2014 / 2015 BMW 2 Series Active / Gran Tourer

slickshifters

Image is impt. That's why base model BMW does the de-badging.

But everyone can tell the 316 from the single tailpipe, dunno if it is a case of "bluff oneself bluff people"...

F30 320 also single tailpipe le.

If you put stock 316 & 320 side by side de-badge, i can differentiate them easily.

Now got 318 [laugh]

Nowadays, 3 series drive well compared to car in the same segment.  But it is too soft as compared to its predecessor.

Wah you must be hardcore beemer driver [laugh]. Actually all sports version of 3 series all quite 'firm' on the suspension already, a good blend between comfort and firmness. Knew 1 335 driver go change from stock to sports shock and regretted like siao as he said its too hard for day-to-day driving and lost the comfort+firmness feeling.

Sadly i m not driving BMW now.

Other than M sports, all line uses the standard suspension.

By changing sports shock only, there could be mismatch between spring and shocks resulted in too hard.  That's why M sports includes both spring and shock.

Good to see you are enjoying your ride. I hope to join you very soon. Enough with the label issue, it's too small to argue over it. I will look on the bright side like you, car is now easier to polish. :)

Anyway, one more noob question, after I told my frens that I am keen to get a diesel car, some mentioned about Air locking of fuel tank, must not let fuel level drops below 1/4 tank else run the risk of air lock and car not restarting afterward. With the modern diesel fuel tank, I find this difficult to believe. Is this true? DO you also exercise this caution?

Life's too unpredictable to be engrossed over little details indeed [:)] . Enjoy our live/ride, live within means, and cherish our family is the key to happier living. Case in point: within a span of a few months, I have 2 male neighbours passed on due to heart attack. 1 at 30+, 1 at 40+ (last 10 days, his car still parked there). Concern about label? Don't lah [laugh]

On air locking: I never knew of such issue, and drove to refuel warning and below 1 quarter without hesitation [laugh] . Agent car with 3 yr warranty and free servicing leh, don't worry too much :). Like I always tell people, Merc and BMW are very hardy car once PROPERLY MAINTAINED, aparts from lemons or small electronic issues. Most complaints come from poorly maintained cars or pre-owned neglected cars. Some hardly can afford, thus once bought have no money to maintain them properly. Not just new cars - a properly maintained pre-owned merc/bmw will be a joy to own as well. [:)]

Sadly i m not driving BMW now.

Other than M sports, all line uses the standard suspension.

By changing sports shock only, there could be mismatch between spring and shocks resulted in too hard.  That's why M sports includes both spring and shock.

Wah you v good knowledge of bmw [thumbsup]

I know a few 535i owners who debadged their cars leh. This is also very common in Europe where people prefer Q-cars.

I also know 2 523i owners in Singapore who re-badged their cars as M5 after changing fenders, side skirts and bumpers, so well... ä¸ç§ç±³å»ç¾ç§äºº.. there is no right or wrong.

Don't be too consious of what people think of you. Be proud of yourself and your beemer. I don't see what's wrong with driving a base model. Girls will only know "wah you drive Bee Emm!" :grin:

I debagde my 520

Malu la go malaysia, bmw there all higher spec lol

Hi bros,

I need some advise as I will be collecting my 216dAT sometime in Feb b4 CNY.

In the package, it includes 2 spa treatment which is some Nano polishing. The first will be done prior to collection. The second will be done sometime in the second

I am thinking of taking up the Ceramic Pro or CS2 on day 1.

Please share any advise. Thanks.

Hi bros,

I need some advise as I will be collecting my 216dAT sometime in Feb b4 CNY.

In the package, it includes 2 spa treatment which is some Nano polishing. The first will be done prior to collection. The second will be done sometime in the second

I am thinking of taking up the Ceramic Pro or CS2 on day 1.

Please share any advise. Thanks.

Then u need to forgo the 2 spa treatment once u do Ceramic Pro or CS2..

Same as me.. they gave me 1 spa treatment on 1st servicing.. but i already did my pps so i forgo it..

anyway just let pml do theirs first? your own pps can do after 1 year or so..

his brain is bmw but body is mini

very weird one haha

half-horse-half-man-alps.jpg

I debagde my 520

Malu la go malaysia, bmw there all higher spec lol

Agreed, the bee emm there quite high specs, and surprisingly the price of beemers is not that cheap over there.

A while back, my Malaysian friend went back to Malaysia as a returning expat and he bought a Porsche, due to an incentive given by government to entice Malaysian professionals back to work. Not bad sia. House also cheaper I remember.

