Car park to increase

Picanto

A lot of people are missing the point, parking charges have nothing to do with cost of cars at all. It has to do with cost of land and yield on real estate. It is a fact that parking spaces are insufficient and will have to go up. It is also true that cbd parking is considered low compared to other places.

If it is too expensive to drive and park, there is public transport. For those who complain, well you aren't the only one who drives and there are many others willing to pay higher prices for parking.

The cost of car ownership got nothing to do with parking charges ? Don't study only the micro fabrics. Look beyond. The price to pay for the cost of car ownership in Singapore has gone beyond others with not only the current parking issue. We have COE, ERP, high road tax, high petrol tax etc. Anything that has something to do with cars here is high. So what if our CBD charges are lower then others but they are enjoying other perks which we are not. If there is land scarce, then think of a solution for eg building MSCP higher upwards, and not always giving reasons for the increase which does not help at all. No change of ideas but just pass the cost to others is the easiest way out as long as sumthing has been done means good leow lor.

The gahmen should have built more than 12-storeys high MSCP, obviously with lifts.

I should have thought that they would have wanted Singapore to 'expand' its population, but why is it that the things they do would suggest otherwise???

Seems that PAPPIES has an internal struggle.

Unless you mean lifts for cars, would you want to drive 12 storeys to park your car ( & 12 storeys to get down)? But I guess its still better than no parking.

The cost of car ownership got nothing to do with parking charges ? Don't study only the micro fabrics. Look beyond. The price to pay for the cost of car ownership in Singapore has gone beyond others with not only the current parking issue. We have COE, ERP, high road tax, high petrol tax etc. Anything that has something to do with cars here is high. So what if our CBD charges are lower then others but they are enjoying other perks which we are not. If there is land scarce, then think of a solution for eg building MSCP higher upwards, and not always giving reasons for the increase which does not help at all. No change of ideas but just pass the cost to others is the easiest way out as long as sumthing has been done means good leow lor.

I think he meant to say the cost of parking is not directly link to how much you pay (as in from dealer). No one contested that it is not a big part of car ownership.

I think STA (or whichever authority), state for buildings in CBD, minimum amount of floors must be used as parking, & I believe most building go for the bare minimum, as its not as profitable as having the floor for business use.

Even if the place can accommodate more parking, the roads may not be able to hold that much.

For the last point, they can charge higher because people are willing to pay! That's Singapore for you. COE goes up, does it stop people from using the roads? No they just pay more, angry, yes, pay, still do.

The gahmen should have built more than 12-storeys high MSCP, obviously with lifts.

I should have thought that they would have wanted Singapore to 'expand' its population, but why is it that the things they do would suggest otherwise???

Seems that PAPPIES has an internal struggle.

agreed ! Cant increase the mscp horizontaly than vertically. Why they stop at 5 or 6 storey currently. HDB flats nowadays go as high up as 30 storey so a 10 storey MSCP should be alright with the landscape. [drivingcar]

In many other big cities, most people choose to take the subway or public transport when they work in the main business district, as its more practical (cheaper, not caught in jams, convenient). They only used their cars in weekend, or to other area of town or outside the city.

In Singapore, many people very stubborn or Bin Tua (big head), just because the cars are super expensive here, or they resent to squeeze with others in train, they die die must drive the car everywhere they go, even if sometime, it may not be the best option.

If you need to be on the road often (meet client or something), fair enough, but most of the cases, its perfectly ok to take train to work, IMO.

In those countries B&B cars are so cheap that it does not project an image of "status" like our sillypore. Couple with the high parking cost in business districts, really make no sense to drive into "business districts".

The difference is that in other countries, people can choose how they want to get stuck in a jam. Take thailand(public transport and private transport is alot-lot cheaper then sg) for example. When i was there and observe the peak hr traffic and commuters goin by, you can either choose to squeeze in their public trains which is really crazily squeezy but you are on the move or you can use a car (which is alot cheaper then having a car in sg) but get stuck in rush hour traffic (which is a killer compared to our cte jams). The issue here is that we don't have a choice which is why people are making noise. Taking MRT or the bus maybe cheap to you but too others considering the pack buses and train. long waiting times and the increase in fares doesnt make it look like the service is getting anymore efficient and does not justify any fare increase unless something is improved.

