Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 15, 2003 Share November 15, 2003 Driving an Ipsum with stock wheels and Yokohama A349 205/65/15. Looking at tyre upgrades and maybe possible RIM also. Due to frequent travels on the N-S highway, and very concerned abt the wet performance (GRIP, Aquaplaning etc) as my old corolla was 'floating' on a wet day on the N-S Highway. Went to this shop, who claims that they have a set of 2nd hnad orig. Toyota Camry RIMS which should fit onto the Ipsum without need for adaptors etc. So he is giving me $1040 for the 2nd hand RIMs and a set of Michelin MXV8 205/65/15 or $1080 with Pirelli P6000. Which would be a better choice? Or would the GR80 be able to better the above two? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Share November 16, 2003 Hi, welcome to MCF, Do join us for our weekly meetup... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Share November 16, 2003 Welcome to MCF Dun seems to be an upgrade to me leh still 15" with same profile smore more Wouldnt recommend P6000 for aquaplanning...maybe you can check out Yokohamas either AVS Sports or ES100. Just my 2 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Author Share November 16, 2003 Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Author Share November 16, 2003 "Welcome to MCF Dun seems to be an upgrade to me leh still 15" with same profile smore more Wouldnt recommend P6000 for aquaplanning...maybe you can check out Yokohamas either AVS Sports or ES100." Thanks for the welcome. Upgrade? Me driving MPV, Ipsum lah. My tyre upgrade is only for safety (safe wet performance), whist taking care of FC. So thought just to maintain the same aspect. Wat do you guys reckon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Share November 16, 2003 Then dun need to go for the 2nd hand rims, shud spend $$$ on the tyres enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Author Share November 16, 2003 "Then dun need to go for the 2nd hand rims, shud spend $$$ on the tyres enough. " Thought with the rims (2nd hand or new), following benefits: 1. Cooler brakes (a) better braking efficiency (b) longer brake life 2. Lighter than stock wheels (a) less unsprung weight - better fuel efficiency, less stress on springs/shock absorbers is that true? I am considering RIMS not for the aesthertic aspects, but more for FC etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie November 16, 2003 Share November 16, 2003 Yes cooler brakes and lesser brake dusts to a certain extent. Maybe easier to clean depending on design. Think better braking would be more apparent with change in tyres. Yes if rims are lighter than stock then it should improve on pick up and FC. As for stress on shocks, unless you change to 16" or 17"s then ur shocks gotta work harder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 17, 2003 Author Share November 17, 2003 E36UDM, Thank you for the clarification on the cooler brakes... On this, "Yes if rims are lighter than stock then it should improve on pick up and FC. As for stress on shocks, unless you change to 16" or 17"s then ur shocks gotta work harder " Do you mean with 16-17" rims (ie. bigger rims), the shocks do not have to work harder? Cheers Ian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 $1000+ for a second hand camry rims is cut throat!! 15" seems a little small on an Ipsum. 16" would be quite ideal. for good wet grip, i would recommend the Falken Azenis ST115. seems grippier than the Yoko ES100 that i'm on now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 Bigger and wider rims will make your shocks work harder and shorter lifespan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 17, 2003 Author Share November 17, 2003 "$1000+ for a second hand camry rims is cut throat!! 15" seems a little small on an Ipsum. 16" would be quite ideal. for good wet grip, i would recommend the Falken Azenis ST115. seems grippier than the Yoko ES100 that i'm on now. " Hi Soya, Thank you for your feedback. The 1,000++ includes the RIM and tyres. He was charging me abt $500 for the 2nd hand Camry RIMS. Would they be any better than the FONDMETAL RIMS (in terms of durability and reliability? , suppose Italian rims are heavier than Japs'?) I am quite inclined for the Azenis 115. But have been 'warned' by some that the Falkens dun last long, and gets noisier over time. Reason why i am maintaining 15" is becos' too lazy to think of changing to wider and lower profile RIMS... just maintain the same specs as standard, only changing to lighter RIMS as compared to the stock wheels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 try the yokohama a539...I using that last time...very good and reasonable price too...no aquaplate at all... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 i think my orig 16" volvo rims (incl tyres), which i traded in, was eventually sold off for $400 by the tyre shop. dun think a 15" camry rim (probably locally fitted, m'sian JRD brand) is even worth half of that. all performance tyres will get noisy over time so i won't get too concerned over it if good wet grip is your priority. haven't tried fondmetal rims but as most conti rims, it's on the heavy side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 17, 2003 Author Share November 17, 2003 "try the yokohama a539...I using that last time...very good and reasonable price too...no aquaplate at all... " Was 'disappointed' when i used to have the Yokohama Aspec A300. Very quiet tyre, but neary skidded twice on it!!! So not too sure about the A539. Anyway, thank you for the feedback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 17, 2003 Author Share November 17, 2003 "I think my orig 16" volvo rims (incl tyres), which i traded in, was eventually sold off for $400 by the tyre shop. dun think a 15" camry rim (probably locally fitted, m'sian JRD brand) is even worth half of that. all performance tyres will get noisy over time so i won't get too concerned over it if good wet grip is your priority. haven't tried fondmetal rims but as most conti rims, it's on the heavy side. " On the $$$, noted. Thanks a lot to save me from being "hoodwinked". They were quoting the Fondmetal at $800. Is that expensive? The Camry rims.. i am not sure where it is made in, but has the stamp "Toyota" on the inside. Anybody any idea? I suppose the weight of the conti rims could be due to the stronger / more durable nature of the material used. Me not sure cos' me newbie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 i think $200/piece for 15" rims is slightly on the ex side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 the A300 is just a normal tyre lor...so it may not be good...but the a539 definitely won't disappoint you....I'm a loyal support of it..last time before 539...think it's 509...also damm good....and price also good...give it a try and you won't be disappointed...but then don't get the aspec db lar...good to see...no good to eat... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...