EVO8s traffic light race

Darkness

Was on my way home yesterday....so took a u-turn, and the opposite taffic had been stoped by a traffic light some 150 meters away so happyily u-turn and picked up speed straight away and moved off, was abt to change lanes less than 5secs after completing the turn when a white evo 8 zoom past me....behind his tail was another yellow evo 8..........

it all showed me one thing, the evos really pick up fast...maybe i did not describe it clearly but imagine u execute a turn with the furthest car some 150 m away at traffic light, after u straighten ur car, ready to change lane, check mirror, evo 8s zooming past in succession....boy tat was a dangerous thing for the evos to do....

yeah....its either

the EVOs are really damn fast OR u U-turn really vely slow.....

heheheheeeee......

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

juz jokin lah....!!

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

hmmmm....150m in 5 sec, can anyone remember the equation between distance/time/speed/acceleration???

(0+?)kmh/2=0.15kmX5sec=0.15kmX

?kmh=1.5kmX........

oh, i need a calculator to work out the speed at which the evos passed the u-turn car....

If you are familar with Changi costal rd...

I was driving on Changi costal rd (one next to the runway) towards ECP...doing around 100kmh....passing Laguna country club....saw a Ferrari 360 yellow colour one....trying to make a right turn....I gone pass him....around 7-8sec head start at 100kmh....bugger caught up and overtook me before I enter ECP !! Wow...how that for fast !!

With the distance and time you can use this equation of motion:

displacement = vt + 0.5a(t^2)

From a standing start and assuming linear acceleration.. that gives an accleration of 12m/s/s...

and the velocity = a X t = 60m/s = 216km/h ??

hmmm not quite right leh...unsure.gif

Well, car acceleration to begin with is never linear, considering the power delivery of an IC engine. If we take what would be considered the tested quarter mile of an Evo VII Extreme (with 339 bhp), about 13sec, and put those numbers in the equation...

Assuming linear acceleration we would be seeing 62m/s at the end of the quarter mile - 222kmh. Compare that with the actual speed recorded - 172.8kmh, and you find a discrepency of about 29%

Edited by Seansene

Right.. did the calculations just for fun..sly.gif

Anyway to cover 150m in 5s at constant velocity would translate to a speed of 108km/h... so from a standstill.. it'd take more than 5s..

Following on from ther, let's look at some other figures. The Evo VII Extreme does zero to 30mph in 1.4sec. Now that's a blazing number, matched only by a Porsche 911 Turbo, and better than even the McLaren F1's time of 1.8sec [shocked]

Plug the figures into the handy equation:

v = u + at, where v=30mph=30x1.6/3.6=13.3m/s; u=0; and t=1.4s

13.3 = 0 + 1.4a

so the average acceleration in this range would be 13.3/1.4 = 9.5m/s^2

Now the zero to 60mph time stands at 4.2sec, which is a time difference of 2.8sec. Which means that it takes half the time to get to the first 30mph as it does to the second. So applying the figures back in:

v = u + at, where v=60mph=36.6m/s; u=30mph=13.3m/s; and t=4.2-1.4=2.8s

26.6 = 13.3 + 2.8a

now the average acceleration is half that of the previous range.

So cars behave quite differently across different speeds. Of course, the McLaren takes the even less time to the higher speed range - 1.8sec to 30mph and only another 1.4sec to 60mph (yes people, that's 3.2sec). Shows you how linear that BMW engine is [thumbsup]

Edited by Seansene

Was on my way home yesterday....so took a u-turn, and the opposite taffic had been stoped by a traffic light some 150 meters away so happyily u-turn and picked up speed straight away and moved off, was abt to change lanes less than 5secs after completing the turn when a white evo 8 zoom past me....behind his tail was another yellow evo 8..........

it all showed me one thing, the evos really pick up fast...maybe i did not describe it clearly but imagine u execute a turn with the furthest car some 150 m away at traffic light, after u straighten ur car, ready to change lane, check mirror, evo 8s zooming past in succession....boy tat was a dangerous thing for the evos to do....

hmm...yah mann...tts real fast...heh...maybe if i can train myself really good, (u mentioned that there was a u-turn?) then i wont be zooming past you. I will be drifting past you with car facing u and giving u the thumbs up sign. [sunny][sunny][sunny]

hee....pai seh...me day dreaming away for a moment. [shakehead][shakehead]

Very interesting comparison... thumbsup.gif the Evo's acceleration seems to be slowing down as speeds increase. Would've thot it be the other way since it's a turbo engined car. 4WD in the Evo vs 2WD in the bimmer probably plays a part too.. ?

[dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

another yellow EVO story - was on the right lane going to make a right turn abt 60-80 metres ahead when a very impatient EVO tried to over-take but can't as basically there were fairly heavy traffic on both lanes.

finally there was a gap ahead for the yellow EVO to over-take which he/ or she did. It really stepped on it. Zoomed passed me but what was the driver thinking !!! there were traffic ahead !! it had to jammed on its brakes so very hard... I cld see the behind of the car literally got thrown forward as the front wheels got jammed.

good car with stupid and unthinking driver...

another yellow EVO story - was on the right lane going to make a right turn abt 60-80 metres ahead when a very impatient EVO tried to over-take but can't as basically there were fairly heavy traffic on both lanes.

finally there was a gap ahead for the yellow EVO to over-take which he/ or she did. It really stepped on it. Zoomed passed me but what was the driver thinking !!! there were traffic ahead !! it had to jammed on its brakes so very hard... I cld see the behind of the car literally got thrown forward as the front wheels got jammed.

good car with stupid and unthinking driver...

lucky mine not yellow hahaha [sly]

Yah man... with 280 bhp under your bonnet... rong pray pray... [sweatdrop]