Mazda 3 makes me drool.... Comments?

DarkLord

Yo, I am Mazda 3 basic owner here. Gotten my ride for 2 weeks. One of the few lucky ones who got full rebate on the 20% ARF reduction. All in all I paid less than 76K. [:)]

Yes, the pick up is a bit slow due to the weight of the car. But that also gives the car better road handling which is more important to me especially since I am planning to drive to M'sia quite often. It does gets kinda slow when going uphill especially when it's at 4th gear. But I figured out how to work around it to accelerate much faster. I just need to switch to manual for downshift by 1 or 2 gears and I can get the more than enough of the acceleration I need to overtake. Fuel consumption wise, I am getting more than 12km/l, so that's not too bad.

All in all, very happy with my ride. No complains so far. [:)]

Edited by Supermario

Finally! Some one with good comments!! Lucky you! I'll be monitoring the situation closely! 76K is damn cheap!! Which model you got?? Who's your SE?? Got lobang?? How come you got your car liaoz? Last I heard, people got to wait until the end of the year![:/]

After reading all the posts in MCF, I came to the conclusion that in Singapore, cars are damn expensive no matter whcih brand or model you have! The most important thing is that you are happy with your ride!![;)]

OMV ranges from 15.8k to 17k+ depending on which model. IMHO, OMV at the current situation is really less important. At the end of 10 yrs, we only get back 55% hence the difference between a 18k and 15k is only abt 1.5k.

I don't think it is very good value for $$$. What is the OMV? If low, it may even be more ex than Honda...

During end Feb, I was told by MM that there were only a few basic sedan champagne MZ3 left for April delivery. I took a gamble and booked right away. It paid off handsomely for me as MM decided to refund me the full amount of the 20% ARF for early March COE that they managed to secure for me. On top of that, by some twist of events I even got the colour that I wanted which is a Titanium Grey. ;)

Not sure if this will happen again but I guess I was really lucky. From what I gathered, earliest delivery date is Oct and it doesnt really matter which SE you look for.

All the best and hope things work out for you too. :)

Edited by Supermario

don't just buy becoz of looks... cos looks don't last!

in no time, new model with more chio looks will make you drool again and regret..

other factors all must be considered b4 purchase...good luck[cool]

Hi quikfire...Luv ur avatar..reminds me of my old colonia lhouse too...sniff sniff

the Octy RS is 1.8L with 180 Horses and comes in only manual transmission [cool]

I'm just getting the 1.8T, not the RS which comes with only 150 horses [blush]

That is a good car..dun think a lemon. u can mod it..many parts avail..intercahnagble wz VW/Audi. One simple chip will bring it to 200+ or 193BHP.But wat is shiok abt the car is the low end torque.U can feel de surge...I wont recommend u to mod so much yet..jus emjoy it as stock..maby a dropin K7N or green air filter. or PBV. Since it is used..u may wan to monitor closely.Dun worry abt the shape n looks..I thnk it lood real man. like passat or A4 or legacy Wagon..or..or...

Ok jus my 2 cents worth..Enjoy ur octy..

Ex Vag owner.

p.s pssttt.there's a octy 1.8T with K04 that surprises many rex and EVOs..haha

That's the colour I want too! You are really blessed!! [;)] How about some pictures for us to see?? Do you mind PM me some of the finer details? Which model you got, roughly the deal you got?? I will really appreciate it!!

When I mentioned it being a lemon...what I meant was that whether the one I am buying got problems or not lor [crazy]

I like the car lots heh...so I'm just worried about the car I'm buying over ...hee...

Just starting to learn more about the car as well. When the previous owner started telling me about KO4... I was like ????? [:p]

me too ,,sedan red ,,,just hit my first 1000km ..... agree on the uphill pick up part.....bro care to elaborate how u play ard w the manual gear to increase pick up pwr ...[;)]

Nothing much lah. Whenever I want to overtake or realised that I am already at 4th gear at lower speeds when going uphill, I just shift right to manual mode from auto and push up once to 3rd gear and voila comes the power that I need. Pretty easy to do and fun too. ;)

I think the designers wanted to save fuel consumption in auto mode and thus they made the gear changes from 1 to 4 pretty quick and this affects the pick up a little. THey reckoned that if you want pick up just switch to manual.

me too ,,sedan red ,,,just hit my first 1000km ..... agree on the uphill pick up part.....bro care to elaborate how u play ard w the manual gear to increase pick up pwr ...[;)]
Edited by Supermario

Here's the link to Mazda Club Singapore. Ask the owners there on their comments [:)]

http://forums.delphiforums.com/Astina323F/start

Personally I think Mazda 3 is a good car except a bit lack of power due to heavy body, but this in return gives you better stability at high speed and handling. Rear space is abit tight, getting in & out may not be easy. Visit the showroom.

Price wise might be high compared to other make of same category but compare the features offered makes the price justifiable, if u like those features.