Stomper81 Neutral Newbie June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Hi bros, Anyone spotted speed cameras along lornie and Adam rd yesterday, Thursday 14 june, ard 12-2.30pm? Was traveling along these rds yesterday... forgot to watch my speed... Shld be traveling ard 90+ km... Hopefully no tp there.... Dun wan to Kena love letter... Sigh... Many thanks Stomp ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Yup I happened to be there as I went sin ming Spotted 1 Behind the bushes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stomper81 Neutral Newbie June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 (edited) Sianz... around what time bro skyjet? Hidding in the bushes opp. mediacorp towards sin min? Thanks. Edited June 15, 2012 by Stomper81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Tell u so much also no use la Wait for ur mail better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JimmyMcG1978 Neutral Newbie June 29, 2012 Share June 29, 2012 bukit timah rd, from 1st avenue all the way to 6th avenue, traffic is usually brisk in the late night. can chiong no problem, seldom see TP pounce But if you go down to upper bt timah rd, the stretch after beauty world to the fire station, sometimes will have TP holding camera waiting ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear June 29, 2012 Share June 29, 2012 (edited) Eh that's what my regular taxi uncle say too Either neutral or speed > 125km/hr Cos he say these guns set at max 120 They really alot of pattern leh Learnt alot from them This is probably nonsense. Heard of people getting caught at 140 - 170km/h by both the handheld laser guns and the fixed cameras. I'm not knowledgeable about how these things work, but I'd like to guess that even if there's a maximum speed at which the cameras can't determine the speed, it would probably be well above 200km/h. Don't listen to taxi drivers, their advice is often completely wrong. Edited June 29, 2012 by Bicolor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elson-forum Neutral Newbie July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Eh that's what my regular taxi uncle say too Either neutral or speed > 125km/hr Cos he say these guns set at max 120 They really alot of pattern leh Learnt alot from them They are really funny I doubt they dare to speed past a camera with those technique. Purely entertainment purpose. Some interesting read up.. Mobile Camera The mobile cameras are the ones to be found on police vehicles. Also referred to as radars, they come in a variety of shapes and sizes, being vehicle-mounted, hand-held, tripod mounted and concealed (meaning hidden where you least expect). This type of camera comes with its built-in detection equipment, allowing the carrier to accurately record the speed of incoming motorists regardless of the carrier being stationary or not. They can also detect speed regardless of the carrier moving with or against the flow of traffic. The camera is based on laser technology (Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation), emitting a light beam towards the incoming vehicle. It takes the beam 0.3 to 0.7 seconds to acquire and register a target at an operational range of 800 meters. What happens after the target is locked is called the Doppler effect and can be explained like described below. The radar sends out the aforementioned beam at specific frequencies and at an angle across the roadway. When a car enters its field, the radar is reflected and the beam changes frequency because of the relative motion between the radar and the vehicle. The degree in which the frequency increases or decreases depends on the speed at which the passing vehicle is traveling. Mobile cameras are also capable of detecting the direction in which the monitored vehicle is traveling in. Frequency is the main tool here as well: if it increases, the vehicle is incoming, while if it decreases, the vehicle is moving away from the carrier. And now, a little on how the radar determines the size of the ticket you will get: how does it determine speed ? As we said above, the degree in which the frequency increases or decreases is used to determine speed. Because the beams are directed at an angle (usually 20 degrees) compared to the road, the shift in frequency will indicate a speed lower than the target's actual speed. The radar calculates the slant angle and then, using trigonometry, it determines the speed in the direction of travel. Fixed Speed Camera That strange, brightly colored box or cannon sitting on the side of the road is what is called a fixed camera. It can also be seen mounted on stoplight poles in major cities, or can be seen hanging on overpasses or bridges which intersect the road. This type of camera detects the speed of vehicles by using piezo electronic detectors (tiny wires) embedded into the road surface (usually, there are two sets of wires embedded into the road). When a car passes over one of the detectors, an electronic signal activates the camera. If the speed of the vehicle is higher than the limit, a digital picture of the vehicle is taken. The speed is determined depending on the amount of time it takes the car to reach the second wire. Fixed speed cameras record date, time, location, direction of travel, speed, the speed limit on that portion of the road (for comparison) and the lane in which the car was traveling. The fixed camera can differentiate between lanes and can pick up the offending vehicle from a line of vehicles. Being mounted at an angle (either horizontal or vertical), hiding behind the car in front won't do, as the camera will still be able to read the license plate. In multi-lane conditions, each of the lanes gets its own piezo detectors and telephoto lens camera, while all lanes are watched over by a wide angle lens camera. Source: http://www.autoevolution.com/news/how-spee...work-18060.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mothorrr12 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 i agree totally! that's why cars slow down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matt2014 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 1) The stretch of road outside the famous Orchard Country Club with lorries parking. The speed limit is ONLY 60KM/hr although it has 3 lane!!!!