PM Lee dodges question:

Knoobie

http://www.singapore-window.org/sw99/90215nyt.htm

http://www.nytimes.com/2002/08/29/opinion/bloomberg-news-humbled.html

"About nepotism: "Would your son be Deputy Prime Minister if he were not your son?" He snaps: "If he were not my son, he would be the Prime Minister. He came up faster than any of the others, but I told him it would do him no good." The scion must await his time." [lipsrsealed]

in my opinion, i think pm lee said they're not the richest lawmakers in the world, is correct.....

lawmakers from the other countries may makes more....all under table, corrupt....

but in singapore, all above table...no corrupt....if found, all will be send to jail or back to their home....

imagine those earn peanuts take under table are rich..

what about those that earn a lot but take under table also?? woah!!

zero corruption is no longer something we can associate with our civil servants..

Different. On paper they own no business.

actually.. they do own some businesses..

AFAIK, singtel, starhub and m1 under same family tree..

not to mention others. but definitely we have some under the names of their spouses, children name.

my ex-company is already serving one...

zero corruption is no longer something we can associate with our civil servants..

no longer? it was never corruption free.

Look at how d internet helped to release news on MND & their brompton bikes. I thk 10yrs ago this wldnt have even surfaced...

relac la brudder. [grouphug] today is friday. y so uptight? [grin] all politicians are known to dodge questions.it is a matter of dodging it skilfully. he is obviously not as gd as his laopeh. his dad is a lawyer by training leh.

how do they answer to singaporean regarding corruption cases? charge them in court lor. if the system is so corrupted and beyond hope, doubt these cases will even surface to the public.

not just that.. there are many things that he wasn't on par or even half as good as his father was..

well, on today's context, you can't hide things from media too much. considering the ease of access to media over internet. thus, doing so may in return potray that you are "hiding" some thing and proves that you are guilty.

so they control mainstream media and limit freedom of speech on internet.

Look at how d internet helped to release news on MND & their brompton bikes. I thk 10yrs ago this wldnt have even surfaced...

yeah man.. I reckon that..

it was just that we held too much believe in them and no one dares to question them in the past..

just like those uncles that told me.. you think police and government don't know geyland everyday got vice meh..

and it is really sad that MDA came up with a stupid ruling for those bloggers.. I believe if it was LKY, he would have at least cover up much better..

thus, I always believe LKY > LHL any time..

Edited by Knoobie

imagine those earn peanuts take under table are rich..

what about those that earn a lot but take under table also?? woah!!

actually.. they do own some businesses..

AFAIK, singtel, starhub and m1 under same family tree..

not to mention others. but definitely we have some under the names of their spouses, children name.

my ex-company is already serving one...

You know what is on paper or not??

No on paper those are under temasek holding which belong to Singapore.

LKY also never use the word corruption free if I am not wrong.

I offer another viewpoint why there is perception that LHL is not on par with LKY. Then when Singapore was a fledging nation in '65, you literally need a dictator to steer the country out of uncertainty. Critics will say other fledging countries don't need such a dictator to survive - but that is on hindsight. LKY was firm and followed through. He may be seen as ruthless and undemocratic but probably 95% of the Singaporeans then were grateful to him. If a country is doing well and majority of the citizens are doing fine, I doubt they bother about western concepts such as democracy. I remember I read an interview of former Libya dictator Gaffadi's supporter who said that Libya generally is doing very well and Gaffadi took good care of its citizens (the country is oil rich) but he was surprised by what he saw was western media portrayal of Gaffadi on western news TV network which named him as a ruthless ruler. IMHO, if the country is performing and its citizens are doing well, does it matter what kind of leadership the country has?

Perhaps another question we need to ask ourselves: Are we simply blindly absorbing what the American / Western media have portray and blinding embracing their values and concepts? Did we overlook the positive traits of our own unique Singaporean system?

Anyway, when the baton was passed to Goh Chok Tong in the '90s, thanks to the fall of Berlin wall few years prior, the world has aligned itself to the new winner: western capitalism and their concept of democracy. The US was surely proud that its political idealogy has won and its projection of itself as the super power has caused many countries to adapt themselves to the westernized traits of a open, consultative government. I think Singapore then is no exception and nowadays we remember Goh as consultative.