Anyway I'm contented with what I have. :)

Edited by Weez911

Good to see you are enjoying your ride. I hope to join you very soon. Enough with the label issue, it's too small to argue over it. I will look on the bright side like you, car is now easier to polish. :)

Anyway, one more noob question, after I told my frens that I am keen to get a diesel car, some mentioned about Air locking of fuel tank, must not let fuel level drops below 1/4 tank else run the risk of air lock and car not restarting afterward. With the modern diesel fuel tank, I find this difficult to believe. Is this true? DO you also exercise this caution?

You have the budget and you are paying for the car plus servicing plus whatever that comes with ownership of it. Don't give no sheet to what others might say about your car. Most importantly, you must like it. If otherwise, don't buy. There are other cars available.

Image is impt. That's why base model BMW does the de-badging.

But everyone can tell the 316 from the single tailpipe, dunno if it is a case of "bluff oneself bluff people"...

Image???

Who is paying for the fuel, servicing and any cough and cold that the car may suffer from time to time? Those ppl that say your car is very atas or the owner?

It is an endless chase if you ask me. I drive a 3 series, there will be others who drives a 5er, and others...7er. One mountain is higher than the other. How to compete unless I print my own currency? [flowerface]

Image???

Who is paying for the fuel, servicing and any cough and cold that the car may suffer from time to time? Those ppl that say your car is very atas or the owner?

It is an endless chase if you ask me. I drive a 3 series, there will be others who drives a 5er, and others...7er. One mountain is higher than the other. How to compete unless I print my own currency? [flowerface]

If image is not important, BMW won't sell at a premium vs other "commoner" makes.

Agreed, the bee emm there quite high specs, and surprisingly the price of beemers is not that cheap over there.

A while back, my Malaysian friend went back to Malaysia as a returning expat and he bought a Porsche, due to an incentive given by government to entice Malaysian professionals back to work. Not bad sia. House also cheaper I remember.

Anyway I'm contented with what I have. :)

Malaysia and indonesia is 2nd most ex to buy a car in the world lol

But housing price there indeed cheap. $1m sgd can get u a nice detach house

Then u need to forgo the 2 spa treatment once u do Ceramic Pro or CS2..

Same as me.. they gave me 1 spa treatment on 1st servicing.. but i already did my pps so i forgo it..

anyway just let pml do theirs first? your own pps can do after 1 year or so..

his brain is bmw but body is mini

very weird one haha

half-horse-half-man-alps.jpg

Hi Rayoflight,

Do you mind sharing why you chose a PPS outside? I believe the car undergone a first spa before collection.

I am not sure if the PML spa is "good enough" long term wise. Hence I am toying between Revol, Ceramic Pro or CS2 that offers 3 years package. At the moment, I am tilt towards Ceramic Pro as I don't have to keep going back for touch up every 6 months.

Do you mind sharing which one u did?

Hi Rayoflight,

Do you mind sharing why you chose a PPS outside? I believe the car undergone a first spa before collection.

I am not sure if the PML spa is "good enough" long term wise. Hence I am toying between Revol, Ceramic Pro or CS2 that offers 3 years package. At the moment, I am tilt towards Ceramic Pro as I don't have to keep going back for touch up every 6 months.

I'm going to PML for 1st servicing soon. Similarly, I've 2 car spa to be used (understood within 1 year). Apparently, PML's contractor is using Sonax products but I had PPS done by bmwsg forum vendor whom is also using Sonax. I'm not sure whether PML's contractor does PPS for the 2 free treatments but my experience upon collecting the new car last May (SE told me the contractor just took over and cork up everyone's delivery schedule) is that the shine does not last. There doesn't seem to be this protective layer of PPS and watermarks started forming after just 1 month.

The vendor whom I'm using advised me that it is still possible to let them do car spa, just not to use machine polish and tell them to focus more on the 'dirty' rims.

Hi Rayoflight,

I am on Revol package and i only go back once 1 year.  Most of the time, my car is parked indoor.  No matter how dirty the car is, car paint still shine.

The only catch is i only go back to Revol for car wash.

Hi Rayoflight,

I chose to do pps outside (detail mania) because i don't trust PML car spa. They didn't state whether its just normal detailing or full pps (glass/ceramic/nano etc coating).

Somemore the 1st servicing is 12k km away...thats about 6-8mths later for my usage. I did pps on my 2nd or 3rd mth...

Nowadays just go for wallet friendly pps..

no point spending above 1k for pps..

For the waterbeading/shine effects to last, really need to self wash.. our brake dust is pain to wash the rims..

hahahaha, after 6mths..i went to car wash liao. Before CNY probably going to do another pps make swee swee to last for 1more year..

Any feedback on the Aircon for those seated at the 3rd row? We test drive the car just now and my wife was seated at the 3rd row and she complained that it was a little warm.

She didn't tell me on the spot, so I didn't do any adjustments to see if the situation can be improved.