(Tat time i gunna there with speed of 85km/hr...gunna 6 demerit + $140 fine. sian 1/2) 2) The road going in and out of Seletar dam. Mod car please beware 'cos it's a dead end. 3) In front of Khatib MRT station. (Where the speed camera is at) I was quite surprise to see road block there 'cos it's a straight road but I've gunna there b4. 4) Outside Yishun Safra. There is a nice place spot around the bend. 5) Yishun Park. Very near Yishun Safra. It's a very deserted area and it's outside Northbrooks Secondary school. 6) Outside Katib Camp Main gate. That time have seen them camping there when I'm performing guard duty there in 1998 during my NSF days :( . Both side of the road is fav spot for TP. 7) Road going to Gambas Ave (Woodland) when you go pass Chong Pang naisi lemak and wanted to turn Left to woodland. Near the hot spring entrance at seletar air base. 8) Blk 367, Yishun Ring Road. Near the canal. 9) Mandai Road. Think needless for me to elaborate some more... 10) Mandai Ave. Near Mandai Crematorium. 11) Lentor Ave. The main stretch of road leading to Yishun after you exit from SLE. 12) Woodlands Ave 12 13) AMK Ave 5. Exit from CTE from city (can be weekly event) 14) Lornie Road right after Japanese association, both way 15) PIE towards Changi, camera under Lornie flyover 16) PIE going Jurong, exit to Clementi Ave 6. Beware of TP awaiting for you at the bus stop (almost like alternate day affair) 17) Lim Chu Kang road, they like graves visit... 18) Changi - Loyang Industrial Main road 19) Marina South 20) Bedok Reservior Road (every weekend affair) Wow! you sharing a great list of amazing sports. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dilipkumar007 Neutral Newbie August 3, 2012 Share August 3, 2012 Oh my god this list is not going to end I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wendaevu Neutral Newbie September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 1) The stretch of road outside the famous Orchard Country Club with lorries parking. The speed limit is ONLY 60KM/hr although it has 3 lane!!!!(Tat time i gunna there with speed of 85km/hr...gunna 6 demerit + $140 fine. sian 1/2) 2) The road going in and out of Seletar dam. Mod car please beware 'cos it's a dead end. 3) In front of Khatib MRT station. (Where the speed camera is at) I was quite surprise to see road block there 'cos it's a straight road but I've gunna there b4. 4) Outside Yishun Safra. There is a nice place spot around the bend. 5) Yishun Park. Very near Yishun Safra. It's a very deserted area and it's outside Northbrooks Secondary school. 6) Outside Katib Camp Main gate. That time have seen them camping there when I'm performing guard duty there in 1998 during my NSF days :( . Both side of the road is fav spot for TP. 7) Road going to Gambas Ave (Woodland) when you go pass Chong Pang naisi lemak and wanted to turn Left to woodland. Near the hot spring entrance at seletar air base. 8) Blk 367, Yishun Ring Road. Near the canal. 9) Mandai Road. Think needless for me to elaborate some more... 10) Mandai Ave. Near Mandai Crematorium. 11) Lentor Ave. The main stretch of road leading to Yishun after you exit from SLE. 12) Woodlands Ave 12 13) AMK Ave 5. Exit from CTE from city (can be weekly event) 14) Lornie Road right after Japanese association, both way 15) PIE towards Changi, camera under Lornie flyover 16) PIE going Jurong, exit to Clementi Ave 6. Beware of TP awaiting for you at the bus stop (almost like alternate day affair) 17) Lim Chu Kang road, they like graves visit... 18) Changi - Loyang Industrial Main road 19) Marina South 20) Bedok Reservior Road (every weekend affair) 21) Brickland Road (speed limit 60) but 3 empty lanes with bends) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huaxianz Neutral Newbie September 14, 2012 Share September 14, 2012 seems like lots of hot spots in the north.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FashionInTown Neutral Newbie October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 Hi all, pls help to spread e word: Appeal for witness: A red honda civic hit a silver lancer on PIE twds Changi near Anak Bukit flyover, after Upp Bt Timah exit around 7.30am on 29 Sept (Sat). The red honda civic was swerving in & out of e 3 lanes repeatedly after it entered PIE fr Jurong & aggressively hit and rammed e lancer with its right passenger side & certainly intended to push e lancer out of e centre lane it was travelling in. The lancer spinned to the extreme right lane & hit e centre divider & then spinned again horizontally back on the expressway, severely damaged. By then, the red civic had sped off. If you happened to witness this accident or saw a 4-door red honda civic with a very loud roaring engine (old EG / EK model w new car plate) w damages on its right side at any car park/areas, we would appeal to u to come forward to inform e traffic police. The driver of e civic hit & run, did not even stop to provide any assistance after causing such a serious accident. Your kind deed is deeply appreciated. Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roadie 1st Gear October 16, 2012 Share October 16, 2012 Watch out for a speed cam at Ikea/Giant overhead bridge facing TPE (ECP) right now. I think I kenna..doing 102Kmph. Wait for summon now !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefrog78 Neutral Newbie October 18, 2012 Share October 18, 2012 good luck to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acedprod Neutral Newbie October 28, 2012 Share October 28, 2012 this is a very useful thread Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 31, 2012 Share October 31, 2012 Yio Chu Kang road....the stretch of road near to Greenwich .....always portable cam... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tcx607 4th Gear November 13, 2012 Share November 13, 2012 New TP operation method on CTE plying to Yishun after AMK Ave 5. TP use speed camera behind vegetation before you see the TP car -500M away (after small bend). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...