than a Forte K3 but has a little less equipment.

The Forte has a generous list of equipment and this extends to its safety, which includes active assists like hill-start assist and VSM with ESC (stability management & skid control, the Mazda equivalents are labelled DSC & traction control), front parking sensors and I believe it has cruise control. I think it also has an auto-dimming rear view mirror. Lastly but not least I believe it has 6 airbags in total, two up over a MZ3 Deluxe. The KIA also has speed-sensing automatic door locks, a feature that the Mazda 3 has disabled for some weird reason in SG.

So in terms of safety vs cost the Forte is a bit better. It also has a pretty solid chassis, so it will stand up to collisions well just as these two Japanese cars will. But I imagine the extra two airbags can be meaningful to your rear passengers.

I think your fuel cap or manual will say minimum

I would just pump whatever meets the minimum.

Most modern cars in SG will run with 91 octane fuel onwards, but how well and how EFFICENT it runs is another matter altogether.

Yes 91 octane is enough to prevent the engine from knocking, but that's becos anti-knock sensors in the engine has instructed the ECU to retard (or detune the engine) to the extreme end of its operating spectrum. In a lab env, 91 octane will indeed be sufficient for daily usage.

In real world driving env however, things are not so clear cut. You see if your 92 octane is enough when you Forte is loaded with passengers, and driving in super hot climate like these few weeks. Don't be surprised to hear minor knocks from the engine under hard acceleration. And don't expect any decent fuel economy with 92 octane for the engine needs to burn more fuel to prevent knocking and pre-detonation.

The major difference between the grades, in addition to octane numbers, are the additives (or the lack of it) from various manufacturers. 98 octane will obviously receive the best cocktail portion the oil company can offer. This is why most of us reported marked improvement in drivability when we used 98 octane vs 95 or 92. 95 will get lesser/different additives mix and 92, probably borderline mix.

Between 95 and 98 the octane doesn't play such important role in overall engine operating efficiency, it is the additives that's running the show. But downgrade all the way to 92, efficiency will suffer liao.

I think they are grading it based on safety equipment relative to its price. All are 5-star NCAP-scorers but they have different layers of protection.

Altis is more expensive yet has least equipment, apparently it hasn't even got stability control program.

The Forte has a generous list of equipment and this extends to its safety, which includes active assists like hill-start assist and VSM with ESC (stability management & skid control, the Mazda equivalents are labelled DSC & traction control), front parking sensors and I believe it has cruise control. I think it also has an auto-dimming rear view mirror. Lastly but not least I believe it has 6 airbags in total, two up over a MZ3 Deluxe. The KIA also has speed-sensing automatic door locks, a feature that the Mazda 3 has disabled for some weird reason in SG.

So in terms of safety vs cost the Forte is a bit better. It also has a pretty solid chassis, so it will stand up to collisions well just as these two Japanese cars will. But I imagine the extra two airbags can be meaningful to your rear passengers.

The latest batches of Altis Elegance comes with VSC/traction control. The switch is located on the dash to the right of the steering wheel

But knowing BM, no matter how advanced Toyota progress with the Corolla platform, we will always get an empty shell so that they can have max profits.

Eg, the aircon compressor is located fitted to keep the OMV down. Yes they used factory original parts throughout, but seriously, what's the big idea to remove the engine on every brand new car just to install the compressor and its parts?

And the climate control system have no heater function. so its not a real climate control. No dual zone control also.

Even the foglamps is locally fitted with a inconveniently located push button in front of the gearshift instead of a ring switch as we would expect. No foglamp indicator in the instrument cluster for the Altis 1.6 is a base model in Thailand and the car doesn't come with foglamps so Toyota used a slightly different instrument cluster.

Last time when I was driving a Hyundai... I thought using 92 will save me money as it's cheaper.. But ended up 95 give slightly better FC because car feels easier on the go so I dun have to press more... N 95 also less vibrations n acceleration slightly smoother.

Upgrade from 92 to 98 and you will wonder if you suddenly got a new more powerful engine under the hood LOL

probably next pump try 98... but as for 92, so far no difference from 95... :)

Most modern cars in SG will run with 91 octane fuel onwards, but how well and how EFFICENT it runs is another matter altogether.