And compared to other countires we don't have an alternative means such as buying our own private transport unless you are very loaded or are finacially stable. Even then the roads are jam packed and you're a paying for measure of aiding congestion which don't seem to work. obviously people are going to be frustrated make noise. Whatever in is congestion is part and parcel of city life. Every major city in the world goes through it no matter how big the country but we don't want this too be used as an excuse to be a money spinner for the guys up there. If you do increase anything make sure the increase is there to improve the current infrastructure or making the public transport more efficient(i know our public transport is very efficient already - but if thats the case why increase the fares somemore if it is that efficient unless you want to improve something)

No need 30 dollars, near $8 already smooth liao. Look at CTE during peak hours compare to Lornie Road at the same time. Both road almost lead to the same destination but CTE is super smooth. I would say $8 per usage is a big deterrence for most drivers here.

It takes no rocket scientist to tell you where the traffic from CTE will go.

It does not curb the traffic condition as bottleneck will just be forward to other places.

What will be next? To curb traffic condition at these bottleneck places, just build ERP?

The root of the problem can be at a few places:-

Firstly: Education (TP Test): Every instructor in Singapore tell drivers; slow = safe.

Fact: You are unsafe at all speeds & if one cannot handle a speeding car; how can one be a good driver?

If all is able to drive at a faster speeed = traffic will be faster = lesser jam.

Secondly: COE Taxation system: Tag to car and not to owner.

Fact: If one is burden with car due to loan, one will continue to drive. If that COE tag to owner, one can get rid of the car whenever he/she dont require it.

Thirdly: Population: Infrastructure is not able to handle so many FT/FW yet planners import so many junk in.

Fact: population rose, property rose and at the same time, COE drop.

If that during then, population rose, property rose & COE rose too; traffic condition will be much better now.

Supply is more than demand and now reversing the supply/demand hence inflation hits at all time high.

If COE supply is continously at constant pricing; today's traffic will be much better.

Same goes to the property pricing (we might be facing the bubble to be pop).

The topic is about parking which is not related to car ownership.

It only co-relate to each other and I do have to agree that parking have to increase.

Who to blame??? The people that allows FREE Importion of FT, Property Increase & Over Supply of COE during the last few years.

If that they had worked together in a non-agressive manner, they will remains as the People's People.

If they make it painful enough there will be less cars on the roads.

But the first thing is to go to the core

ie. Make it less easy to buy by raising minimum dp and reducing loan tenors.

Secondly scrap the vampire car scheme

You sure they shouldn't just make all cars OPC's??? That way if we want to drive between 7 and 7 its already $20 [sly]

Correct, when i saw the article and that 'carpark expert; concluded that our parking fees here is way too low, i was like WTF! [rifle] I dont understand how come they like to compare sg pricing with those countries with super high pricing?! Whether it is parking, living of standard or public transport?! [shakehead]

How come i never see them compared our salary with those countries who is paying high salary due to high living standard, and that our salary in sg still getting pathetic pay le?

Agreed. To add, how come never compare our healthcare cost? many of these countries healthcare are subsidized. Super subsidized.

Cos over in many countries, they take pride in their healthcare, as that's part of the UN laws for humans.

It's a basic need to be provided, wherever possible, free, to the citizens of the world.

Only Singapore don't take part in it. It's just money set aside from the gross salary. The gahmen don't give a hoot. At most give interest only.

But the only way to give us interest in our CPF, is to take our CPF contributions out to invest in the first place.

When they lose money, they keep their mouth shut. When they make a profit, they just continue to give us the interest as before, instead of reducing it.

Crap right? The country we live in?

look at the prices of hdb flats and you know

my friend jus bought a 4A in bukit panjang for 300k with his wife

and he is 30 going on 31

Edited by Ithunk

my friend jus bought a 4A in bukit panjang for 300k with his wife

and he is 30 going on 31

then be prepared to pay until hair turns white

he is sharing with his wife monthly about 1k a month

each pay 500

but i think he is facing alot of costs such as renovation which is about 20k