Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 15, 2002 Share July 15, 2002 No need wait for AA, speaker also round shape and big, any emergency, took out the speaker and put on the leg, can run! That will need a 20" woofer!!! There's few alternatives, either U get one more 20" woofer so can be balance, or cut the woofer edge to become 17" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 15, 2002 Share July 15, 2002 No lah TB, dun like that say leh. What I mean is that: if we bother to trim down the weight of the car by using light rims, removing spare tyre etc, then we should be also try to keep the boot empty. Just my $0.0000000000000002 worth......... Yeah, agreed. Some essentials must be in the boot like roadside repair kit or emergency triangle [angelic] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie July 15, 2002 Share July 15, 2002 Yeah, agreed. Some essentials must be in the boot like roadside repair kit or emergency triangle [angelic] Or at least have TB's mobile handy..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 15, 2002 Share July 15, 2002 Or at least have TB's mobile handy..... Har? I don't have an assortment of 14", 15", 16" or 17" sparetires to spare leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Har? I don't have an assortment of 14", 15", 16" or 17" sparetires to spare leh Spare tyre dun have to be 16" or 17" lah.... 14" can already. As long as the roll diameter is the same as the other wheels... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Har? I don't have an assortment of 14", 15", 16" or 17" sparetires to spare leh Spare tyre dun have to be 16" or 17" lah.... 14" can already. As long as the roll diameter is the same as the other wheels... Some manfacturers give a full size spare, reduces boot space of course Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 I had a full size 205/50R16 steel wheel in my brick lor, that's why I took it out. Heavy bugger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 I had a full size 205/50R16 steel wheel in my brick lor, that's why I took it out. Heavy bugger My previous pulsar also had a full size spare, an alloy wheel no less But most cars now have a space saver..saves space and MONEY? For the manufacturers of course Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Full size can be used for normal road applications whereas Space savers are only recommended for 50miles or up to 55mph speed. Of course save money for manufacturers as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Full size can be used for normal road applications whereas Space savers are only recommended for 50miles or up to 55mph speed. Of course save money for manufacturers as well IMO, its more of saving cost than any actual purpose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Definitely cost saving is the first priority. Now there's even run flat tires so the manufacturers don't supply the spare tire at all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Definitely cost saving is the first priority. Now there's even run flat tires so the manufacturers don't supply the spare tire at all! At least there are run flat tyres, some SLK owners only have a can of mousse! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Definitely cost saving is the first priority. Now there's even run flat tires so the manufacturers don't supply the spare tire at all! Pug 206cc also got no sparetyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 I overheard an ad for tire mousse and it states "just inflate with xxx tire repair and drive to the nearest garage and change your tire" Note that it's change and not repair! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 I overheard an ad for tire mousse and it states "just inflate with xxx tire repair and drive to the nearest garage and change your tire" Note that it's change and not repair! A can of mousse is quite cheap, the lengths they go to...*sigh* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 I overheard an ad for tire mousse and it states "just inflate with xxx tire repair and drive to the nearest garage and change your tire" Note that it's change and not repair! OIC, change the tyre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 18, 2002 Share July 18, 2002 Just find out one, hope can help: -------------------------------------------------- Do you have any clues what are the necessary tools that are supposed to be in that car kit of yours? With the wide spectrum of car tool kits available off the rack, you probably don't have to worry about what tools to buy. But, if you are the DIY kind of person and wouldn't settle for anything that comes nicely packed in trendy boxes, you are likely to go hunting for the right tools (and not anything extras) to assemble your very own car kit. Spanners The first thing in buying functional spanners is to find out the type of nuts and bolts on your car. It is likely that the different parts of your car are assembled in various countries and that will give you a much challenging task of choosing the tools. Open-ended spanners are probably the most common and versatile car tools, though not always the most efficient. It is necessary to have a few spanners to begin with and if you have a choice, always opt for the shorter ones since it can later be made longer by slipping a tube over it. Apparently, longer spanners cannot be shortened for use in a confined space. In most situations where you need to employ the use of the car kit, the ring spanner is the popular choice as it is stronger, lighter, safer and gives a firmer grip. It is very effective on a nut although there are some curbed areas where it cannot be used. Combination spanners (with both ring and open-ender) are quite popular as it can almost cut down the tool quantity by half. But, such spanners will be quite helpless in situation where one ring spanner and one open-ender are to be used concurrently. Socket spanners are often packed in a set of various sizes. It usually consists of 8 commonly used sockets, an extension and a tommy bar. Spark-plug spanners are not a must-have since they are not universal and cannot be used extensively on any cars. Wrenches It is advisable to equip your car kit with a drain plug wrench in cases where you have to remove the sump plug or the gearbox level plug. Go for the quality wrench with fine thread and parallel jaws and forget about buying the adjustable ones. Screwdrivers Screwdrivers are the most important tools that you must have in your kit. And you should have not one but at least six of them of various types and sizes. (Both slotted-type and cross-head screws) Pliers You can manage rather well with just one pair of pliers provided they are of the right type. Combination pliers can handle most of the jobs on your car. Feeler Gauges You may need a set of feeler gauges in circumstances where you have to check the electrode gap on a spark-plug or the clearance between the contact-breaker points in the distributor. Basic Tool Kit Set of open-ended spanners Set of ring spanners Spark-plug spanner 3 different size slotted-head Screwdrivers 3 different size cross-head Screwdrivers Pliers Feeler gauges Sump/gearbox drain plug panner A proper tool box Although not part of a standard tool kit, you may like to consider having the following items in your car for unforeseen circumstances. These items are a first-aid kit, a fire extinguisher, a jack, a tow rope, a touch, a set of battery jumper leads, a breakdown warning triangle and some spare petrol. --------------- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cosx Neutral Newbie July 18, 2002 Share July 18, 2002 Mondeo! Thanks for the detailed list and explanation! Just a few more items onto the shopping list later before I head north tomorrow! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...