Sapience Clutched February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 hmmmm... drop-in? i guess so, it's rectangular and flat. is that the drop in kind? just opened up some hatch, took out the stock one and "dropped in" the k&n. did feel slightly (ever so slightly) torquier... but then again, it must be me trying to convince myself the $90 bucks was worth it... heh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttleb Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Ive heard of 2 cases that "possibly", pistons rings burned out due to adding these devices, not that they dont work but some cars already run optimum stoichometric mix and since ECU cant detect extra air, it isnt compensated at certan rpms esp the top end. In fact i was thinking of adding the e68 to my brothers G9 but was warned.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 That's the idea but the device controls the bleed as well so that it will not over feed in the air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Explains why I say that adding such devices on EFI cars is completely ludricous! The ECU will compensate from its sensors. On a carburetted, it is different. Anyway, most of the carburetors in SG cars are not feedback carburetors that control emmissions. No computer of any sort to screw with the already tuned carburetor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 You can lean out slightly but not too much and yes, piston rings or head cylinder gaskets and other seals will worn prematurely... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttleb Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Actually, i was thinking that it would not compensate by adding more fuel as the 02 sensor is before. So in actual fact you are tricking the ECU.Im not too sure whether MAP sensors act diffrently from MAF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched February 7, 2004 Share February 7, 2004 hmmm.....okie what ur ride btw? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie February 7, 2004 Share February 7, 2004 Hi all, Jus got my Airmax2 thingy installed... actually my is called Power Stormy, it is actually the same as Airmax2, onli i think it's cheaper. Yah yah.. got a bit effect, but then dun understand why... my idle suffer. now when idle or when i step on brakes to stop at traffic junctions, the whole car vibrate as if my grandmother's washing machine!! so no choice adjusted the idle speed... now if not to vibrate, sometimes rmp can be at 1500 , very siong... still trying to adjust/fine tune it. But overall, the gadget works, feels lighter and more willing to go when step on the gas, esp on highway at >3000rpm, feel a bit more powerful too. But let me adjust everything sui sui liao then give you all more updates. Lukie102, me riding an old horse lah... 1991 Proton Saga. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched February 8, 2004 Share February 8, 2004 but let's say if you need to increase the rpm, wldn't it increase the petrol consumption as well? i have apollo and cyclone inside my car. done grounding as well. have recently done tuning for my car and the mech says my timing (he adjusted something inside the engine....think some timing chain or what) is too high for my car (1989 cx charade) so he tune it down....now i feel that the car has not much power (have problem going upslopes esp travelling on ecp). wondering what's wrong or is it the norm for charades? but anyway, will installing power stormy offset the previous mod? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie February 8, 2004 Share February 8, 2004 (edited) That's why i cannot let the rpm remain at 1500 lor, so remove the Power Stormy, check and adjust the idle again to norm (for mine, it's about 1000 to be stable), then i put back the Power Stormy and slowly adjust the screw till the rmp stays near 1000 and engine stable, did this this morning, was able to get the rmp to about 700-800.. + ehgine stable, but still got some vibration, got something on, so have to stop. will try adjusting again. but i not too sure will offset your previous mods or not. But i am sure some of the more ecperience pals will can help to answer that... Edited February 8, 2004 by FGY7022 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie February 8, 2004 Share February 8, 2004 (edited) the whole car vibrate as if my grandmother's washing machine!! so no choice adjusted the idle speed... now if not to vibrate, sometimes rmp can be at 1500 , very siong... still trying to adjust/fine tune it. Bro u should not be adjusting your idle speed ... there is an adjustable knob on top of the Power Storm to adjust the amount of air it is sucking in. Adjust that one as I think yours is sucking in too much air that your engine is starting to knock. To adjust : Start your car to temperature .... turn knob to the max and engine will shake with loud hissing noise ... then tune it down till the engine stops shaking. Check your idle ... if high at 1500 rpm ... tone the knob more till idle is at the desired speed. Edited February 8, 2004 by Hitman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie February 8, 2004 Share February 8, 2004 but anyway, will installing power stormy offset the previous mod? Nope , it will not offset any previous mods you have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FGY7022 Neutral Newbie February 8, 2004 Share February 8, 2004 Yo Hitman!! Did jus that, and i realise the knob is about 1.5 rounds to being close... so is the car not taking much effect from the Power Stormy? but anyway, you ride it tomoro and see how lor... but till now ok lah, does work. Thanks Hitman, for the advice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched February 9, 2004 Share February 9, 2004 hmmmm.......thks. how much does the thingy cost har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched February 9, 2004 Share February 9, 2004 sounds interesting.....but i m looking for more favourable feedback before putting $$ in. hard days nowadays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched February 11, 2004 Share February 11, 2004 tried capsule ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie February 11, 2004 Share February 11, 2004 No ... to ex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched February 11, 2004 Share February 11, 2004 yeah.. I told my fren WAHH.. .SO EXPENSIVE......!!!! then i say.. nevermind...... it mad paying that amount.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...