Yes 91 octane is enough to prevent the engine from knocking, but that's becos anti-knock sensors in the engine has instructed the ECU to retard (or detune the engine) to the extreme end of its operating spectrum. In a lab env, 91 octane will indeed be sufficient for daily usage.

In real world driving env however, things are not so clear cut. You see if your 92 octane is enough when you Forte is loaded with passengers, and driving in super hot climate like these few weeks. Don't be surprised to hear minor knocks from the engine under hard acceleration. And don't expect any decent fuel economy with 92 octane for the engine needs to burn more fuel to prevent knocking and pre-detonation.

The major difference between the grades, in addition to octane numbers, are the additives (or the lack of it) from various manufacturers. 98 octane will obviously receive the best cocktail portion the oil company can offer. This is why most of us reported marked improvement in drivability when we used 98 octane vs 95 or 92. 95 will get lesser/different additives mix and 92, probably borderline mix.

Between 95 and 98 the octane doesn't play such important role in overall engine operating efficiency, it is the additives that's running the show. But downgrade all the way to 92, efficiency will suffer liao.

pretty much I opt to just pump whatever is manufacturer recommended minimum; it's been proven by a lot of independents that a high octane fuel is just extra money for little benefit, but a fuel with an insufficient octane rating can damage your engine even if it doesn't affect performance.

If it's down to additives, I do have access to a mixture I trust a lot [thumbsup]

The latest batches of Altis Elegance comes with VSC/traction control. The switch is located on the dash to the right of the steering wheel

But knowing BM, no matter how advanced Toyota progress with the Corolla platform, we will always get an empty shell so that they can have max profits.

Eg, the aircon compressor is located fitted to keep the OMV down. Yes they used factory original parts throughout, but seriously, what's the big idea to remove the engine on every brand new car just to install the compressor and its parts?

And the climate control system have no heater function. so its not a real climate control. No dual zone control also.

Even the foglamps is locally fitted with a inconveniently located push button in front of the gearshift instead of a ring switch as we would expect. No foglamp indicator in the instrument cluster for the Altis 1.6 is a base model in Thailand and the car doesn't come with foglamps so Toyota used a slightly different instrument cluster.

and somehow the car's OMV is still sort of high... with their margin ~$8k?

The Kia K3 hill-start assist is awesome. I only got to know how it works recently :D

till today I'm still don't know how to activate it... lol

Btw, Kia K3 are still the most discuss topic in Korean section ... [thumbsup]

(*Inclusive of kena shoot post.... [rifle] )... lol

Edited by Hybridcar

hahaha careful ah...someone will come in to shoot you for that statement.

hahaha... we all get used to it already don't we :)

(*Inclusive of kena shoot post.... [rifle] )... lol

Come to a complete stop on a slope.

Let go on your brakes, you will see that your Forte wont roll backwards

The hill start assist will disengaged itself the moment you step on the gas.

The most impt point to note that you MUST step on the brakes to come to a complete stop. Rolling to a stop is NOT counted and the system wont be engaged.

Come to a complete stop on a slope.

Let go on your brakes, you will see that your Forte wont roll backwards

The hill start assist will disengaged itself the moment you step on the gas.

The most impt point to note that you MUST step on the brakes to come to a complete stop. Rolling to a stop is NOT counted and the system wont be engaged.

Wow... thanks. Will give it a try.. (if no car behind.. [:p] ) [thumbsup]

I guess 7hm has listed the comparisons.

Personally, as a family man. 6 airbags is definitely a must. Safety vs cost wise, for K3 I do not have to top-up more.. 1price for every features u ever need as a driver, couldn't ask for more =D

Btw anybody interested to do PPS. 3cars for the price of 2 ($800 for 3cars) 1 of the advertisers in detailing section. PM if interested to do tog =>

Edited by Maomao82

pretty much I opt to just pump whatever is manufacturer recommended minimum; it's been proven by a lot of independents that a high octane fuel is just extra money for little benefit, but a fuel with an insufficient octane rating can damage your engine even if it doesn't affect performance.

If it's down to additives, I do have access to a mixture I trust a lot [thumbsup]

and somehow the car's OMV is still sort of high... with their margin ~$8k?

But I believe the min recc is also after taking into account the ignition timing retard.

K cars adopt a different business model. Which is a good move if market penetration is their priority.