Cheap and Good Eats

Mercs

[Moved] Blk 38A Margaret Dr, #02-24 Margaret Hawker Centre, Singapore 142038

IMG_0846.JPG

https://eatbook.sg/xi-le-ting/

Xi Le Ting: Ah Ma Sells $1 Chinese Desserts Such As Green Bean Soup And Cheng Tng For Over 40 Years

image.png.ea38d88baf3fce20d235987f6d980a51.png

image.thumb.png.3c4a3e5186506c1d4c8fe2cd3caf1b58.png

Google review (2 months ago- For $1 a bowl, there is nothing to lose but order all different bowl each. 4 options to choose) 

• Praise 11

https://danielfooddiary.com/2022/03/06/mixue/

Mixue Singapore – Famous Chinese Dessert Brand Offers $1 Ice Cream Cone And $2.50 Bubble Tea At Clementi

image.png.4598d91ba7a8cfa4bbcd9c7e31d3073d.png

Google review (a week ago) - Lost count of how many times I’ve come here in the past few months for the shake shakes, fruit tea and ice cream. The much more affordable price compared to the many bubble tea chains in Clementi is not helping at all. The staff are always so friendly despite the busyness. All these factors keep me coming back for more despite the risk of diabetes. Send help.

14 minutes ago, Mercs said:

https://singpromos.com/dining-restaurants-food/mcdonalds-spore-1-for-1-laksa-delight-prawn-burger-deal-from-aug-22-25-means-you-pay-only-s3-70-each-259908/

McDonald’s S’pore 1-for-1 Laksa Delight Prawn Burger deal from Aug 22 – 25 means you pay only S$3.70 each

image.thumb.png.e4a701a3c2988adab894bfef423418e5.png

Tried this today.  I can only afford cai png, but since it is also around my cai png's price, ok la...try one time.

Burger not bad , but still prefer my cai png. 

35 minutes ago, Mercs said:

https://eatbook.sg/xi-le-ting/

Xi Le Ting: Ah Ma Sells $1 Chinese Desserts Such As Green Bean Soup And Cheng Tng For Over 40 Years

image.png.ea38d88baf3fce20d235987f6d980a51.png

image.thumb.png.3c4a3e5186506c1d4c8fe2cd3caf1b58.png

Google review (2 months ago- For $1 a bowl, there is nothing to lose but order all different bowl each. 4 options to choose) 

Yup. Seconded. Cheap and good! 

43 minutes ago, Mercs said:

[Moved] Blk 38A Margaret Dr, #02-24 Margaret Hawker Centre, Singapore 142038

IMG_0846.JPG

This desert stall price really hard to find liao. Dont know got increased price or not after moved to Margaret Hawker Centre?

4 minutes ago, Starry said:

Tried this today.  I can only afford cai png, but since it is also around my cai png's price, ok la...try one time.

Burger not bad , but still prefer my cai png. 

Thanks for the feedback. To me it's a novelty, U.P. from $7.40 probably ex, 1 for 1 can give a try.

Same here, but I'm a picky eater, any random cai png won't cut it for me, my all time fave -  http://thefoodchapter.blogspot.com/2016/04/jing-shu-shi-curry-rice-tanglin-halt.html

Or these  - https://danielfooddiary.com/2022/03/20/looshainanese/   https://www.timeout.com/singapore/news/beo-crescent-curry-rice-close-081222

5 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Yup. Seconded. Cheap and good! 

Thanks, good hawkers we support 👍🏻

4 minutes ago, 13177 said:

This desert stall price really hard to find liao. Dont know got increased price or not after moved to Margaret Hawker Centre?

No idea, Margaret HC still quite new some stalls not ready to open so yet to go explore, but even if got increase probably won't be too much, even at $1.50 still cheap n good, in my hood dessert stalls mostly already no $2 up no talk 🤣

If you go can try this famous stall, price higher now after move no $4 no talk 😅

11 minutes ago, Mercs said:

Thanks for the feedback. To me it's a novelty, U.P. from $7.40 probably ex, 1 for 1 can give a try.

Same here, but I'm a picky eater, any random cai png won't cut it for me, my all time fave -  http://thefoodchapter.blogspot.com/2016/04/jing-shu-shi-curry-rice-tanglin-halt.html

Or these  - https://danielfooddiary.com/2022/03/20/looshainanese/   https://www.timeout.com/singapore/news/beo-crescent-curry-rice-close-081222

Thanks for the recommendation bro. They look nice!  As long not too ex, I will go try.....

2 minutes ago, Starry said:

Thanks for the recommendation bro. They look nice!  As long not too ex, I will go try.....

No prob bro, thats what this thread is for, sharing is caring 🙂

For JinSS i normally will choose 3 to 4 sides with rice around $4+ to $5+, to me still good value for the taste, if to compare random cai png stalls probably on the higher for some. Do note already enbloc there, no idea if move to Margaret HC or on hold to open.

Loos also the more ex version than the norm, BeoC closing shop soon, enjoy while still last. Happy makan! :D

https://danielfooddiary.com/2022/05/28/hoekeekitchen/

Hoe Kee Kitchen 和記雞飯小厨 – $2 Chicken Rice With Michelin Recommendation Found At Jurong West

Hoe Kee Kitchen 和記雞飯小厨
Jurong West 505 Market & Food Centre #01-39, Blk 505 Jurong West Street 52, Singapore 640505
Opening Hours: 10:30am – 3pm (Mon), 10am – 6pm (Tues – Sun)

image.thumb.png.0c47bab89c20a742b7db0c3ad5a00683.png

Google review (a month ago) - The rice of the chicken rice is superb. My kids after eating since young, now they are in the twenties still said best chicken rice.The cost of per plate of chicken rice was $2.50, just increased due to the lack of fresh chicken if not, they have been selling $2 per plate.

https://www.hawkerpedia.com.sg/en/article/man-yuan-gourmet-redhill

Man Yuan Gourmet @ Redhill FC – $2 fishball noodles and $2.50 laksa that are actually really good!

409 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10, #01-02, Singapore 560409

210 Lor 8 Toa Payoh, Singapore 310210

51 Old Airport Rd, #01-17, Singapore 390051

Google review (a month ago) - Late dinner ard 8pm on a weekday. There was a short queue with an uncle cooking and collecting payment. Queue time was reasonable given that the uncle was managing everything alone plus there wasn't a cashless payment option. Opted for the $3 fishball noodle and the portion was decent and filling. You can ask for $2 portion which is hardly available anywhere else.

06vojh5XcdFC_IMG_5917.jpg