Alfa 159 Part VIII (Any Alfa discussion also welcomed)

Gorjiam

So this considered an upgrade eh?

And from what I read, clutch almost always have to change...

Normally is how much ah?

170+ pounds alone before shipping for normal clutches

Same thing?

http://www.sachsperformance.com/Sachs-Performance-Kupplung-Sportkupplung/Alfa-Romeo/Alfa-Romeo-159-Sportwagon-939-03-06-11-11/2-4-JTDM-147-kW-;-03/2006-11/2011:::2_1542_4762_4763.html?language=en

Looks quite off the rack?

What abt this?

http://autolusso.co.uk/workshop/clutch-replacement.html

Supposed to be normal but much pricier?!

Edited by Theredstar

If you are very sure of the item, please try to get from the direct source.

E.g. Some of the front brembos are the same front caliper as Evos and Subarus.

So just buy the Evo and Subaru front pads online, 50% cheaper than Auto Lusso in some cases.

The rears, you have no choice, it's a Alfa special.

As some of we ARSEs know there is a 147GTA Canary (sorry but new owner PLEASE put this classic Alfa back to original colour - will lift value for such a classic car) going for sale apparently.......

Came across this back episode of TG re the 147GTA vs RS vs R32..........................and the vote goes to????

http://www.topgear.com/uk/videos/alfa-in-drag

Oh well, some people's bling are another's poison. But even myself feel that an Alfa looks weird when it's so hyped up like that.

I do miss my stock looking 156 GTA at times...

The main difference between owning a 156 GTA and a Japanese Econ Bling Rocket?

156 GTA: Mature man in the street walks up to you and say: "NICE CAR!"

Japanese Bling Rocket: Teenagers/Kids shout from the street: "NICE CAR!"

Both still fail by the way.. cause in the end no women responded positively.. [bigcry]

156 GTA: Women, "Eh, your car looks Sooo AH PEK (Old man)"

Japanese Bling Rocket: Women, "Erm, you very young at heart hor?"

Don't mind changing my clutch soon, current one is about 35,000kms already .. and doesn't feel as smooth as the original one, esp when hot.

Saw this great example of a blackened grill on Alfaowner:

post-52900-0-87750300-1390036616_thumb.jpg

Edited by Count_duku

ya thats the one but that is for manual not for SS, they need to custom for SS.

finally saw you bro! awesome grey 159 wagon :D ... so u live just across the road! :D

Edited by Travistayjh

Don't mind changing my clutch soon, current one is about 35,000kms already .. and doesn't feel as smooth as the original one, esp when hot.

Why 35k need to change ah?

Very curious leh.

Is it an Alfa/ big CC car thing?

Cos my last ride 50k also nv change anything but some belts!!

Jin swee leh this car.

Colour coordination v nice

Dun think red can pull off

And I love my bling. Lol

Edited by Theredstar

Why 35k need to change ah?

Very curious leh.

Is it an Alfa/ big CC car thing?

Cos my last ride 50k also nv change anything but some belts!!

Jin swee leh this car.

Colour coordination v nice

Dun think red can pull off

And I love my bling. Lol

35,000 is too early actually as the first one lasted 120,000km. Just that maybe the Sachs one would perform better than the current, improve the drive.

im impress by the fact that it increase the torque by 15% lol not sure how true thou.

From the email that u posted, i don't think there will be any increase in torque when you upgrade the clutch.

It more of with the upgraded clutch, the max torque the clutch can take at it's limit is 15% more compared to stock - ie when you mod your car for more power.

Correct me if I am wrong

From the email that u posted, i don't think there will be any increase in torque when you upgrade the clutch.

It more of with the upgraded clutch, the max torque the clutch can take at it's limit is 15% more compared to stock - ie when you mod your car for more power.

Correct me if I am wrong

The clutch disc will get a new special organic friction material. With this kind of modification, the
transmittable torque is about 15% higher, in conjunction with excellent durability and life span.
guess you are right after reading the sentence again :) it does not increase the torque, thanks :D
Edited by Travistayjh

Oh well, some people's bling are another's poison. But even myself feel that an Alfa looks weird when it's so hyped up like that.

I do miss my stock looking 156 GTA at times...

The main difference between owning a 156 GTA and a Japanese Econ Bling Rocket?

156 GTA: Mature man in the street walks up to you and say: "NICE CAR!"

Japanese Bling Rocket: Teenagers/Kids shout from the street: "NICE CAR!"

Both still fail by the way.. cause in the end no women responded positively.. [bigcry]

156 GTA: Women, "Eh, your car looks Sooo AH PEK (Old man)"

Japanese Bling Rocket: Women, "Erm, you very young at heart hor?"

yes Gorjam - guess my comment was related to working with and owning classics most of my life till I moved to SG. Keep as original as possible and yu maximise the resale. Paint like a canary and you immediately turn off true collectors and enthusiasts............

having said that I get old men, bellboys, SYTs, Ang Mos etc all going gaga over Bella............:)

Think hes blckened headlight shrouds as well................looks nice :).