2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Your switch on the left has a few modes. Bottom up this is the sequence, correct me if I'm wrong.

From bottom, it is switch off headlight, which is the bright DRL.

Then moving up is Auto. During day time, I realise the DRL brightness is the same as above.

Then u move up one more time is the dimmer DRL. But after reading the manual again, I realised that this switches on the license plate light also... later I will check the difference on my car again.

Then u move up again is manual headlight.

A qn on the XT's DRL.

when car is at P gear, handbrakes pulled up, when I start engine, should the DRL turn on?

I had the impression that it is, but recently I accidently turned one of the knobs on the left( cant remember which  one) and now, the DRL does not turn on after engine is started with handbrake up.

only when handbrake put down (gear still on P) then the DRL will turn on.

Just want to check what is the correct DRL behaviour.

A qn on the XT's DRL.

when car is at P gear, handbrakes pulled up, when I start engine, should the DRL turn on?

I had the impression that it is, but recently I accidently turned one of the knobs on the left( cant remember which one) and now, the DRL does not turn on after engine is started with handbrake up.

only when handbrake put down (gear still on P) then the DRL will turn on.

Just want to check what is the correct DRL behaviour.

It will only turn on after you start car and release the hand brake.

thank you.

So no way it will turn on w/o handbrake released? I prolly have been imagining things all along  [grin]

thank you.

So no way it will turn on w/o handbrake released? I prolly have been imagining things all along [grin]

Right ater released to switch on the drl, pull the handbrake again.

thank you.

So no way it will turn on w/o handbrake released? I prolly have been imagining things all along [grin]

The DRL will stay on until you off the engine. Even the hand brake is pull up after initial on.

I have done my coating and solar film liao.

I will say the solar film is quite successful, as my wife didn't even realise our sun roof was fully open till i told her. Had a small chat with another owner while waiting for the solar film work to finish. He told me that initially there will be small air bubbles and they are actually fine. I was struggling whether i should point out every single air bubbles since i actually got the top grade till he gave me the assurance. He said that there is a small film of water between the solar films and the window, but after a few days of driving they will all be gone. If after 2 weeks i still see alot of air bubbles, then go back and ask them to redo. Apparently he did 4 cars with them liao, so i think can trust him. So morale of the story: mai kan cheong.

As for the coating, i'm very happy too. It was from one of the mobile services, so everything was by hand and there's no swirl mark at all. The guys were very hardworking and meticulous too.

Will share a bit of knowledge of what i researched about coating. I did the 9H ceramic coating.

First, let me debunk some of the myths. 1) Hardness. Diamond is 10H, so all those who tell u about 10H or 12H... u ask ur wife take out her diamond ring and scratch their cars, see whether they dare or not. Even 9H is a bit of marketing gimick too... so my expectation of hardness isn't too high unless they install reactive armour on my car.

2) Duration. The mobile service boss told me honestly, the coating lasts around 1.5 to 2 years, while the window coating only lasts 8 months. After you do the window coating, try not to use wiper too much unless it is very very heavy rain, the coating itself is enough to repel the water such that u should have a clear view. If it isn't tt gd... then u might wanna consider to not patronize them again. But to be frank, 8 months is too short for me and likely i won't touch it up. As for those companies tt guarantees 5 yrs or even 10 yrs... not sure what technology they using, as i haven't found anything like tt before.

3) Technology. Alot of people claim their coating is nano-technology. Well... it is true, since the coating material itsellf has natural nano properties but its not something that they 'added' into it.

Not sure about the rules here, anyone who wants to know the companies whom i engaged can PM me directly, i will share the name and the prices as well.

I will say the solar film is quite successful, as my wife didn't even realise our sun roof was fully open till i told her. Had a small chat with another owner while waiting for the solar film work to finish. He told me that initially there will be small air bubbles and they are actually fine. I was struggling whether i should point out every single air bubbles since i actually got the top grade till he gave me the assurance. He said that there is a small film of water between the solar films and the window, but after a few days of driving they will all be gone. If after 2 weeks i still see alot of air bubbles, then go back and ask them to redo. Apparently he did 4 cars with them liao, so i think can trust him. So morale of the story: mai kan cheong.

As for the coating, i'm very happy too. It was from one of the mobile services, so everything was by hand and there's no swirl mark at all. The guys were very hardworking and meticulous too.

Will share a bit of knowledge of what i researched about coating. I did the 9H ceramic coating.

First, let me debunk some of the myths. 1) Hardness. Diamond is 10H, so all those who tell u about 10H or 12H... u ask ur wife take out her diamond ring and scratch their cars, see whether they dare or not. Even 9H is a bit of marketing gimick too... so my expectation of hardness isn't too high unless they install reactive armour on my car.