Then when it comes to LHL, He knows he cannot barge his way through like what his father did and he also has to shake off the shadows of his father. He doesn't want to take limelight and often push his ministers to be the front person. I don't see anything wrong with allowing your fellow Ministers to gain more creditability. But maybe its because of that, SIngaporeans think that LHL is useless or doing nothing? The whole issue is that maybe LHL didn't want to get too much airtime? But I think it is changing now. Now he seem to appear on media more often to give the impression that he is really doing his job.

I do not agree fully with the MDA ruling (eh how come we can talk until this topic????) but I do see the merits. It allows the accrediated online media sites to be on the same footing as Straits times, CNA and the likes. Are you aware that Yahoo Singapore is now officially accreditated? Critics have asked how come websites such as TOC despite meeting the traffic requirements has not been granted the status by MDA? The answer is not difficult to answer. You just have to compare the articles between TOC and Yahoo Singapore.

I can go on and on..but im tired. LOL.. tomorrow need to wake up early to go hiking....

not just that.. there are many things that he wasn't on par or even half as good as his father was..

well, on today's context, you can't hide things from media too much. considering the ease of access to media over internet. thus, doing so may in return potray that you are "hiding" some thing and proves that you are guilty.

so they control mainstream media and limit freedom of speech on internet.

yeah man.. I reckon that..

it was just that we held too much believe in them and no one dares to question them in the past..

just like those uncles that told me.. you think police and government don't know geyland everyday got vice meh..

and it is really sad that MDA came up with a stupid ruling for those bloggers.. I believe if it was LKY, he would have at least cover up much better..

thus, I always believe LKY > LHL any time..

Edited by Ah_Zai

When can u write us your 10,000 words dissertation? :D

I offer another viewpoint why there is perception that LHL is not on par with LKY. Then when Singapore was a fledging nation in '65, you literally need a dictator to steer the country out of uncertainty. Critics will say other fledging countries don't need such a dictator to survive - but that is on hindsight. LKY was firm and followed through. He may be seen as ruthless and undemocratic but probably 95% of the Singaporeans then were grateful to him. If a country is doing well and majority of the citizens are doing fine, I doubt they bother about western concepts such as democracy. I remember I read an interview of former Libya dictator Gaffadi's supporter who said that Libya generally is doing very well and Gaffadi took good care of its citizens (the country is oil rich) but he was surprised by what he saw was western media portrayal of Gaffadi on western news TV network which named him as a ruthless ruler. IMHO, if the country is performing and its citizens are doing well, does it matter what kind of leadership the country has?

Perhaps another question we need to ask ourselves: Are we simply blindly absorbing what the American / Western media have portray and blinding embracing their values and concepts? Did we overlook the positive traits of our own unique Singaporean system?

Anyway, when the baton was passed to Goh Chok Tong in the '90s, thanks to the fall of Berlin wall few years prior, the world has aligned itself to the new winner: western capitalism and their concept of democracy. The US was surely proud that its political idealogy has won and its projection of itself as the super power has caused many countries to adapt themselves to the westernized traits of a open, consultative government. I think Singapore then is no exception and nowadays we remember Goh as consultative.

Then when it comes to LHL, He knows he cannot barge his way through like what his father did and he also has to shake off the shadows of his father. He doesn't want to take limelight and often push his ministers to be the front person. I don't see anything wrong with allowing your fellow Ministers to gain more creditability. But maybe its because of that, SIngaporeans think that LHL is useless or doing nothing? The whole issue is that maybe LHL didn't want to get too much airtime? But I think it is changing now. Now he seem to appear on media more often to give the impression that he is really doing his job.

I do not agree fully with the MDA ruling (eh how come we can talk until this topic????) but I do see the merits. It allows the accrediated online media sites to be on the same footing as Straits times, CNA and the likes. Are you aware that Yahoo Singapore is now officially accreditated? Critics have asked how come websites such as TOC despite meeting the traffic requirements has not been granted the status by MDA? The answer is not difficult to answer. You just have to compare the articles between TOC and Yahoo Singapore.

I can go on and on..but im tired. LOL.. tomorrow need to wake up early to go hiking....

Edited by AhJason