Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 IMO, it may not be that simple. I guess one way to check is to find the specs of the stock tyres of a few new cars and see how they correspond with their recommendations. Stock tyres are carefully chosen by the manufacturers so if they do need tyre specs to calculate, they will take from it. Can't really determine correctly with aftermarket tyres as their specs would most probably be different from stock, where 2 of the 3 components of the equation are taken from, vis max load and max pressure. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Author Share February 3, 2004 stock tyres change from time to time - when i bought my T4, it was eagle NCT5 ... some of the later ones were different - michelin i think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 correct lah, use the magic number given by manufacturer as base pressure and then adjust from there lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 Hence I wonder how they come out with a one pressure fits all... [laugh]I guess other parameters must be taken in consideration. My car came with 4 different stock tyres - Michelin Pilot Sports, Pirelli P 6000, Firehawk SZ50 and Goodyear Eagle F1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 use the magic number I have, I have....... This point has never worried me at all. It's just that this thread is interesting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 and so did I but I have deviate from the magic number liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 Currently running at 3 psi above my magic number. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 Yep, for the kumho, better to run it with slightly more pressure as the side wall is softer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 Sedewalls damn soft lah. When my car rest on a curb, it looks like it's got a leak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 but lots of comfort... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 When you pump higher, comfort goes south. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 But the handling... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 Ya lah....handling comfort .....comfort handling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 yalor, a zero sum game...got to give and take... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 Cannot take all meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 you do the sums lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Hoping there's a miracle mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 So do I........ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...