2) Duration. The mobile service boss told me honestly, the coating lasts around 1.5 to 2 years, while the window coating only lasts 8 months. After you do the window coating, try not to use wiper too much unless it is very very heavy rain, the coating itself is enough to repel the water such that u should have a clear view. If it isn't tt gd... then u might wanna consider to not patronize them again. But to be frank, 8 months is too short for me and likely i won't touch it up. As for those companies tt guarantees 5 yrs or even 10 yrs... not sure what technology they using, as i haven't found anything like tt before.

3) Technology. Alot of people claim their coating is nano-technology. Well... it is true, since the coating material itsellf has natural nano properties but its not something that they 'added' into it.

Not sure about the rules here, anyone who wants to know the companies whom i engaged can PM me directly, i will share the name and the prices as well.

I will say the solar film is quite successful, as my wife didn't even realise our sun roof was fully open till i told her. Had a small chat with another owner while waiting for the solar film work to finish. He told me that initially there will be small air bubbles and they are actually fine. I was struggling whether i should point out every single air bubbles since i actually got the top grade till he gave me the assurance. He said that there is a small film of water between the solar films and the window, but after a few days of driving they will all be gone. If after 2 weeks i still see alot of air bubbles, then go back and ask them to redo. Apparently he did 4 cars with them liao, so i think can trust him. So morale of the story: mai kan cheong.

First, let me debunk some of the myths. 1) Hardness. Diamond is 10H, so all those who tell u about 10H or 12H... u ask ur wife take out her diamond ring and scratch their cars, see whether they dare or not. Even 9H is a bit of marketing gimick too... so my expectation of hardness isn't too high unless they install reactive armour on my car.

2) Duration. The mobile service boss told me honestly, the coating lasts around 1.5 to 2 years, while the window coating only lasts 8 months. After you do the window coating, try not to use wiper too much unless it is very very heavy rain, the coating itself is enough to repel the water such that u should have a clear view. If it isn't tt gd... then u might wanna consider to not patronize them again. But to be frank, 8 months is too short for me and likely i won't touch it up. As for those companies tt guarantees 5 yrs or even 10 yrs... not sure what technology they using, as i haven't found anything like tt before.

3) Technology. Alot of people claim their coating is nano-technology. Well... it is true, since the coating material itsellf has natural nano properties but its not something that they 'added' into it.

No harm sharing good lobang, do let us know the shop.

I also agree on the 9H hardness not being very hard.

Went to Malaysia for durian, came back with a few stone chips on bonnet and front bumper.

The triple layer 9H hardness coating lost to stones

Went to Malaysia for durian, came back with a few stone chips on bonnet and front bumper.

The triple layer 9H hardness coating lost to stones

The triple layer 9H hardness coating lost to stones ð

You need paint protection film against stone chips. I did it for my previous ride, bonnet plus front bumper (not cheap). My ride did not have any stone chips but the film will turn yellow with age and have unsightly water stain marks after car wash. After I sold the ride, I read that the film needs to be waxed to protect/maintain it. Did not do that at all....

Lastly, no idea if the film will damage the paintwork when removed. I think it has to be removed after a certain timeframe to prevent this.

Wah... yours is triple... mine is single, sure instant KO from stones. Lol

I did the titanium series from Absolute Tint for 750sgd total, 98% IR rejection. This is promo rate.

Coating is from Happy Cars. Coating itself is 320sgd, window is another 80sgd.

The important spec to compare should be total solar energy rejection. You will also need to compare films with the same visible light transmission and this affects the heat rejection too.

Some info in link below.

http://solutions.3m.com.sg/wps/portal/3M/en_SG/PrestigeMobile/About/InfraredRejection/

Wah... yours is triple... mine is single, sure instant KO from stones. Lol

I did the titanium series from Absolute Tint for 750sgd total, 98% IR rejection. This is promo rate.

Coating is from Happy Cars. Coating itself is 320sgd, window is another 80sgd.

The important spec to compare should be total solar energy rejection. You will also need to compare films with the same visible light transmission and this affects the heat rejection too.

Some info in link below.

http://solutions.3m.com.sg/wps/portal/3M/en_SG/PrestigeMobile/About/InfraredRejection/

You need paint protection film against stone chips. I did it for my previous ride, bonnet plus front bumper (not cheap). My ride did not have any stone chips but the film will turn yellow with age and have unsightly water stain marks after car wash. After I sold the ride, I read that the film needs to be waxed to protect/maintain it. Did not do that at all....

Lastly, no idea if the film will damage the paintwork when removed. I think it has to be removed after a certain timeframe to prevent this.

Good info shared. Did you do PPS for your current ride?

Some info in link below.

Guess i should had stated the full spec. The film i did has 98% IR rejection, 99% UV rejection and 88% visible light transmission (VLT) rejection. Thanks for the info, didnt know the other 2 factors also affect heat rejection, thus i only stated IR initially.

88% light rejection for all windows?

bro, light reject can do to 88%, can pass LTA meh? i remember the number is no so high one lei.

LTA inspection 4 years later.. maybe that's why.